We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality & cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fallen Tree

Fallen Tree
Sway road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
01590622296
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 restaurants in Brockenhurst
Price range: $27 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fallen Tree Restaurant has been successfully open for almost a year.We only use fresh local produce cooked fresh to order to give you the best dining experience in the New Forest.Fallen Tree Restaurant in based in Cottage Lodge B&B in Brockenhurst.Car park for Fallen Tree customers is 100 yards to walk from car park next to petrol station.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quality & cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

my lady & i dinned here over the Easter weekend. The food was wonderful & the service attentive but discrete. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    130
    21
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We ate at the restaurant on last Sunday evening. The whole experience was really good, from the welcome to the food - I would highly recommend the steak!!, but even more so the rice pudding.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Perfect presentation but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant is in a b&b and some of the guests were eating there. One table of guests started playing card games between their courses. Not really the type of activity you'd expect to see in a restaurant offering top class meals.

Anyway, we ordered our food; I had the asparagus starter, the asparagus was under cooked and tough to eat and my quails eggs were hard boiled and the sauce was luke warm, my other half had the sea food medley, samon, prawns and crab, the crad looked like it had been blended and looked like a mouse, such a shame the crab was treated this way, it should have been left a lone with only a slice of lemon to accompany it.
The next course we both had the pork loin with mustard coating, you could hardly taste the mustard, the asparagus this time was over cooked and my dauphinoise potatoes were so badly burnt on the base.

Fort desert I had the chocolate and orange tart and could not taste the slightest hint of orange.

The presentation was perfect but the cooking of the food lacked care and flavour.

The wine by the glass options are also very limited where there are only 1 white, 1 red & 1 rose options to choose from.

For £70 we'd expect a lot better in terms of flavour, care in cooking and atmosphere, and no card playing guests please.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallenTree, Owner at Fallen Tree, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comment,
if you would have mentioned to us that something is wrong with your meal we would happily offer you another meal or offer you discount.
We are in progress to improve our wine list to offer more options to choose from.
As for the meal we are sorry that it wasnt up to your expectations.
The dishes you have complained about are the most popular dishes on the menu and have had a great reviews on them.
We believe the customers playing cards were not effecting any other tables in the restaurant and I think your comment about them playing cards has no reflection on our restaurant.
Kind regards,
Fallen Tree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top quality food at a very reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went there for my son's 21st birthday. The food was probably some of the best that I have ever tasted. A great idea to have set prices on all meals with a small supplement on certain dishes. The portions are just about right, allowing you to savour each course without feeling stuffed. Great little touches like the warmed bread rolls and butter with a selection of olives served while waitng for the starters and the chocolate fondants served with the coffee. Recommend the trio of seafood and the lamb shanks. All in all a great eating experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovelly 3 course meal with friendly service, the food was fantastic and it was a great place to find in a small town like Brockenhurst. My only feedback was that they could have used a slightly fresher piece of fish, maybe sea bass and whilst the wine was very nice they could do with a wider selection. Overall highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fallen Tree also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Sway, Brockenhurst
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to Fallen Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fallen Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.