We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to your Saves list
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spa Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went for a spa day for my Mum's birthday, we had such a lovely time, arrived at about 8:45am we were shown around the spa then went for breakfast which was very nice. All the spa facilities are great, especially everything in the hydro room. All staff were very friendly & helpful. A 2 course lunch was included in our package which was delicious! After that we went for our treatments, I had a head massage, not the best I've had, but still very good! The spa did become very busy for a Monday so I can't imagine what it must be like on a weekend, however we had a wonderful day and left feeling very relaxed! Wouldn't hesitate to visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxlade-cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent experience at SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your spa day with us, and look forward to welcoming you both back once again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We are back from celebrating my 40th birthday and we could not recommend Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa highly enough.
From the moment we arrived the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and every service was impeccable.
The Hydro Spa facilities were beautiful, relaxing and inviting. The food both in the Zen Garden and the Manor Restaurant was absolutely delicious and had us cooing for hours. The accommodation was homely and luxurious, with every facility included tea and coffee, hair dryer, robes, slippers, iron (only if you have to!), toiletries and of course the beautiful surroundings of the New Forest.
We genuinely did not want to leave. After a weekend here, you will just want to book again. We do!

Room Tip: We booked the Knightwood rooms - 96 and 97 over by the Senspa. Very quiet, with our balcony overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback following youre recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your 40th birthday, and am happy we were able to help make it an occasion you will remember.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I cannot fault the hotel, the location is fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and the manor house itself is very welcoming and comfortable. The restaurant had good service and a really unusual menu which left me spoilt for choice. The restaurant has a dress code so make sure you take your shoes, this isn't mentioned when booking on their website. I booked through the website and was told that the rate included access to the Spa. This turned out to be not entirely true, we could use some of the facilities but not any of the hydrotherapy area. When I asked a member of staff they said (somewhat rudely, after making me wait around for a while) I would have to pay an additional £25 per person to use these facilities. Every other guest just waited until the door was open and sneaked in, in hindsight perhaps we should have done that. It is a shame that this policy ruined our stay slightly, I think my review would have been 5 stars otherwise.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a nice patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and am grateful of your kind feedback towards the staff and Hotel.

I am sorry you felt let down by the Hydrotherapy facilities in SenSpa, noticing guests taking advantage of the current coded door system. We are aware of this and are currently having a new system put in place, therefore I hope you will make full use of these facilities during your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have been here several times before and will go again. It is a splendid hotel in a beautiful part of the New Forest.
We had a "superior" room which was indeed excellent.
However, the the same thing can't be said for the ensuite which was only what might be expected in a budget room.
The shower had a fixed head set high making it impossible for a woman to shower without wearing a shower cap (supplied). The toilet didn't flush well. The room was small and cramped.
Food and service were excellent and we all felt very comfortable and welcome.
The public areas are looking a bit tired i.e. carpets and decor.
Everything else is very good including the spa.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will go again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglorog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

It is always a pleasure to hear of our guests returning, and I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay once again.

I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. We enjoyed beautiful meals with excellent service from friendly and attentive staff. The hotel sits in lovely grounds and there is so much to do. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It was my birthday and my partner took me there as a treat. Had a lovely time, room was fantastic and the manor restaurant was absolutely top notch. Service always extremely attentive anywhere in the hotel.
The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because while we were in the (beautiful) spa, we asked about the herbal hydrotherapy room, and it was an additional £25 per person on top of the base price, and the door required a code, while we saw at least 15 people letting each other into it by holding the door or knocking, which put us off buying the extra access since lots of people were taking advantage.
Will definitely be back though!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and am grateful of your praise towards the Hotel and team.

I am sorry you felt put off by the Hydrotherapy facilities in SenSpa, noticing guests taking advantage of the current coded door system. We are aware of this and are currently having a new system put in place, therefore I hope you will take adavantage of these facilities on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at careys Manor with my daughter, my Mother's Day treat. We stayed for one night but with 2 days spa experience. We arrived at midday and had a wonderful 2 course lunch in the Zen Garden restaurant. Spent the afternoon in the spa which was very relaxing. The thermal beds are great, and the hydrotherapy pool very therapeutic. Dinner in the manor restaurant was very nice, we had the three course meal, which was excellent and beautifully arranged on the plate. It was very quiet in the restaurant and lacked a little atmosphere, but did not spoil our meal.
We had a twin bedroom by the garden, a Knightwood room, which was very spacious and clean, and opened on to a small garden with 2 chairs and table.
We had breakfast in the Zen Garden restaurant. Food was very nice and plenty of it, but we were the only ones there for the whole time. Would have preferred to have eaten in the manor restaurant, where I assume everyone else was.
We spent the rest of the day back in the spa, after a walk to the village of brockenhurst a little way down the road. A great time, and wonderful treat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, relaxing in our Award Winning facilities in SenSpa, and indulging in both our Zen Garden and Manor Restaurants.

We encourage our Spa Break and Spa Day guests to enjoy breakfast in The Zen Garden Restaurant so they may dine in their robes to begin their SenSpa experience. However, should you prefer to dine in our Manor Restaurant for breakfast during your next visit, you are most welcome to do so. Please inform one of the Reception Team upon your arrival and they will arrange this for you.

I look forward to welcoming yourself and your daughter back for another relaxing break in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 12 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rhinefield House
Rhinefield House
#7 of 12 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 12 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 stars 1,135 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our Cambium restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Manor Brockenhurst
Careys Hotel Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing