We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful child friendly break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Park Manor

Save Saved
You added New Park Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Park Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Brockenhurst
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful child friendly break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a really lovely break last week. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. They are also very in tune with little ones. The crèche facilities, den and toys strategically placed around were fantastic. So much so we are going to get one of their dolls ( and the staff were really helpful in finding out where they were sourced). I forgot my book and they posted it back to me within a matter of days which I really appreciated.
Food was delicious but 2 menus on offer bit confusing.
Understand there is a plan to renovate some of the rooms which will be great to have larger family rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank yo for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased to read that you all had a lovely time with us, and that you got your book back nice and quick too. The renovations will soon be underway for the old manor house rooms and by April next year they will be beautiful family friendly interconnecting rooms, giving you lots of space and somewhere to relax. I take your comments on board re the 2 menus. The 2nd Menu (Forest Menu) is really only a day time menu but we also offer on an evening for those not wanting a 3 course a la cart meal. I will make sure that the team explain this better though going forward. We hope that you get the chance to come and see us again soon.
Best wishes,
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    77
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
149
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel (with our two and a half yr old girl) a couple of weeks back and had a really enjoyable time. The spa was incredible and the food was excellent. Most importantly though, the service was outstanding.

The location of the hotel proved to be ideal for daily excursions into the New Forest and we made use of the bycicles that the hotel rents out at £15 a day and which I would strongly recommend. The spa at the hotel is extremely well maintained and offers incredible peace and quiet. I must add though, that we stayed at the hotel out of season and during the week, so it might not be as peaceful all year round! Dinners were superb and a real highlight of our days.

What trumped all were the staff. All of the staff, bar none, were exceptionally friendly and made us really feel 'at home'. They provided helpful suggestions for days out and were incredibly kind towards our little girl, who would have been quite happy staying for another 5 days. The facilities for children are excellent, including creche and cinema, as well as books and crayons all over the hotel (including restaurant) to keep them occupied. Steve, the manager, took care to ensure we were well looked after and got on with our little girl like a house on fire. He has a good energy about him and his dog, Daisy, was highlight number one for our child!!

Our only criticism was that we had difficulties with the shower in our bathroom. However, I was told that the room we were staying in (together with some others) will be soon be refurbished and after we mentioned it to Steve, he immediately moved us into a new room. The quality of service truly made up for (and then resolved) this minor issue.

The location of the hotel provided a good base for exploring the beauty of the New Forest. We also went to the National Car Museum and Peppa Pig World, both of which are within a twenty minute drive.

I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Melanie and Jonathan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to pass you kind feedback onto the team who I know will be really pleased that you all had such a lovely time with us. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, and Daisy made a good impression with your daughter! I hope that you get the chance to come back and see us soon. The refurbishment will be finished mid April and I'm sure you will find our new rooms a real treat.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at the delightful New Park Manor and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing break.

The journey was incredibly straightforward from London, which meant we had more time to unwind and enjoy this charming hotel, its spa and the surrounding New Forest.

As the New Forest has long been a favourite part of the UK to visit, to find such an excellent hotel was a real bonus and a place we will use as a base for future visits.

We received a really warm welcome from all of the staff, in particular the lovely General Manager Steve and Front of House Manager Lee, as well as Daisy (the Whipet NOT a Greyhound!).

We had a nice room over looking the extensive grounds and we could not fault the food all weekend. The modern spa is a must, as it not only has a good range of steam and sauna facilities, it also has a good-sized pool for swimming. The massage treatment we both had really hit the spot and ensured we were well and truly unwound before our departure.

We will certainly return as soon as we can, but we would recommend this hotel unreservedly to anyone, be they a couple or family, as a perfect all-year-round getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The team, as am I, are hugely pleased to read that you both had a great time with us and will come back and see us again soon. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time so much and would recommend us to your family and friends, our best recommendations come from our guests. I'm very proud of the team we have here at New Park Manor and the steps we have taken this year since been taken over by Luxury Family Hotels. We also feel that we can provide the correct levels of service and facilities for both family and couples alike. We look forward to welcoming you back to New Park Manor in the near future and please contact hesitate to contact me directly should you have any reservations queries etc.
Best wishes and thanks again,
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked a few months back for our wedding anniversary, it was our second time there so knew the place was good. BUT this time my wife was heavily pregnant, so I mentioned this prior to arrival. Without any fuss, they upgraded our room to something with better access! no charge, not fuss!

The location is great and right in the middle of the forest, we stayed in the hotel for 2 days and only ventured out for a walk...the rest was spent in the Spa and relaxing with afternoon tea in the drawing room.

Evening meals are also superb in the stag restaurant..only small gripe is the lack of background music so it's very quiet. you feel as if other people are listening in. but no big issue!

We'll be going back with the little one when he's born as it's really family friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that you both had a great time and that the team looked after you well. We've got the background music sorted now after having a few issues with the system. We have got some more nice chill out music now as I totally agree that the restaurant can be really quiet at times which makes the atmosphere a bit subdued at times. Good luck with everything and hope to see you and your new additional to the family soon.
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlemere, Bucks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed two nights and we're already talking about going back, particularly our two year old! It was just what we were looking for - luxurious but under-stated, friendly, accommodating and relaxing.

We stayed in the Barbara Villiers room because we wanted a separate space for our son to sleep in. We knew what to expect having read the reviews and the room could definitely benefit from some updating, particularly the bathroom, but it didn't bother us and gave us the space we needed.

Food-wise, we dined early as a family and the breakfast waffles come highly recommended. The staff were brilliant - really friendly and happy to accommodate all of our needs. There were plenty of toys about to play with and, for me, the best bit of all was the fantastic spa which opens until late so you can head there for a deeply rejuvenating hour or so when the children are in bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm really pleased to read that you all had a great time with us here. I'm not sure if we told you whilst you were here, but both floor in the manor house are set for refurbishment very soon. Come spring the rooms will have new bathrooms with great showers and the rooms will have been totally refurbished to a very high standard, whilst still keeping the charm of a 16th century manor house. I hope that you get the chance to come back and see what we have done.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a really lovely weekend break at New Park Manor. As soon as we arrived the lovely staff made a big fuss of our two year old, and were really friendly and welcoming. We had a great mix of family time (swimming, playing with the hotel's toys and just running up and down the corridors) and couple time whilst Charlie was well looked after in the Den. The spa was great. There were lots of nice touches e.g. free children's starters of hummus and pitta bread which kept our son going until his food arrived. The staff and atmosphere were the best bit - really helpful and all seem to genuinely love children. We didn't feel like we were getting in the way even when our son was rushing around. I'd definitely recommend the place to parents wanting a break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm really pleased that you all had a lovely time with us and felt at home whilst here. Having kids in the house is great as it brings so much life where ever they are. We hope that you get the chance to come and see us again soon.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superbly designed family friendly hotel giving a great break for parents. With a creche and lots of nice touches to keep the kids busy and a nice spa, it's a great place to go for parent to have a break.
The creche is open up to 6 hours a day and well run. The spa is good though there was some confusion on whether kids could go in the jacuzzi or not - we got asked to move out by staff but subsequently saw signs that said children only weren't allowed in the hot tub
Only gripe is that whilst the food is excellent, the portions are small and some of the pricing is excessive e.g. £2.20 for a small cup of juice for the kids
The staff are really helpful and do everything they can to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable for kids
It is expensive but money well spent!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I'm really pleased to read that you all had a lovely time with us. I am sorry for the confusion over the hot tub. The recommendations that we have been given are that under 16's should not used the hot tub due to the temperature of the water. I will make sure that better signage is used in future. We hope that you will come back and see us soon.
Thanks again for the feedback.
Best wishes
Steve & the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 21 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Barbara Villiers Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Bath House Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Park Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.