We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable weekend away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Park Hotel to your Saves list
Forest Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
March, Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable weekend away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a very welcome and very comfortable weekend in The New Forest. Beccy had bought a 2 night weekend away from Boots for my 2011 Christmas present and we decided to take the break during the last weekend in November at The Forest Park Hotel. First impressions were very good, the Hotel in a nice size and is situated on the outskirts of Brockenhurst. The Hotel has a lovely big back garden which would be perfect for weddings and there are stables situated immediately next to the Hotel if you wish to ride.

On entrance to the hotel we were greeted with a roaring fire and a lovely smiling receptionist who welcomed us. Check in was smooth. We were allocated to Room 11 which was on the first floor. Our room was large and suitably furnished. The bathroom was good sized with shower in the bath. The bits which were amusing in a negative sense is the loo seat looked as if it had been fitted by an irish navvy after a sale of guinness...... lets just say it was on the lean, and the arm chair in the room was tired and grubby, but we aimed just to use the Hotel as a place to sleep. The bed was comfy, the shower worked well and we were happy with our surroundings.

Our deal was room only so we didn't take breakfast, however we did use the bar and noticed that a large number of locals used the bar and it had a lovely friendly feel to it (and the beer was kept well!!).

The service of the staff was really good, the public areas well decorated and well looked after. The rest of the hotel looked in need of a face lift and a general tidy up, but honestly the feel of the hotel is that of a comfy old shoe, you could easily stay in there for a while.

Last comment the staff are fantastic, and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Hotel at the front look over the forest, at the back overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    125
    83
    53
    58
See reviews for
76
185
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Groupon deal, read the reviews and thought oh and feared the worst, however !!
On arrival, it was well lit, I managed to park opposite the front and there was a lovely log fire burning as you walked in. Check in was smooth and staff were pleasant.
We had room 102 on the ground floor and whilst there is need for some refurbishment, the main facilities were fine. There were some damp patches by the window side, a few bits of peeling paper and the kettle would not switch off but they were immaterial things.
The room was large, clean and lovely and warm (ideal after a walk on the forest) and it kept a nice temperature throughout the night..The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was nice and clean and the water was piping hot morning and evening.
We had doors leading onto the back lawn area which was well kept and ideal for smokers like me.
The hotel is in an ideal location,directly opposite a few steps is the forest and plenty of ponies to see and not too far to drive to other towns.
We had breakfast included and there was plenty to choose from including continental and full english (which was ordered on the saturday morning but buffet style help yourself on the sunday)
All in all we had a great weekend despite the weather, were lovely and warm throughout our stay and would return to the hotel again.
Just one thing, the fire alarm went off at 05.30 hours but was good to know it worked (False alarm thankfully)

Room Tip: We had room 102 and although there were a couple of dated decor bits, we were warm throughout and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My sister and i have just spent the weekend at this hotel.
We found it very welcoming with a lovely Log fire on entering.Our room was warm,clean and comfortable with lashing of hot water.
The Breakfast was plentiful Cereals,fruit,toast.full English,And we found the staff very helpful and charming.
The Hotel is situated in a prime spot ideal for the Forest,also Shopping.
We will be booking again for next year with out fail.
Teresa and Yvonne

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On arrival the hotel looked as though the outside needed a major refurbishment, but on entering the lobby it was quite inviting with comfy settes etc.Polite staff greeted us at reception.The room ( 4 )was large and very warm with large double bed,however the bathroom needed a facelift ,shower curtain very grubby at bottom & bath sealant in poor condition, enamel wash basin had a number of surface chips .A days work for a good tradesman would transform.
In all a great location let down by decor and shabby exterior.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 15th November and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.True the Hotel does need some TLC, but it is charming all the same.The open fire is lovely as you come through the front door.However the real star here is the chef who cooked our steak to perfection.The homemade chips and onion rings were great.Well done and Thank you !.Breakfast was really good also,and we had ours in the cocktail bar next to reception as we had the dog with us.The very helpful Asian lady made a table up especially for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed on 16/11 , primarily because they allow dogs to stay in the hotel,and we were a little apprehensive having read some of the reviews.
The entrance to the hotel is very welcoming and cosy with a big log fire and friendly atmosphere.
Check in was very efficient and straightforward and the chap on reception was very courteous and helpful. We stayed in room 1 which is on the ground floor, (Great for the dog!). The room was a good size and clean and bright as was the bathroom. Unfortunately the shower cubicle had been fitted with a fold down seat, which in itself is great if you need it but it doesn't fold all the way back up and renders a third of the shower cubicle useless! Also the shower curtain was very white and clean until the bottom where it was an unattractive shade of yellow. The sealant in and around the shower tray could do with cleaning or redoing too. The bathroom in the main was a good size and very clean but was let down by small things that would make a real difference and wouldn't cost much to put right.
The bedroom was also a good size and clean, but the net curtains at the lovely big bay windows are shredded. Again, looks poor but could so easily be put right.
We really enjoyed the bar food in the evening and breakfast was great and again the service was faultless. In all, a very enjoyable stay in a tired but curiously charming hotel. The quality of the service and the efforts of the staff are slightly overshadowed by a lack of attention to detail, but having said that we will be back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, but there wasn't too much noise from anywhere really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, we arrived at about 8pm. We spent 10 minutes trying to find the hotel car park as there is a parking layby at the front however this was full, then we noticed a small sign saying was a car park down road behind hotel...

Walking from car park into hotel was quite dark although there was flood lights it seemed they were not working.
As you walk into hotel reception you are greeted by a roaring log fire which was welcoming.

We stayed in room 109.. The room was basic had tv and tea and coffee facility..

The same situation where some of the lamps weren't working and the room wasn't clean to a high standard as behind curtains you could see cob webs.

The bed wasn't the comfiest ... I could feel every spring in the mattress.

The bathroom was ok although when having a shower as the door didn't close properly you found that the water had ran down the glass door onto the bathroom floor.

Meals at the hotel were on the high end of budget.. We only had breakfast which was £12 and whatever items you chose you only had 1 of each items...
We took a look at the menu for evening meals £20 for main meal was a bit expensive for us.. The menu was A la cartè.

Overall the hotel was ok for what we wanted but if your looking for a place to stay more than a couple of nights I'm sure there are better places in the forest.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Park Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst S042 7ZG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An independently owned hotel, which is perfectly located within the heart of the New Forest and only a very short stroll from Brockenhurst Village. Built originally in the late 19th century to serve as a vicarage, our sprawling mock tudor hotel is being retouched with a tasteful blend of contemporary and traditional style to complement the impressive building and its outstanding location.The New Forest is a haven for walkers and cyclists, many of whom manage glimpses of fast-vanishing deer, wild ponies and wandering cattle or catch the soft sounds of the elusive New Forest cicada.We offer guests an English countryside getaway with helpful and considerate service, tranquil gardens, exquisite locally sourced food, including a truly great Sunday Lunch, combined with a real sense of relaxation. We would be delighted to welcome you to our hotel in the New Forest where our animal friendly staff will ensure your 'best friend' is treated as well as you are. With excellent links to the A35, the Forest Park Hotel is the perfect location for a romantic retreat, leisure activity, corporate event or business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Park Brockenhurst
Hotel Forest Park
Forest Park Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.