We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pig to your Saves list
The Pig
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Casual Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Service was amateur the srak was not as ordered and the prices high the ambience good .What did I pay 12.5% service charge for??

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    231
    111
    52
    28
See reviews for
116
530
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed for a night last week at The Pig and thought it was lovely. We had the Pig Shed room in the old stable block and few minutes walk from the main house. The room was very comfortable, perhaps slightly on the small side, but just great. It had the most comfortable bed, lovely old radio and an amazing bathroom with huge roll top bath and double monsoon shower. Dinner was delicious, with an extensive wine list, and the service was perfect.
I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We loved the old stable block, as it was so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had lunch at The Pig to celebrate our wedding anniversary.We had a great time: the restaurant is very noisy, so don't go there if you want to have a long and very serious conversation about existentialism or the theories of Jurgen Habermas. Do go there if you want to have duck egg with black pudding and crispy bacon on an English Muffin s a starter -- this takes the Egg McMuffin to a whole new, and very posh, level. It was excellent. Our main courses (rib-eye steak and haunch of venison) were simply outstanding Our server (Caspar) was brilliantly good humoured, and knows his cheese.He deserves every penny of the 12.5% service charge added to our bill (£123 for three courses, with fizzy water and a nice bottle of pinot noir. There was no charge for bread even when we had an extra portion). The chef prides himself on source food from within 25 miles of his kitchen - something easily done in this part of the world. This works for everything except cheese. There are exceptional cheeses made in the south of England, but all a bit further away than 25 miles. The cheese board is worthy but a little dull.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I have just returned from 2 days staying at The Pig. The hotel is situated in a beautiful setting in the New Forest, close to plenty of local attractions and the public spaces in the hotel are real well done - a really friendly home from home sort of feel. I would also complement the staff who without exception were really welcoming and helpful. There is a 'but' though and that is the noise within the hotel. On my first night I stayed in room 11 and did not get any sleep at all. This is one of the rooms with air-conditioning and all night it whirred away with a loud motor noise being the most annoying bit. The air conditioning in the room was actually turned off, not that I or the night porter could make any sense of the control panel, but it was definitely off. When I complained the following morning, I understood that this was not the first time that this had been reported so I do not see why the room is then let to somebody who specifically requests a quiet room. In addition to this noise, whenever anyone used the external door below the room, it slammed loudly making the whole room shudder. I swapped to room 3 for the second night and happily there was no air-conditioning but the room was very warm, being above the sitting room, consequently I had to have the window open and was then disturbed by people laving the restaurant (a problem which has featured in other reviews of this hotel). The main problem with this room though was the noise whenever either of the neighbouring rooms flushed their toilets - it is lile an express train going past as they are pump driven (why, who knows?). I understand that the people behind this hotel are experienced hoteliers so find the lack of attention to the most basic requirement of any hotel (allowing their guests a good nights sleep) really surprising. I would note that the cost of breakfast was deducted from my bill on checking out, a gesture which was appreciated, but didn't really make up for a ruined short break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed for one night at The Pig, and absolutely loved it. We stayed in a block a little walk from the main house, in The Tack Room. Our room was small but perfectly formed, a lovely roll top bath and huge monsoon shower, lovely fluffy robes and towels to wrap up in. Our bed was huge, crisp white duvet and lovely velvet cushions. I loved the special touches like the old radio, old fashioned phone and gorgeous bathroom goodies. Honestly we didn't want to leave the room, it was just gorgeous - and even had a christmas wreath on the door!

We'd booked a room in the restaurant, and had a drink in the bar before, there are a few rooms where you can curl up in front of a fire, it makes it feel more like a house party than a hotel. Dinner was delicious - we had some crackling to start which was very more-ish, and my main of fish pie was delicious. Some of the reviews here complain about the service, and yes - its not 100% yet but all the staff are so charming and friendly that you can forgive service being a little slow sometimes. To be honest, its nice to take time over your meal and we were in no rush to hurry through our meal, so the sedate pace suited us..

Breakfast the next morning was again very good - lots to choose from (I went for the £10 continental breakfast) - we filled up on toast, granola, stewed fruit and all sorts. We had a quick look after the kitchen garden before we left, which was really interesting - they grow most of their own produce.

All in all The Pig is a really lovely hotel to escape to, the staff, food, room and public areas are lovely. There is a train line nearby, which we didn't actually hear until the next morning as we had our windows closed, but I imagine for light sleepers that might be a bit disturbing, but apart from that...i can't fault it. Just a lovely hotel, lovely team - I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

stayed with friends over a long weekend hotel was full
Asked for room with bath but most only have a shower
On arrival at 12.30pm sat in lounge and asked for drinks and sandwiches or similar only to be told could not serve until restaurant closed after lunch - how unusual and not helpful after long journey.
Lots of young staff and you get the impression there are no senior experienced staff.
The rooms are samll and ours was over the entrance (not one of the basic rooms) and very noisy and couldnt get to sleep until early hours because of people leaving cars and taxis arriving etc.
The floor boards are rough (my wife took the heel off her shoe in the bedroom- it went down a hole) and Iam sure someone will get a splinter in their foot before long so bring slippers as none are provided.
The restaurant is "quirky" and as previously described nothing matches and rough tables - which still need to be cleaned! We had dinner which was nothing special and you cannot reserve a particular table although we asked and were told no but when we were shown in we asked to be seated on a particular table only to be told yes you have guessed it was was reserved - double standards.
Breakfast was excellent (at extra cost as they do not do B&B rates) however the self service bread to slice had no cloth and was touched by many guests hands - a health hazard which was pointed out the first morning but not rectified on subsequent mornings. Service was poor we were the 3rd party to be seated for breakfast and our tea coffee did not arrive for 2o minutes after the order was taken (8 subsequent guests got theirs before us despite two separate enquiries as to the delay) We have nearly finished our breakfast before it arrived.
In summary good hotel, good location and lots of room for improvement but early days.

Room Tip: Not over the entrance or the back patio - not much choice left?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

A lovely setting and a beautiful place, check in was great then a visit to the bar after unpacking, again a nice experience. Then the restaurant, well this turned out to be basically fast food with no time to take a breath between ordering, starter, then main. We became convinced that there was another sitting but this was reported as not the case. Starter came out (a terrine) cold as ice cream straight out of the fridge so tasteless. Main was mediocre with bright red mash as a feature (a little odd) eventually impressed on waitress we would like a short break then served ice cold cheese with icy grapes and chutney so again tasteless. Wine was nice but 125 quid for a meal with one bottle of wine at 25 quid I expected much better.Queen bed turnd out to be two singles pushed together and one large quilt. Last straw was a lot of noise until 01:30 due to the courtyard outside being populated by noisy smokers. So to sum it up not quite what we expected and not worth the premium price for the restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 or anything else on the RHS due to noisy courtyard if you want peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is the baby sister of Lime Wood – with a little attitude! It is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment.......It’s really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden.... everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef – they grow and find the food – the chef then makes the menu. Our style is home grown in every way – breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won’t be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.