We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why winge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Park Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“why winge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed for the weekend ( no previous booking ) just up'd and went . Really dont understand the wingeing reviews , unless they are just put out of spite , true this place needs a bit of a makeover, but as we went for the forest and attractions , The room was perfect for showering and sleeping. , what do people want for £90 a night with breakfast , which is lovely , with plenty of choice , and nicely presented .We had dinner on the first night which was very nice indeed . Take no notice of the woefull wingers . Go find out for yourself , its got a great location,staff are helpful and pleasant , we will be back . (Tracey & Russell )

Room Tip: Room 14 has a nice view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    125
    83
    53
    58
See reviews for
76
185
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked to stay in this hotel a couple of weeks ago so that we wouldn't have to travel back from a friend's nearby wedding. The first thing I need to say is that when I read the recent reviews I was worried, but thankfully these proved to be totally unjustified. The hotel is full of character and the staff are very friendly. We stayed in a family room which was clean, well decorated and very spacious. The bathroom was huge for an ensuite! And whilst being dated it was clean and the shower was hot. The hotel is right in the New Forest and in keeping with the area. We had a lovely walk followed by a sit in the gardens. Breakfast was not a dissapointment either and there was plenty to choose from. The new Management are fully aware that some of the rooms can be improved and some work is in progress, in the meantime they offer you a free drink in the bar and very competive rates. I have stayed in plenty of hotels and I honestly couldn't fault it. If you want to stay in an ultra-modern hotel with every mod-con then go to the city. But if you want to stay in a lovely (and clean) hotel full of character with wild ponies on your doorstep then I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were heading to Lymington in search of a light meal and came across this hotel with the notice "food served all day". As there was also a notice which advertised hours when food was being served (not all day!) we thought we would check it out anyway. We made our way through to the bar where we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful barmaid. We ordered a couple of prawn baguettes which came with garnish and chips and a cheese platter that wasn't on the bar menu but was just what we had in mind. The jug of pimms served 3 of us generously and came with plenty of fruit. It is true the hotel is rather dated and the receptionist did seem busier flicking off sites which didn't look to be totally work-related rather than attending to the reception desk but overall our experience was extremely positive. Perhaps this hotel does lack an eye for detail, and the work in progress does make it difficult to negotiate in places but I can definitely recommend it for bar food, there is no problem with parking and the ladies toilets were immaculate!

Room Tip: didn't stay at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the outside it seemed it could only get better. It got worse on walking through the door. Sluggish reception. Took twenty minutes to get a room key. On reflection if it had taken 18 hours then I wouldn't have stayed there, which would have been delightful. The only modern thing about the room was the electronic door security lock. Extremely dated furnishings and a couple of sash windows that were most insistent on staying open. The sink had more chips than a Glaswegian fish and chip shop; and the shower was probably more complicated to operate than the space shuttle on landing - it offered super saturated steam or I could have indulged in a torrent of glacier run off! The room had not seen a spring clean since the Second World War ended and I was sorely tempted to ring David Dickenson to come round and value the furniture. At 0400 in the morning my partner could no longer stay in the uncomfortable bed so climbed out of the dining room window to walk round the garden and see if she could start the ride on lawnmower. Sadly she could not but full marks to the night porter who met her climbing out of the window with a lavish display of security attentiveness. As nikibar1 says, 'don’t do it'. Overpriced but they are surrounded by the beauty of the New Forest. So, get a tent and sleep in it, which I assure you will provide a more enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As the weather has recently been lovely, we decided to make the most of it and head away for the weekend, as it was a last minute decision, there were few hotels available in the New Forest, so we ended up at the Forest Park hotel.

The advertised tennis court, is currently being used as a car park for the hotel, not a great first impression.

Our room was ok, very basic and the door to the bathroom was something out of the 70s, a sliding door which made an horrific sound when you closed the door (we had to agree not to shut the door when going to the toilet in the night as it would have woken the other person up).

The shower was just lousy, I'm glad I didn't have to wash my hair whilst there, I think it would have taken 10 minutes to get my hair thoroughly wet, let alone rinse it.

The worse part of the whole experience was the breakfast! The English breakfast arrived, it looked ok. When I cut into the sausage, a massive load of fat and grease exploded out of the sausage and hit my left breast. My top is completely ruined by the amount of grease which hit it. After this, I could not eat the rest of the breakfast - beans just about warm, bacon with so much rind on it, it would probably give you a heart attack if you ate it, and at least 3 teaspoons of grease came out of the sausage. It was simply gross!!!

When we checked out we mentioned this to the staff and received the comment "oh sorry about that"!

For £140 a night, this was a complete rip off and I would never stay there again, sleeping in your car would be more preferable!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only stay here if you have no where else to go. We booked a double room and was disappointed as soon as we opened the door. To say the room was dated is an understatement, but that wouldn't have bothered us so much if it had been clean! There were cobwebs, wall paper peeling off the walls, mold in the bathroom, stains on the carpet, chairs and bedding. Was a very unpleasant experience and the only reason I am writing this review is to try and save anyone else waisting their hard earned cash on such an out of date and grubby hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I visited the Forest Park Hotel for a Sunday lunch with my family. This is a stunning location in the heart of the New Forest. We found the staff to be very attentive and when we mentioned special dietry needs for my daughter the Hotel Manager stepped in to see that we were all able to enjoy our meal to the full. Overall we had a very enjoyable experience and will be returning before long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.