We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely celebratory diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pig to your Saves list
The Pig
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
New Forest, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely celebratory diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a fabulous time, the atmosphere on arrival was so inviting and the food was delicious and so fresh! The staff were plentiful and attentive. After dinner we had coffee by the fire in a cosy lounge area, everyone was so content and relaxed, a very special place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    209
    100
    44
    26
See reviews for
103
476
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I stayed at The Pig for one night with two friends for a girly break away. We stayed in rooms 4 & 5 in the main building, and they are beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are particularly well done in my opinion! The only downside of the rooms are the noise from the downstairs bar which continues until midnight, but other than that, they are lovely. Luckily we were up until that time so it didn't really bother us, but if you're an early sleeper, perhaps go for a room in the outer buildings.
As for the food, it's on another level. The chef really knows what he's doing with fish, meat, and a variety of home grown herbs and vegetables which you can see growing in the Kitchen Garden in the grounds of the hotel. We had dinner and then breakfast the following morning, which is equally amazing. £10 for all you can eat from a delicious array of breakfast delights...home made granola, yoghurt, fruit compote, eggs that you can boil yourself to your preferred time, and other bits and pieces.
I would definitely recommend The Pig for a romantic break away, but perhaps stay in the outer building in one of the slightly more expensive rooms. Also good for a group of friends as The LImewood Spa is just down the road and you can use all the facilities for £40 for the day. Gorgeous spa and well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the outer buildings for peace and quiet, although they are pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

friends of ours recommended us to come here for a meal as they stay here regular. beautiful place... food fantastic and service top class. looking to book a weekend stay here. thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just had a fab night in The Pig. Great food and amazing service . Nothing was too much trouble. The cocktail waiter was knowledgable and entertaining . They went the extra mile to get my husband a nice ice cream desert . Wonderful . Would definitely go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Despite terrible weather on the Friday and flooding on the train lines, we finally made it to this fantastic hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. We were taken to our room which was within the main building. The room was lovely with a large free standing bath and walk in monsoon shower. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a great night sleep.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday which was amazing. The service was very efficient and the staff were all extremely knowledgeable about the menu. There was also an extensive wine list and the waiters were happy to recommend matching wines.

On the Saturday, we headed out to explore the local area. Upon our return to the hotel later that evening, we noticed that it seemed very dark. It quickly became apparent that the area had suffered a power cut. The hotel was lit by numerous candles which made it very atmospheric.

The staff were still assisting with a smile and despite there being no electricity they were determined to continue providing an impeccable service. The chefs relocated to outdoors and reduced the menu to dishes they felt able to provide by using a wood fired oven and gas bbqs. I do not think that anyone could have been unhappy with the way that the staff handled the situation which was beyond their control.

Breakfast was lovely and a perfect portion.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Pig is a fantastic boutique hotel all within in an under 2 hour train ride from central London. The restaurant is arguably the focus but I found other aspects to be perhaps just as spectacular. For example, I had one of my best massages of all at the Pig and it was done in the most stylish of sheds. It was raining when we were there and the warm fireplaces throughout the living rooms were inviting and cozy. The staff was friendly and they offered their assistance throughout our stay. The decor was incredibly tasteful and stylish. We will definitely return, including when I bring others there for a prenatal retreat.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 which was wonderful, especially since we had our baby with. We were able to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Arrived on a wet Thursday afternoon, with local roads blocked or partially blocked due to bad weather, but no way were these pathetic attempts by Mother Nature to stop us arriving going to succeed.

From the moment you make your way up the winding drive and see the hotel come into view, you cannot help but start grinning in the knowledge you made the right choice this time. Fabulous building and can only imagine how the grounds look in the summer! Stunning.

Reception staff were friendly and took us to our room, The Pig Shed! Wow. Superking bed I would guess with quality linen & pillows. Real milk, not UHT, for tea or coffee. Other hotels please note!!!! Flat screen tv, deep roll top bath bath and separate very large drenching shower simply enhanced the experience. Views over the chickens a nice touch.

Nice walk through the gardens where we could see produce bound for the table over the coming weeks. Again, in better weather, this would be a delight for all senses, and further walks around the grounds would make this a few hours long if you so desired.

We chose to have an afternoon drink in the bar area, fire blazing, although there were other quieter rooms too if you preferred. Duncan served us and his passion for the job and hotel during the brief conversation told us we were in for a treat. We were not the only guests to notice this! His colleagues continued along the same vein when he was called elsewhere.

Dinner was sumptuous. The Pig have an ethos of ingredients coming within a 25 mile radius. Keep it local is a mantra that many of us agree with today for a number of reasons inc. local economy, seasonal food, green miles etc. but the flavour needs to be right when you are paying good money! We were not disappointed. You may as well choose your meal via eeny, meeny, miny & mo as whatever you choose I very much doubt will disappoint. Happy faces everywhere. Great atmosphere. Good service from staff kept the finely tuned "machine" rolling effortlessly.

A hearty breakfast the following morning set us up for the day. Superb local produce.

You could have 2 or even 3 treats at other establishments for the price of this 1 but I guarantee those will be forgettable whereas I know we will remember and talk of our time at The Pig well into the future. No doubt we may have to pop back from time to time too! Not just for the Martinis, Duncan.

Room Tip: Not sure there could be such a thing as a "bad" room. I'd be happy to take any on offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is the baby sister of Lime Wood – with a little attitude! It is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment.......It’s really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden.... everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef – they grow and find the food – the chef then makes the menu. Our style is home grown in every way – breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won’t be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.