We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Pig to your Saves list
The Pig
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Had heard a lot about this place and know some of the founders. A really great job has been done on the place. Very relaxed on the one hand but you are given the slight feeling that they want your chair for the next sitting.My wife had the Bath chap or pigs cheek to you and I and thought it was fantastic with the best crackling she has ever had. Not for he squeamish as still had the teeth Attatched ! M air dried ham with wild mushrooms and duck eggs on toast was tasty, but frankly rather dull. Plenty f places to sit if you could while away a few hours happily.......if the waitresses let you!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    200
    95
    39
    25
See reviews for
91
449
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

"And I know it seems easy," said Piglet to himself, "but it isn't everyone who could do it." The House at Pooh Corner by AA Milne.

I thought that this was a totally appropriate quote to describe how comfortable, relaxing and easy it was to stay at The Pig in the Forest. We booked in for our 3 night mini-moon and it was a perfect venue for us. Everything seemed effortless: the perfectly placed and plumped cushions on the furniture, the well attended and well used walled kitchen garden, the shabby chic but not even slightly chintzy interior decor and the beuatuful locally sourced food.

We could smell the log fires burning as we walked up the drive towards the friendly looking building, a welcoming smell on a cold November day. The staff were really friendly and we were pleasantly surprised to find that they had booked us in to the restaurant on each of the three nights we were staying there. (This hadn't been clear to us when we booked the stay so we had seperately booked a table in the restaurant for one of the nights which we were able to cancel.)

We were shown to our room, a Comfy Luxe, which was located away from the main house in a small barn. Up some stairs, it was ideally suited for us. A nice, large bedroom with inviting bed and a seperate and equally large bathroom, complete with rolltop bath (heavenly) and large walk in waterfall shower (which you only needed to turn on to about 40% of it's power to feel pummelled).

Allotment owners ourselves, we wandered around the lovely walled kitchen garden and were thrilled to be able to choose items on the menu that night that we had seen growing that afternoon. After a pre-dinner cocktail in the bar we ate in the lovely, Victorian-style conservatory. Like everything else, the food, the setting at the atmosphere felt special without being pretentious.

The meal was outstanding (as was the meal we ate there on our last night too). Fresh and very local produce cooked perfectly to make the most of the individual flavours. The menu wasn't fancy but it was right up our street. In particular we would recommend the Glenarm smoked salmon, smoked by the chef on site. By far and away this is the most delicious smoked salmon I have ever tasted.

Breakfast was a lovely experience but perhaps a little too pricey. I ate from the 'Breakfast Table' and although everything was truly delicious I essentially had cereal and toast for £10.

The attention to detail at The Pig is outstanding and the food is glorious. The setting is beautiful and the inside of the hotel just begs to be lounged around in. Originally we had planned to stay at The Limewood, The Pig's more famous, more posh and more expensive sister hotel, but in fact, we think that The Pig suited us and our mini-moon far better. We would both recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone. And I'm sure Piglet would approve too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a lovely night and meal at the pig in the forest. The setting, room and food was all perfect.
We stayed in the room called the Hen house, which has a big comfy bed and the most amazing bathroom ever. The restaurant serves high quality locally sourced food, you can even take a stroll around the kitchen garden, which is fab. The people are friendly, attentive and help create a nice relaxed atmosphere. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently had a meal for 6 (with 12week old baby in tow!) at the pig restaurant, brockenhurst and loved it. The setting is stunning, the staff friendly and warm and the food was fantastic. The pork chop on the block was huge and succulently delicious! A great time was had by all. The venue is amazing too, we had a nosy around and chilled out in one of the several lounges available. Great night out

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've entitled this Disappointed-again 2 because my expirience reflects almost exactly that of whoever posted on 17th October
Very odd that menus are handed out in the bar but the staff refuse to take the order until you are at the table
Food was average, my haddock chowder starter was good but the fried baby squid & chorizo was a disappointment. The baby squid were absent, battered calamari (although very small) was served instead, and the choizo was uncooked, all quite cold and on a cold plate. The waiter to whom this was mentioned made no understandable response. The menu described this as served with chilli, lemon, and tartare sauce dressing but other than a smear of what appeared to be mayonaise there was no evidence of it
I didn't bother with pudding although my wife declared the chocolate sponge to be delicious, and her risotto to be below the standard of our local pub
They are obviously doing something right as the place was very busy, but the noise in this tiled floor / heavily glazed restaurant made conversation difficult
Comfortable rooms and nice decor, but they have lost the quality offered by Whitley Ridge, as it was called in an earlier incarnation
Not particularly expensive, but 12.5% mandatary service charge is rather taking the p***.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband booked us two nights here to celebrate my 50th birthday on 20th and 21st November and it was divine luxury. The ethic behind the hotel is centred on it's food and sourcing produce from within a 25 mile radius. Also the hint is in the name The Pig, that pork does feature heavily on the menu but not solely all pork related dishes are available to choose from. We arrived on a particularly wet afternoon and as we opened the Entrance door the smell of burning log fires greets you with a cosy ambience and warmth. We had room no 14 a Comfy Luxe Room which was exceptionally spacious, with it's little Nespresso machine, kettle and a well stocked fridge with drinks in. We had a very comfortable King size bed and then a separate room with a huge wardrobe and chest of drawers so no lack of space to store and hang up clothing. There was a double sink in the bathroom and lots of cupboards and storage space for toiletries. A massive walk in shower and roll top bath also in this room. The hotel was lovely and warm and welcoming with lovely comfy sofas and chairs in the bar and lounge. The conservatory where you eat is really quirky and everywhere has understated soft lighting and really very relaxed so you don't have to dress up to the nines as the atmosphere is very laid back. Although there is only 26 rooms the restaurant is a thriving business which caters for non residents too. Booking would be advisable in advance which is what we did. The food was superb and the piggy bites (starters) a real nice touch. If you are a foodie you won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here. The staff are excellent, friendly and knowledgable about the produce and the menu. We will definitely be going back when we have the chance.

Room Tip: We loved the spaciousness of our Comfy Luxe Room that opens onto a courtyard and we found it excepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been to Limewood and loved it so wanted to try out The Pig, and although it's not as plush, it's not as pricey either. I fell in love with the ultra-stylish decor, the yummy food, the service, the quirky attention to detail in the rooms and the surrounding forest. We had the smallest room and even that was gorgeous - I wanted everything in there! Walk around the veg garden, read the papers in front of the roaring fire, swing on the extra-large swing, snuggle in bed and watch a DVD, have a cocktail and yummy dinner in the cool restaurant. You will love it too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is the baby sister of Lime Wood – with a little attitude! It is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment.......It’s really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden.... everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef – they grow and find the food – the chef then makes the menu. Our style is home grown in every way – breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won’t be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith and Orbitz so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.