We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broad Oak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broad Oak
Save
You added Broad Oak to your Saves list
Broadlands, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7SX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked Broad Oaks as it seemed like a slightly different way of doing a B and B and we wanted to give it a try - a great decision.

After a very warm welcome from Sue we were shown to our room.The Magic Carpet suite was superb, the comfiest bed I've ever slept on and we were pleased to have a sofa, a table for two and our own bathroom. The room is tucked away at the top of the house ensuring privacy if you want it - however, Sue and her family went all out to help us, giving us lifts to the Pig.

Instead of cooking breakfast every day Sue offers a fridge stocked with goodies; cake, cheese, bacon, eggs etc to let you do your own thing. This suited us as we made our own breakfast inour own time and snacked when we were hungry.

The house is beautifully situated off the road an easy 10 min walk to the town centre/pubs. It was perfect for walking, hiking and eating which is about all we managed on holiday.

I'd recommend anyone to stay here - if we explore the New Forest again I'd definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The Magic Carpet is larger and has a very comfy bed, but the princess and the pea bed is magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in Broad Oak in June of this year after all the amazing reviews and it really did live up to our expectations, and more. We stayed in the princess and the pea suite which actually has a bed that's raised several feet from the ground! The house itself is set in a beautiful residential area full of tall trees and other greenery, it felt very secluded and was so peaceful. Sue and Mike make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive and couldn't have done more for us to make our stay so enjoyable. We even got taken on a tour to the local walking trails and forest land. As mentioned in other reviews you hardly need to venture out of your room for food - the fridge is packed full when you arrive, so are the cupboards and shelves, with foods that you have pre picked, and some extra treats. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. There are many quirky things about the house that I don't want to go into otherwise it might spoil the surprise for others! Overall we had an amazing stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We chanced upon this place - but how lucky we were. It is fantastic. Like a b&b, but instead of providing a cooked breakfast, they provide a kitchen stocked full of food, and you can make anything you like. Its ideally located, and the family, headed by sue, add their unique flavour to the stay. It's eccentrically done, but with so much thought and passion, you can't help feeling great. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Broad Oak is only a 10 minute walk to the village centre, but tucked away from any main roads. It is an ideal location to go walking/cycling/exploring in the New Forest.

We stayed in the Princess & the Pea suite for a couple of nights for our anniversary. The room was beautiful; a magnificent wooden bed, the highest I've seen with steps leading to the wonderful soft mattress. The room itself was clean and fresh with a lovely view, with lots of tasteful and quirky decorations. The separate bathroom had a bath and electric shower, both with instant hot water and a large selection of shampoos, shower gels etc. The kitchen was well equipped with a portable convection oven, grill/microwave and stove. The cupboards and fridge and freezer were full of delights - fresh eggs, cheeses, ham, salmon, rice, vegetables, cakes and lots more, enough for a week really. It was a marvel to behold and felt like a home away from home.

Sue was very helpful, and brought us a local paper and some info about the village, and even drove to a restaurant and helped us book a table when we couldn't get through by phone. She also picked us up and dropped us back to the train station.

When we were in, the room was very quiet and we weren't disturbed at all, when we went out we found that we had been topped up with more food for when we got back.

A fantastic, cosy place to stay with a lovely ambience and we would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I always mean to write reviews when I stay some where I like but I don't normally get around to it. Until now! My girlfriend booked this lovely B&B for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary. She couldn't have made a better choice. This is run by the most helpful and enthusiastic person imaginable. Sue picked us up from the station, gave us a tour of the local area (showed us some lovely walks), dropped us to the beach on a beautiful hot sunny day, filled the fridge with food she knew we liked, and generally made us feel very welcome. A lovely person running a lovely place (and there's some nice cider in the local pubs!)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

It usually takes me an age to write a Tripadvisor review but you must know about Sue and Mike.

Imagine staying with the most cherished member of your family, and being provided with an array of food, transport and wonderful stories! This is what's in store for you.

The New Forest is amazing and Mike+Sue are a special couple with an beautiful house, which will be yours for as long as you wish to stay in this magical place.

We will be returning and telling all our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is our idea of the perfect place to stay - lovely room, personal (lovely, friendly, helpful people), fresh (not worn-out or industrial hotel furnishings), characterful, good food, well located...wonderful!
We stayed in the Magic Carpet Suite which is a large bright room with sofa, table and chairs (from Chewton Glen) as well as a small kitchen area with a well-stocked fridge and store cupboard. We really enjoyed just being there. Sue doesn't cook breakfast. Instead she supplies everything you might want to make your own. We had smoked salmon, duck eggs, raspberries, yoghurt, cereal and much more. She even asks you beforehand what you like and encourages you to eat whatever you like whenever you want. It gives a whole new meaning to 'all day breakfast'! You get all the benefits of a great B&B as well as the convenience and saving of not having to eat out. So relaxing!
The location is excellent - central for the New Forest; direct access for cycling off-road; shops, train and cycle hire an easy walk away. The house is at the end of a small lane so there is no traffic noise. Satellite view shows a few houses nearby but when you get there they are hidden by trees and you hardly know they exist.
We booked for two nights and stayed for three. Absolutely fantastic. Thank you, Sue.

Room Tip: Talk to Sue! She even tailors the decor to suit your mood. The Magic Carpet Suite is the largest wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broad Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broad Oak

Address: Broadlands, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly sited off forest track, in large country house, short stroll to village (mainline and bike hire). Privacy and freedom in 2 unique and charming en-suites: The Princess and The Pea & The Magic Carpet - sometimes a 3rd - The Romany Vardo - is also available. A bottle of wine on arrival. Own Microwaves, well stocked shelves and 'magic' fridges(& freezer sections)filled with definitely More-Than very generous provisions, savouries and naughtybutnices to eat when you will. See our substantial provision list. Wake whenever, in a superbly comfortable king bed. Give us an insight into your own or your beloved's taste and we'll aim to tailor your soft furnishings to suit.Cost is absolutely all-inclusive NB: If you would also like us to provide an Induction hob and small Halogen oven, just ask - and we will assuredly supply them. The Rating Officer (of Properties) has advised that by following this simple procedure we will avoid the serious financial consequences of a Rating reclassification. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broad Oak Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broad Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.