We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking cancelled 4 hours before check in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Park Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booking cancelled 4 hours before check in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was due to stay at this hotel today 4th May 2013, but my booking was cancelled at the very last minute when we were already almost in the New forest. Due to it being a bank holiday weekend, there was no alternative accomadation to stay at a resonable cost. With a 14 month old baby we could not take the risk of having no where to stay. The hotel staff did not except responibitly for this error & we were told they " did not close the dates properly". I found the receptionist very unpolite & was not willing to appolgise for this error. If fact they blamed being taken over by another company. I was offered compensation by the third party booking provider only & was not offered by the hotel, when this was soley there error. Very dissapointing as we were looking forward to this break for a long time, and will not get another opportunity for some time. Looking at previous reviews of this hotel I was worried & my fears were confimed. I would aviod this hotel at all cost, just because the staff had no compasion, were very rude & too argumentative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    125
    83
    53
    58
See reviews for
76
185
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my elderly mum.
Good points: room was warm,beds were comfy,good location.breakfast ok
Bad points:very poor state of repair. Paper peeling off walls and ceilings in bedroom. Carpet badly stained. TV so small it was difficult to watch. Staff untrained/unhelpful. Shower dreadful. Advertised as having wifi but when I spoke to front desk I was told with a shrug that they had just taken it away! first evening we weren't hungry so just wanted a starter each. They wanted to charge us £25 for two pieces of melon. Again, young man in charge of restaurant just shrugged. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and i have just returned from a two night break, at Forest Park Hotel which was a gift from our daughter via Buy a gift. We are extremely disappointed. The room was very dirty, ie dust everywhere, i found nail clippings on the carpet, the bathroom floor was very dirty, the bedding and towels were stained, the matress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The shower just dribbled out, but was scolding hot, so could not was my hair, as i would not have been able to rince the shampoo out properly. At breakfast the cereal dishes were dirty, the toaster didn.t toast the bread properly,and thing kept running out, and we had to wait quite a while for them to be replaced.Having said all of that the breakfast was o.k. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening as it was expensive, so we found a nice pub within walking distance instead. On the plus side, the setting was perfect. However although you don.t go to the New Forest to stay in the hotel for long, you do ecpect it to be clean.

Room Tip: Pick a CLEAN one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break.
The good points: Friendly, helpful staff...nice quiet, comfortable room...great location...parking available.
Bad points: Stains on bedroom carpet and on the non-slip mat in the shower...scalding boiling hot water - very difficult to actually have a shower because of this...cheap economy baked beans for breakfast and plate was floating in water.
Other than all that - the New Forest is beautiful and well worth a visit.
I would definitely go back to the New Forest, but would probably stay in a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just back from a two night stay at this hotel...a gift experience present from our daughters .Having read previous reviews good and bad, I went with an open mind and wasn't disappointed .The hotel has a lot of history and is a beautiful building ...Yes..it does need some renovation ...but it needs to be sympathetically done and won't happen overnight . The ceiling in our room was badly in need of repair...but you don't go somewhere like the New Forest to spend all your time in your room.
The hotel has pretty gardens,lovely to look out and see ponies and cattle wandering up and down the road and the village of Brockenhurst is only ten minutes walk away and has good pubs and eateries . We had a comfy bed,loads of hot water,TV with lots of channels and tea/coffee making facilities .The breakfast was good and staff very pleasant ..I would recommend it .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at this hotel. We found a lovely hotel, steeped in history and ideally situated for the new forest, in fact a walk away. The room was pretty and had a door to the garden. Breakfast had everything you could want. The hotels main asset was its staff, helpful and happy, always willing to help. This hotel is a three star hotel with three star prices, so you get what you pay for. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked the forest park as we wanted a new forest hotel and had a 241 voucher from buyagift. Having read the reviews I was sceptical but most had said it was clean and to be frank I can put up with a little tatty paper on the walls. When we arrived we were early for check in but the staff were very helpful and had a room for us by 1230. Having booked a double when we walked into a twin we returned to reception and asked for an exchange. Again, very helpfully our room was exchanged for a superior double. There were no towels but we were told they would be in by 2pm. We went straight out for a walk and returned around 6pm. We went to the bar and besides the dreadful smell, it seemed ok. However, the non alcoholic beer we ordered was over a year out of date! When we took it back, the manager simply asked if it tasted ok! Not the expected response! Heading back to our room I started to run the bath water-then I found broken glass in the bath tub-alarm bells started to ring, I check the room and found more glass by the bed. We investigated a bit further, the room was filthy, carpet thick with hair, dust everywhere we didn't even want to check the bed sheets. We simply couldn't stay in the room, we both felt we'd rather loose the voucher money than sleep in that bed. Heading to reception, Gordon the duty manager was extremely helpful and booked another hotel in the chain for us. We left as quickly as possible and wouldn't return. We are really not fussy types but this was literally beyond belief. It's not just out of date and in need of refurb, it's unhygienic and dirty. The only redeeming feature were the front of house staff and the good location. Please don't bother.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.