We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spa Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa to your Saves list
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas Pamper Break
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Spa Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was my second stay at the hotel and spa with friends who were on their fourth stay. The hotel as always was wonderful, with lovely rooms and friendly and attentive staff for whom nothing was too much travel. The spa facilities were fantastic and the treatments we each had were a real luxury and very relaxing, and certainly never to be missed. We always enjoy eating in the Zen Garden Restaurant with delicious and healthy food and so much choice. We will certainly enjoy visiting again next year for our annual treat and bit of heaven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

We are delighted that you all enjoyed your annual break, and are very grateful of your kind praise towards the team.

I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again next year.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    366
    144
    58
    30
See reviews for
104
896
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On the 24 November 2012 myself, two daughters, sister, niece and two close friends went for an overnight stay which included lunch, evening meal and breakfast together with full use of the spa facilities. The occassion was my youngest daughters 40th birthday. Our ages ranged from 37 to 65.

We were delighted with our chic, comfortable rooms all of which had a nice view over the garden. The spa was a source of great fun with plenty of variety. Everywhere was immaculate.

Our eveing meal was of superb quality complimented by the lovely tunes from the pianist. The lunch and breakfast were also top notch..

The staff should take the biggest accolade, everyone we came in contact with was helpful, cheerful, informative and fun, always a smile greeted us. Even when my dear pal dropped a much loved earing down the sink plughole a knight in shining armour turned up to retrieve it for her.

I would recommend a stay to all my family and friends, a great weekend made superb!!

Room Tip: We has gaeden rooms which were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your weekend break with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your special get-together in celebration of your daughter’s Birthday, and are extremely grateful of your kind praise towards the team. I am attempting to track down the member of the team who recovered your friends earring so I may commend them on their efforts.

Thank you once again and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have just spent a wonderful 2 day, 1 night spa break at Careys Manor, to celebrate a 40th birthday.
Our rooms were spacious, luxurious and wonderfully clean, and in the newer part of the hotel. Two of our rooms even had interconnecting doors, which worked well for us.
All of the staff were attentive, helpful and extremely polite. One of our party lost an earring down the sink plug, and although the maintenance man was not on duty, a porter was sent straight away to come and disconnect the u bend, and retrieve the earring.
After a beautiful 2 course lunch in the Thai restaurant, we unpacked in our rooms and decided to decamp to the Spa, having first changed into swimwear and robes, and obtained the code from the Spa reception. The hydrotherapy pool was wonderful, and the different showers and rooms were fun! The trepidarium (I think!) room was lovely and relaxing with the heated beds.
After a couple of drinks in our rooms, we went to dinner in the Manor restaurant. The food and service was out of this world. The restaurant itself had a lovely ambience, and again the staff were very polite and attentive. We had a few drinks with dinner, and the bill wasn't too expensive.
The next morning we attended the Spa again, which was nice and quiet at 8am, followed by a freshly cooked breakfast back in the Zen Garden restaurant.
All in all, we had a lovely, fun weekend, which although isn't particulary cheap, was well worth the money for a bit of a splash out.
Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback following your recent weekend break.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us and very grateful of your kind praise towards the team. I was particularly pleased to learn that a member of the porters team assisted you in recovering your earring, I will be sure to track down just who with was and commend them for their efforts.

We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to Careys Manor & SenSpa again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is our second stay at the Manor&Spa and once again can only say that we had a superb relaxing stay. All staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we get out of your car at reception. We paid extra for the room upgrade and once again had a super room with excellent facilities and lovely views. A fridge in the room would, however, have been useful for keeping drinks cool!
The evening meal was excellent and the Thai lunch even better!!!
As for the spa......just enter and relax. Don't miss the green tea in the relaxation room.
Too chilled out now to go to work so have taken another day off........hope you enjoy your stay as much as we have.

Room Tip: Have not tried the basic rooms but have been very satisfied with the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your return visit and do look forward to being able to welcome you back again.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Staff very helpful, however two area's, under the 'banner' of a 'Green' culture, you are subjected to radiators off with the excuse they are broken or on a timer (not so and you can get some of them working if you ignore this), and this time of year that is unhelpful, people sitting in the bars with coats on freezing, also having doors open to the elements doesn't help, secondly night and day regarding restaurants, the French restaurant brilliant, good food and service etc.,the restaurant in the main building, well change the Chef, poultry rare, don't think so, some food average, a percentage not edible, sending back doesn't always solve the problem, can be returned in the same conditon.....and this restaurant is also 'freezing', this time of year, 'Green credentials', saving money if you ask me, and for what I paid for a weekend, no way value for money in spite of an upgraded room given to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

Please except my most sincere apologies that you found the Lounge Bar and Dining room an uncomfortable temperature. We have radiators throughout, all in working order and fitted with control valves so there is clearly no excuse for this.

During the cold months where heating is required, we leave all radiators on setting two and ensure we are checking as often as possible, that all windows and doors are closed. We find this to be the most effective way of maintaining a consistent and comfortable room temperature. This said however, we should of course increase the temperature at the request of our guests and during particularly cold snaps as we have been suffering of late.

We are dedicated to ensuring that we minimise the impact our business has on the environment at every opportunity and are delighted to have been awarded Gold by the Green Tourism Board for our efforts. I must stress however, that our green initiatives will never act in detriment to the enjoyment and relaxation of our guests stay.

Thank you once again for your review and lovely feedback towards Le Blaireau, our French Bistro & Bar.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Disappointing stay. On arrival, room needed hoover, corridors battered and in need renovation / redecorating; "tired" appearance including dining room (stained and frayed carpets, battered furniture etc), ink stains on sheets, bath robe torn, drip all night in bathroom from cistern, only tepid water in morning, no WiFi, yellowed net curtains, noisy staff in corridors early morning, poor sound proofing in between guest rooms so inconsiderate guests kept me awake into early hours... all okay if cheap place but expected more here. Big fuss about their unique breakfasts but only DIY buffet of "local" food. Compares poorly to the cooked-to-order often enjoyed over decades of global travel. Won't return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your candid feedback of your recent stay with us.

I can only sincerely apologise that we have failed you in so many ways, and not lived up to your expectations.
Given the opportunity I most certainly would have welcomed an open conversation in this regard, confident I could have restored any lost faith.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Careys Manor hotel. We got a dinner B&B deal for one night and a Spa break for the next. Good value overall.
The original house is very nice, with lots of character. Open fires etc. The room was very nice, a Garden Room looking over an internal garden area. Clean, well decorated & maintained. the spa was LOVELY! great massage. lovely relaxing areas. great pool and hydrotherapy. nice service. In fact from reception, to porter to restaurant staff, all great service.
we had dinner at the Manor restaurant. it was EXCELLENT. thoroughly recommended.
the only thing about the hotel that let it down, was the dowdiness of the corridors of the new wing. the woodwork was stained dark brown, and the carpets were dark & rather than being oldy worldy were just old fashioned. a small detail, but could do with a lick of cream eggshell paint & new seagrass carpets, and would have made all the difference. a small detail really.
Brockenhurst is a quaint little village. a few pubs with food, and nice for a walkabout.

Room Tip: far end of new wing ground floor was quiet with nice garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLyonShaw, Manager at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa.

We are pleased to learn of how much you enjoyed your break and are grateful of your kind feedback.

January 2013 feels like a perfect time to freshen up and start the year as we mean to go on, so we’ll see about that lick of paint in the corridors as you suggest.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thomas Lyon-Shaw
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Careys Manor Hotel and Senspa is a luxury 4 star spa hotel set in the heart of the beautiful New Forest. This highly commended hotel has been voted Hotel Spa of the Year by the British Beauty Awards and awarded Gold by the Green Business Tourism Scheme. With three restaurants, there is plenty to choose from - whether you prefer fine dining in our two AA rosette Manor Restaurant, a relaxed atmosphere in Blaireaus French Bistro or want to enjoy authentic Thai cuisine in the Zen Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Careys Manor Hotel And Senspa
Careys Manor Hotel & Sen Brockenhurst
Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Careys Manor Spa Senspa
Careys Hotel Manor
Careys Manor Brockenhurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Careys Manor Hotel & SenSpa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.