We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice country hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rhinefield House

Save Saved
You added Rhinefield House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rhinefield House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhinefield Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Heritage Spring Break
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Brockenhurst
uk
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very nice country hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, and enjoyed our stay. The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere and so a car is essential for getting here and to see anything beyond the immediate vicinity. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is all very clean. Breakfast is pretty good, there's a reasonable continental style buffet, while a full english is freshly cooked to order. There are some extras too such as kippers, porridge and eggs benedict on the menu too. Beyond that, food is expensive, and a little limited in variety. Pool was very small (It can be quieter after 1800 when children are not allowed), plus a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room (This lacks the eucalyptus smell that can make these that little bit nicer). Not the best, but OK. It's a good base for exploring The New Forest, Beaulieu, Brockenhurst (We suggest avoiding the road into the town via the Ford) and Lyndhurst are all close by. The hotel being situated on Rhinefield Ornamental Drive, has some nice countryside and walks nearby, The Tall Trees trail, a circular walk starting from The Blackwater car park, a particular highlight. The weather had not been great around the time we were there, so many paths in the woods were very boggy, and part of the cycle path had washed away, so we were unable to walk to Lyndhurst. Fords on some walks were also signposted as deeper than usual. On the whole a pretty good hotel for a few days away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and I was very pleased to read you had enjoyed our Breakfast selection. It is after all the most important meal of the day and especially if you are out walking in the beautiful forest. It was a shame it had been so wet and you didn’t manage to walk into Lyndhurst as it is a breath taking walk with the last of the autumnal colours we have at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    240
    126
    60
    47
See reviews for
156
558
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I got married at Rhinefield nearly 15 years ago and then spent our first anniversary there but have not been back until last weekend. It's changed a lot in that time and mostly for the better. We had a beautiful room in the main house which was opulently furnished with every facility and the most amazing bathroom I've seen for a while. The general feel of the hotel was a bit more "special" than 15 years ago - it feels at though it has moved a little more up-market. Dinner in the restaurant was stunning - not only great quality food but very attentive service. There was quite a large wedding going on that night and we were worried about the noise from the music but it's fair to say this grand old building also seems to be very well insulated and it wasn't an issue. I would highly recommend to anyone considering it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Munro suite which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Congratulations on your recent 15th Wedding Anniversary and I was glad that you chose to return to the Forest and to Rhinefield. I will pass your comments on to the whole team who constantly work hard to deliver that attentive service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for my birthday at the start of November and had a fabulous 2 night stay. As soon as we arrived we received a warm welcome from Reception (even wishing me Happy Birthday) and our bags were carried to our room for us. We opted for an Executive room and it had lovely views of the grounds, tv in bathroom, queen size bed, selection of refreshments etc. They also did a turndown service - it was a real treat. We had breakfast in bed on both days to enjoy the break and it was plentiful and on time. The building itself and surrounding grounds were stunning with an abundance on wildlife on your doorstep. All in all it was a lovely stay and we will definately return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for an Executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Sarah
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and I am glad you enjoyed your Birthday with us and I cant agree more about the beauty of the House and the grounds they certainly are breathtaking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The driveway from the road to Rhinefield House is about half a mile long. That should give you an idea of the kind of grandiose place the Rhinefield is! The first impressions are great- welcoming front of house, communal wellies for you to use to explore the magnificent New Forest surroundings. The hotel itself is huge, and like the hedge in the garden, maze like. Big, generous rooms with great quality bedding and decor really add to the stay. I didn't eat at the restaurant besides breakfast which is served in a homely, bright old dining room.

Whilst you may be tempted to stay in the hotel, put your wellies on and take a walk- you'll be delighted with the New Forest greens and browns, and probably see a fair few wild horses, deer and maybe some pigs! And when you return, you walk up the long drive to the hotel and know that the countryside and hotel are the perfect compliment for each other.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent posting, and thank you for the advice to our future guests to take to the Forest. It is amazing at this time of year with the colours and the lighting and you never know what you might find!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Stylish, modern, clean and luxurious. The room was perfect, food in the restaurant was out of this world and the surroundings amazing. Breakfast was also good. We went for a romantic break and although expensive, it is worth every penny. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we truly hope to see you again in the Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The first thing that strikes you on the drive up to the hotel is what an absolutely beautiful building, its location really could not be any better, it is set right in the middle of the forest and as you approach the hotel you have all the ponies walking around you - simply breathtaking!
When we went to check in we were told our room wasn't quite ready but Mitchell on reception did everything possible to ensure this was rectified quickly and in the meamtime let us change our clothes in another room so that we could go out on our bikes.
Whilst we found all the staff at the hotel extremely friendly and helpful I do feel Mitchell deserves a special mention as he really did seem to go out of his way for us and made our stay even more special. As the hotel restaurant was full for dinner that evening he was only too happy to arrange a meal for us elsewhere, several places were booked but he recommended a lovely french restaurant for us and we had an amazing meal there.
Our room was lovely, very spacious, bright and clean and my other half loved the size of the TV! We had afternoon tea in the bar area which was delicious. My only slight gripe was the price of the drinks, whilst I appreciate when you stay in a 4* Hotel you pay more than the market rate I felt £9 odd for a white wine spritzer was just too much. I would have drank far more if the prices had been more reasonable!
The only other slight problem was my breakfast (scrambled egg) was cold and I had to send it back to be re-done, but the staff were very apologetic and the next lot a received was delicious.
Unfortunately we did not have time to use the leisure facilities so we cannot comment on that but all in all I would definitely recommend the hotel and hopefully we will be able to go back there one day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and I can only agree that our location is stunning. I will pass on your praise to Mitch and again I agree he is a credit to the Hotel. I have taken on board your other constructive comments and will discuss these with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Came here on a works do. Brilliant location in the middle of its own grounds. Water features in old stone surrounds everywhere. Very ambient. The house looks very ancient but was built around 1880. Magnificent inside and out and retainnig old world charm. Rooms were delightful. Large, modern, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, everything you needed on hand and very quiet. HUGE bed which was very comfortable. Lashings of high pressure hot water at all times. Beautiful enormous luxury towels.I liked the room decor. Tastful, muted colours, very restful.
Some suggestions however:
Finding your way around inside short of a sat nav is challenging. Maybe a plan of rooms etc given either to guests or pinned up in strategic places could help!
The Pool ( once you find it) was very dimly lit and although clean, warm etc needed to be better lit as there is no natural light getting in.
The web site is lacking quite a bit of information. Your directions page doesnt have the sat nav combination or even the post code on it
Although it mentions the Spa it doesnt say its facilities ( Gym and Pool, Sauna, Hot tub etc) were free to hotel guests. Maybe everyone else takes that as read- but its not always the case in all hotels so it would be good to know that up front.
The web site doesnt even memtion the hotel WiFi connection which it clearly had but it would be good to get confirmation of that up front and that its free etc.
Found you hired bikes- so why not say that on your web site?
Walking maps available at the hotel ( a print out) were not good. The only short suggested walk was to go along the road!! Maybe some print outs of the locality from the OS maps in large scale would be good which then shows lots of lovely off road walking paths.
Food was lovely, well served, good selection, nice wines. Breakfast laid out in the amazing Al Hambra room ( a bot of Granada home from home) was very good serving a slection of cold and hot courses. Again very helpful staff. I had a thoroughaly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Julia
Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor and I was very glad to read you had enjoyed your stay. I would also like to thank you for your very constructive comments and I will be discussing them at our next team meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhinefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House

Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield Hotel
Rhinefield House Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Address: Rhinefield Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rhinefield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhinefield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.