We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmer Lawn

Save Saved
You added Balmer Lawn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Brockenhurst
DEVON
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice welcoming hotel, we only stayed two nights and booked in on passing, the staff were all very welcoming and attentive.
We stayed the middle of march and mid week the hotel was quiet but not deserted, the evening meals and breakfast were excellent, drinks a little expensive!!
The room was clean and tidy but a bit rough around the edges, chipped paint and worn furniture, in the bathroom soap scumm on the tile grout, the radiator in the bedroom had no temperature valve on it so it was either on or off, only little things but Not what you would expect in a four star hotel.
Looking at photos of other rooms we may have been in the only room that needed doing up?
All in all a nice friendly hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

As a family owned hotel refurbishment is a bit like 'The Forth Bridge'! Please accept my apologies that the room you stayed in was looking a bit tired in places. Should you wish to stay with us again in the future, maybe take a look at our 'Look Before You Book' facility on our website. If you book with this facility you will be guaranteed the room of your choice. Each room is priced individually and in accordance to it's merits.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and I do hope that we may get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    181
    70
    55
    39
See reviews for
168
309
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at The Balmer Lawn Hotel and took our dog with us. The hotel was listed as 'Dog Friendly' but we were pleasantly surprised by how welcoming all the staff were. Everyone was so pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely and the food in both the Restaurant and Lounge Bar was outstanding. We had a great time, our dog had a great time - will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that both you, and your dog, enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were very excited for our night at the Balmer Lawn! I booked over the phone with a very helpful lady called Lois (I think?) and booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis.

Unfortunately our weekend was quite disastrous though none of this was the fault of the Balmer Lawn!
Our car broke down about a mile away from the hotel and my partner and I ended up pushing it the rest of the way to the hotel. Luckily we were greeted by a beautiful hotel and the Concierge on reception was very empathetic and helpful. The grand staircase was lovely.
We were given room 48 which was on the front of the hotel and it was beautiful. It was newly decorated and had everything you needed. A great big comfy bed, lots of pillows, a decent sized tv and a decent bathroom which was nice and warm. The room was spotless.

Unfortunately I was then taken ill shortly before dinner which was a nightmare. The staff however were brilliant and cancelled our dinner reservation and removed it from our bill and my partner had room service instead. He had the belly pork and bread and butter pudding which was exceptional and made us feel even worse that we hadn't been able to eat in the restaurant!
The following morning I was still very unwell so my partner had breakfast alone, which he said was really good. The concierge on reception was again excellent and was very helpful with our car and illness issues.
I highly regret not getting his name as he was so helpful and couldn't do enough for us. I will be writing to the hotel to thank him.
We can't wait to come back to the hotel again so we can enjoy our stay properly as the hotel was perfect!

Room Tip: room 48 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am so sorry that you didn't get a relaxing break with us, what with car troubles and illness but am pleased to hear that the team here did their best to help you through this.

I do hope that we will get the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, hopefully with no car problems or illness on that occasion!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everything about Balmer Lawn is great. The staff were very welcoming, the gym and pool were lovely and the food was exceptional. Definitely book in to stay but cross your fingers you had better weather than we did :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's just a pity we can't control the weather!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and hopefully the weather will be kinder if you do!

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a wonderful treat. Afternoon tea for our mum, fabulous cakes and sandwiches, lovely cup of tea pot refreshed with more tea, and wonderful attentive staff. No problem with the wheel chair. will definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent afternoon tea at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much, and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

There wasn't anything negative with our one-night stay at Balmer Lawn. The service was exceptional and the food was very good, especially breakfast. Our room (No. 7) was large, helped by a bay window (not all rooms have one) and very clean. The indoor pool area was very nice and great for our toddler daughter. My only reservation with giving Balmer Lawn an "excellent" rating was the price of the stay. I have stayed at a much nicer properties with more amenities for less, so the overall value is only on the average side.

Room Tip: Room 7 is one of the cheaper four-poster bedrooms, but has a bay window for extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You should now be entered onto our mailing list so will receive the benefit of more competitive rates in the future should you wish to return.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Balmer Lawn as a birthday treat and it was lovely. The hotel had upgraded us to a suite (room 27) which was wonderful, clean, spacious and a fantastic view of the forest. We enjoyed a great breakfast on both mornings and dinner on the Sunday evening which was excellent although the restaurant was a little quiet. The swimming pool was lovely, small but warm and clean. We also enjoyed a lovely cream tea in the lounge on Sunday afternoon which was delicious and good value. All in all a very successful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBirrell, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us at the Balmer Lawn.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

K Birrell - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#5 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star New Forest Hotel set in the heart of the New Forest National Park in Hampshire. The Balmer Lawn is a family-owned country house hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Leisure, wedding and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmer Lawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.