We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Park Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Park Manor to your Saves list
New Park Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have never visited a spa hotel before and this was the best introduction that I could've wished for. The New Park Manor hotel is situated in the most beautiful new forest surroundings. My partner and I stayed for three nights and used all the facilities, indoor and outdoor pools both heated, hot tub on the terrace, jacuzzis and steam rooms. We had massages and the treatment rooms were calm and tranquil and the treatment was great! The food in the restaurant was delicious and the menu was varied, the "dippy" boiled eggs for breakfast were lovely. The Manager and his staff couldn't have been more helpful, we felt very well looked after during our stay. All in all it was amazing stay and we will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Mrs Davis. Thanks for your lovely comments, I'm really pleased to read that you both had a lovely time with us. Look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best wishes,
Steve and the team (and Daisy too of course!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    91
    49
    31
    12
See reviews for
200
111
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the New Park Manor for 5 nights and couldn't fault anything, all the staff were so helpful especially the manager who went out of his way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, the hotel facilities were great and the spa was lovely, and the staff in the creche really good, we had a lovely stay and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there Mr & Mrs Goding. Thanks for your lovely comments and I'm really pleased you had such a lovely time with us. It was a pleasure having you all to stay and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Best wishes,
Steve and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Not being the usual 'spa' user, but with my partner in need of some R&R we decided upon a stay at this hotel in one of our favourite areas of the country. With our four legged friend being allowed to stay with us just added to the experience, and so unusual for a hotel of this standard. He was even catered for as well as we were with his own bed and water bowl in the room to ensure he was comfy whilst we went off to use the excellent spa facilities.
Sitting in the Canadian hot tub, whilst enjoying a chilled glass of bubbly was topped off as the local deer bounded across the field beyond. With a lovely pool, sauna and jacuzzi all to use within the predominantly glass building, means the forest view is never restricted.
The newly decorated room was a real comfort, with bed that was very hard to leave!! Enjoying breakfast and dinner in the library for a slightly more relaxed atmosphere was a real treat too, and with very attentive and courteous staff our every need was fulfilled. There were plenty of families with children there during our two nights, but with the childcare facilities, den and games area thoughtfully provided to keep them entertained, even the noisiest of visitors were never obtrusive.
With numerous walks on the doorstep taking in the various aras of New Forest and all it has to offer, the options are endless. The manager even offered to help clean my parnter's shoes when we returned via a slightly boggy area!! Highly recommended for a nice quiet break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi there. I'm really pleased to read that you all had such a great time with us here and thanks for your comments regarding our staff, I will make sure it is passed on to them. Hope to see you back with us again soon.
Best wishes
Steve and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

So so disappointing! Having stayed at New Park Manor several times before (including our honeymoon 4 years ago) we were looking forward to another delightful break. On arrival, as it was a hot sunny day, we ordered two bitter shandies. No bitter! We finally got our third choice drink. At dinner, the dining room was poorly run. No bread offered until the second course and then told that "we've only got Ciabatta or Foccaccia". Staff confused about which tables had which food,and neighbouring table had their starters snatched away - as they'd been given the wrong ones! Some people had pre-course appetisers but that seemed rather random and we didn't get them. And so to bed - and a sleepless night. Noisy neighbours who seemed to spend the night moving furniture around and just before 6.00am, children were noisily playing on the equipment in the nearby grounds. So hardly any sleep. By morning, we were so tired. Although we'd booked for two nights, one was more than enough! We checked out at 9.00am. They charged the full two day cost of £660 even though we'd only had one BBEM. An expensive mistake on our part. We will never go back and will savour our memories of previous visits when it really was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Rick E. I am very disappointed to read your comments, more so as I personally checked you out due to your circumstances of not being rested. Whilst I fully understand that this website is for giving feedback, I feel saddened that you did not mention this to me whilst you were checking out or during your stay with us. I appreciate that your reason for checking out was due to not enjoying your first nights sleep but would like to assure you of our best intentions with all of our guests at all times.
Regards
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

First impression were that hotel and grounds seemed a bit tired and there were no staff on reception or any info re meal times, hotel facilities etc.

Room was adequate for me - but bed was way too small for my husband - and anyone else 6 foot or over, no full length mirror, no real shower and no shower screen. Conversely, the main wall mirror was too low for anyone less than 6 foot! However the food was excellent and the waiting staff were good. Food reasonably priced too for what you got and the spa was most enjoyable - even if some of the gym equipment was out of order. I think we benefitted from requesting late checkout and having the facilities virtually to ourselves.

Was a little bit noisy in the morning - with footsteps from upstairs - and thin curtains preclude a lie-in - the daylight comes shining through.

I wouldn't pay the price for this hotel again - I'll opt for something else in the area but it does appear to cater quite well for families (another thing to put me off on a 'couples' weekend - but then I should have noted that it does calll itself a family hotel!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi LincsPauline,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. All feedback is useful and we act upon it as soon as possible. I note that you were not happy with the mirrors and would be grateful if you could let me know the room that you stayed in so that I can rectify this. I will also have our housekeeping team go round all of the rooms to check too to ensure we are catering for our guests the best that we can. If you would like to email or call me direct to discuss any other points you have regarding your stay, please contact me on steve.thorne-farrar@newparkmanorhotel.co.uk and the hotel No is 01590 623467. Best wishes, Steve and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Myself and my partner has just returned from an idyllic stay at the New Park Manor. We were slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews on here but whatever issues they have had in the past appear to have been resolved. We could not have been happier with the service, nothing we asked for was too much trouble and the staff seemed genuinely pleased to help.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel (preferring to dine in the local villages in the evening) but the food was delicious and there was plenty on the menu to choose from.

We used the spa one afternoon and despite the weather being chilly we still used the outdoor hot tub. What a way to spend the afternoon; in an outdoor hot tub with a glass of wine (delivered to us by the spa staff!) whilst watching the deers in the surrounding forest. It was amazing.

The bedroom was in keeping with the hotel stye; traditional yet still luxurious, the room and bathroom was immaculately clean and the bed was so comfy we didn't want to leave!

We didn't have children with us, but we weren't disturbed by other peoples. There was a kids club and cinema room on site. It was also nice to see an array of toys available outdoors, which kept the children occupied and therefore allowing their parents (and us) to sit on the veranda in peace.

We are keen cyclists and had brought our bikes with us, the hotel backs onto the forest and we were able to cycle directly into the forest from the hotel. The cycle routes are amazing, a must if visiting the New Forest.

Overall it was an absolutely amazing weekend and we will most definitely be returning, hopefully soon !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi there,
Thanks for your kind words and we are really pleased to see that you have seen some great improvements from the team here. We are constantly working hard to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time with us. Next time you come back be sure to stay for diner one evening and get the whole experience. We offer 2 wonderful menus to chose from and are sure you will not be disappointed. Best wishes, Steve and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We didn't stay here but used the spa and bar. It's the best spa around. It's small and quiet with unrivalled views from the outside hotub. Don't be put off if the weathers bad, the hot tub is just as enjoyable. Food is great and the spa treatments are amongst the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newpark76, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Barbie1,
Thanks for the kind words and we are really pleased to read that you had a great time with us in the Spa. Next time come and stay with us for the night too and get the full pamper package. Best wishes from Steve and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 21 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Barbara Villiers Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Bath House Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Park Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.