We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Babington House then you'll like The Pig” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig

Save Saved
You added The Pig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pig
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“If you like Babington House then you'll like The Pig”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at The Pig just for one night but it was the perfect getaway for our first night alone since having a baby. Loved the whole ambience and vibe - like Babington House but less pretentious and better value. Massage in the treatment shed was amazing and loved the cocktails and breakfast especially. Two things that let it down for me. Firstly our room wasn't ready when we arrived. It didn't really matter as we just sat in the bar and had a drink whilst we waited but i would just expect for a hotel like this to ensure the rooms are ready by 3pm. The other disappointment for me was the room itself. We had a comfy luxe room and it says most have baths on the website. Ours didn't however, and despite having a fab rainforest style shower, i still felt a bit cheated.

Overall though The Pig is a fab hotel and i would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    195
    94
    39
    25
See reviews for
85
433
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived to find nowhere close to the door to park. Should nt have been a problem for most of those using the phalanx of Sherman tank like vehicles crowding round the door but if you have any kind of walking limitation - forget it. You can park 150m down the gravel drive and lug up your own bags. After dinner the first evening 12.5% was added to the bill without asking! Beware! Sitting in one of the two comfy lounges ae were disturbed the first day by a resident on his mobile and lap top drafting a contract in conference at length! The second day we were in the lounge there seemed to be a constant stream of prospective customers being told of the champagne receptions and weddings they could have -not very relaxing. We came to our room the second evening to find a large black bin bag in the room filled with rubbish. On leaving we had to lug our bagsdown the hill -no offer of help and we willnot be back at £300 per night for b&b.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Read about this place for a while .. so booked as xmas present for my husband....miserable weather all weekend .. torrential downpours so unfortunately couldn't make the most of the grounds or local area. So we settled in by the fire and ordered gin and tonics! :-)
Great atmosphere here .. relaxed ..lots of rooms with comfy sofas and fires.
We stayed in Pig Shed ....could watch the chickens from our window
I guess you come here for the food ... the restaurant has a great informal setting.. tables are allocated as you arrive and it does get busy...once seated service was very good .. getting attention at bar areas can be more difficult. Menu was interesting but lacked appeal to us. Food was good but not amazing.
A great escape for a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great for a mix of business and pleasure tucked away from the world in the middle of the New Forrest.
Great rooms (be aware that the railway line is just beyond the stable rooms!) and good service albeit a little patch at times.
Wi-fi not available in non-public rooms and even then not much band width so if you need it for business's beware!

Room Tip: Main house is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had read the reviews over a period of time and wondered whether this place was as good as they say. I guess that driving down to the New Forest in late November in the early evening may stir some romantic thoughts in some people but we got hopelessly lost and stopped at almost every pub in the area until it was pitch black.
Finally we arrived and thoughts of what had seemed like a bit of nightmare journey simply faded away. The welcome from the staff was warm and personal as was the atmosphere with Pine log fires burning in the lounges pervading the whole place with a true winter country house air. The escort to our room was friendly and informative and I was already thinking what a shame it was that we were only staying the one night.
Our room was perfectly proportioned and very chic with little touches that were idiosyncratic of the ideology behind this place. It was in every way quintessentially quaint with a short staircase that led down into a small but well equipped bathroom furnished with white fluffy towels and quality soaps and everything was spotlessly clean.
So having glimpsed the lounges and smelt the comforting aroma of a real wood fire we freshened up and made our way downstairs to relax, and that comes very easy here. The sofas are huge and well placed, some close to the fires and others more discreetly located to provide a little intimacy. There are books, journals and newspapers at hand and you feel very familiar with everything very quickly.
Being mid winter and oh so cold we never ventured out doors but could not help but notice that they have a pretty amazing courtyard complete with a massive brick build oven and BBQ resplendant with Rattan furniture, obviously for the those warm and balmy evening that seemed so far away in November.
We were meeting friends and had booked a table for 8pm, they arrived around 7pm and the staff took our orders for drinks and presented us with the menus which are possibly not for the feint hearted unless you love Pork. This is not to say that that is all is there is but it does feature an awful lot but then what else would expect from a Hotel Restaurant named the Pig.
Well everything Piggy was fantastic especially the Piggy Bits and the Tobacco Onions, not what I expected but fabulous all the same, make sure to order a selection of these as they are great for sharing. The restaurant is situated in what appears to be a very large Georgian style conservatory and it was humming with atmosphere obviously created by the dedicated customers that were arriving in droves.
Their Flower Pot of Triple Cooked Chips are the perfect accompaniment to almost everything and the portions are well forgive the pun but fit for Piggy's, that said we still found room for a couple of sweet desserts and some great British Cheeses.
After dinner we retired to one of the lounges for coffee etc and then to bed for a truly great night's sleep, peaceful, silent warm and so comfortable wrapped up in the perfect weight duvet and fine quality linens.
Breakfast was served in a side room off of the main dining area and was as could only be expected from such a food focused hotel a real delight and needless to say the Bacon and Sausages were scrumptious.
Our only regret was that our stay was for just one night but we shall be back in the Summer to explore the glorious New Forest and visit some of the local Towns and Villages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We should declare that we're fans of Robin Hutson and his achievements, and The Pig encompasses all of the good things in his repertoire.
As you approach the hotel you somehow know it's going to be a good experience and we've never been disappointed. The public rooms are beautifully furnished and you never seem far away from an open fire or log-burner to curl up in front of and enjoy a glass or two from the magnificent wine list while you decide what to do in this most beautiful part of England. It's a warm place to stay in both temperature and ambience.
The bedrooms are unique and beautifully appointed and the beds are as comfortable as any we have slept in, with crisp cotton sheets and a mattress to die for. For both our visits to date we have stayed in a suite of bedrooms remote from the main house ( The Pig Hut, first time and The Stables, this time ) - lovely, quiet, and cosy. The bathrooms too are super and the showers just wonderful.
Dining at The Pig is a delight. The conservatory style restaurant is like dining in a potting shed and the food is fresh (much from the kitchen garden - which is well worth a visit ), local and beautifully cooked, and the service relaxed, unobtrusive and pleasant. The wine list is a wonderful and diverse collection.
Overall we could not have enjoyed our visits more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived mid afternoon were very warmly welcomed and shown to our room.The room was exceptionally spacious along with all mod cons.The bathroom excellent & very roomy.Later we went to join friends for dinner,all of us were treated like royalty by all the staff.Eveyone was courteuos,polite,very helpful{recommendations when asked about food and wine}.The food as always superb.Overall EVERYTHING about the pig was and is just fantastic & for such a reasonable tariff.Thank you one and all.We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is the baby sister of Lime Wood – with a little attitude! It is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment.......It’s really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden.... everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef – they grow and find the food – the chef then makes the menu. Our style is home grown in every way – breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won’t be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.