We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pig in clover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at The Pig

The Restaurant at The Pig
Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England
(01590)622 354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pig in clover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Fantastic setting, superb food, and wonderful staff! Appeals to all ages. I would recommend this restuarant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    176
    98
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A night at The Pig- Stunning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Last night we were treated to a wonderful meal at The Pig. The location, decor and atmosphere was stunning. The food, unlike one of the reviews I have read, was fabulous. The restaurant is wonderfully decorated and unlike so many other restaurants had helpful and happy staff. The choice on the menu was excellent for my wife who is a vegetarian and for the carnivores amongst our party. Rather than just going out to eat The Pig provides such a unique experience with no pressure at the table to finish your meal for the next diners to move in! So good was the experience we did not want to leave, even at midnight with a long journey ahead. I fully recommend The Pig. We live in Buckingham but will willingly make the journey to eat their again. PH

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Welcoming, relaxing and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited in a small group for a belated birthday lunch. Started with cocktails in one of the lounges, arrived promptly and were pretty and tasty and the staff made some really well-judged recommendations. In the dining room, the food was beautifully presented and delicious, not a duff dish - though smaller portions than I have had for similar prices elsewhere of similar calibre. Tobacco onions and triple fried chips were heavenly and the venison out of this world. Food felt like good value for money, though drinks got a bit pricey.

The staff were young, and some seemed a little inexperienced, but were all warm, enthusiastic and genuine. I thought the service had a really nice personal touch and it was lovely to see staff who were clearly enjoying their jobs, without over-formality or pretension.

The main dining area was comfortable, well-spaced and with a relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere - just the right side of buzzing. We particularly liked the rambling series of drawing rooms and lounges that you can take drinks in or just lounge around playing games after lunch - most with roaring fires - gives a nice feeling of privacy for an extended afternoon in what is actually a pretty busy place. We found it a very easy place to feel at home in - not intrusive, pretentious nor too formal.

Would definitely go back - the other half proclaims it his new favourite restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A failure of style over substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Setting very modern shabby sheek. Good staff.BUT If they applied half as much thought to the food as to the decor it might have been worth half the price we paid for lunch, Paying £40 a head for an uninspiring cos and blue cheese salad(nothing else to enliven the taste buds), a glass of wine , a very plain sheppards pie and half a chocolate desert plus a coffee was far too much. There was nothing wrong about the food or poor about its execution, but it was boring . This is really good example of where a restaurant gets away with image over the food because it appears in the national press. It was fairly busy on Monday lunch time but one couldn't feel that Sloane Square had been shut due to flooding on the day. The dinning area was large and lacked any romantic atmosphere.There are plenty of better eating places around.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely setting and enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

lovely setting and warm welcome. Had asked for a quiet table when reservation made but intially seated in a very busy and noisy seating area, However once we had asked to be moved tis was sorted efficiently. Interesting variety of food, all choices well cooked and presented, fresh and locally sourced. Service friendly and attentive.A very good experience, wil recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at The Pig also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Sway, Brockenhurst
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Restaurant at The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at The Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.