We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to your Saves list
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Detox this Jan at SenSpa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Shipton under Wychwood, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed here previously and the service was equally as good. Our garden room was spacious & very comfortable with lovely views out onto the garden. This room would be lovely in the summer with patio doors opening onto the garden. The restaurant food on the Saturday night was excellent as was the service. The only down side was the female restaurant manager showing guests to their tables-she was quite frosty. There was no warmth nor welcome no chat from her and yet as a restaurant manager has the power to enhance a visit to the restaurant so much. Yes she was busy but we also remembered her being quite frosty on our last visit too.
The staff in the lounge area were good as was the food - Nimrod was great! Unfortunately we didn't use the Spa. Overall this is a lovely characterful hotel in a great location. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Garden bedroom with patio doors onto the garden are especially lovely in good weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your praise towards Nimrod. He is a valued member of the team and will be commended for his continual high level of customer service.

I was surprised to learn that you received anything less than a warm welcome from our Host in the Manor Restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies for this and be assured I will be communicating this to our Restaurant Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    367
    145
    58
    31
See reviews for
104
898
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent one night stay at Carey's Manor. We went for a relaxing spa break and weren't disappointed! The Spa area was lovely, with great Jacuzzi and pool. We had a three course meal in the Manor Restaurant which was delicious and enjoyed drinks by the lovely big fire! Rooms were nice, spacious and more than adequate. The service was also brilliant, when we arrived and parked it was raining hard, and we were greeted by someone with an umbrella which was a lovely touch! If you're looking to escape from it all you won't be disappointed if you chose to stay at Carey's Manor....

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your kind praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently visited Careys Manor for my birthday weekend with my partner and we had a great stay. We stayed for 2 nights and ate in both the Thai restaurant and the main restaurant and both were delicious.
Service throughout the hotel was impeccable and you felt very well looked after from the word go.
We stayed in an Oakwood room with a garden view, rooms were very large, well kept and have extremely comfortable beds. I would definitely reccomend choosing this type of room as they are alot more modern (without being too modern) than the standard rooms.
The spa was lovely and had everything you needed, definitely one of the better spas I have been to in the UK. I had the heavenly treatment which is 1.5 hours of full body massage and a facial and it lived up to its name. Having been to Thailand, the treatment was very authentic and worth every penny of the money spent.
I would definitely recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break in the UK as it is in a perfect position to visit lots of nice little towns and drink lots of tea and eat lots of scones.

Room Tip: Go for the Oakwood room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay to celebrate your birthday, and thank you for your kind words towrds the hotel and team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longparish, andover
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having just returned from an afternoon tea at Careys Manor I felt that I should write a review. A friend and myself decided to book a afternoon tea after receiving a 30% off voucher. We were both looking forward to a girlie Sunday afternoon and visiting Careys Manor, we thought that this would be the perfect time to enjoy a preview of the hotel with the view to booking a spa day in the spring.
However, on arrival we were both slightly disappointed. The hotel has such a fantastic reputation that we arrived expecting to find a wonderfully beautiful hotel, what we found in its pace was a very tired looking one instead. The grounds and from the outside the hotel looked stunning, yet when we entered the wallpaper looked very dated and in need of replacing and the entrance wasn't really inviting.
We were greeted when we arrived and shown to the room where the afternoon tea was being held, again very disappointing. Having experienced a number of afternoon teas at Claridges, The Berkeley, Harrods and The White Horse in Romsey we were expecting to find Careys Manor to have a similar ambiance. The room that we were dining in was dull and felt very much like a conference room. There was no mood lighting just the standard ceiling lighting which felt hash and just had no character.
The staff were all very attentive but the afternoon tea itself was standard. Pleasant enough but nothing to really rave about and we would not return again. I certainly would not be happy to pay the full amount for the tea, this was mainly down to the overrated surroundings.
Overall I feel that some money really needs to be spent to make this hotel have the wow factor that comes with the reputation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations, and have shared your feedback with the team so we may learn from your experience.

I do hope you may considering returning to us once again where I would invite you to contact me directly, confident we would restore any lost faith.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have enjoyed Careys Manor Hotel and its SenSpa five years ago and our return overnight spa break visit reaffirmed our satisfaction. By arriving at lunch time on Friday we had the spa for ourselves most of the afternoon and loved our massages. To me the beautify of this hotel and spa is in its impeccable service, relaxed, although not lavish, surroundings, and experience showers that put Ragdale or Whittlebury Hall spas to shame! If you enjoy hot waters of the hydro pool, this is the spa for you.

This time we upgraded to a “superior room” and it was definitely worth is. When dining at the Manor restaurant my partner’s stake was overcooked but we received apologies and this mistake was soon rectified to our complete satisfaction. Thank you, Tomas!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, indulging in SenSpa and being pampered with treatments. I apologise that your partners steak was not cooked to his satisfaction, however am comforted that Tomas, our Restaurant Manager, was able to rectify this for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

So relaxing. About to go again for a second time. Love the Thai food and rumour has it the hotel does gluten free cream teas? Love the thai clothes that you get if you have a spa break i lived in mine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review following your visit to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am delighted you enjoyed the spa, and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Careys is a firm favorite retreat for us at least 6 times per year we go to relax and take in the peace of the forest and its surrounding villages. 2013 we have already stayed 2 weekends with more planned and have booked for a week in August. The service at this hotel is second to none. On our recent trip we met the Manager who dealt with a slight issue in a prompt, professional maner to a satisfactory conclusion. Not only does he run a very efficient, friendly, quality service hotel, he clearly is entreprenaural as the hotel is always busy. We have to also thank Anna in the restaurant and Nimrod behind the bar who both exceed expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and greatly appreciate your kind praise towards the hotel and the team. Nimrod and Anna in particular are both valued members of staff, and will both be commended for their continual high level of customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our two AA rosette Manor Restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.