We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Sunday lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Snakecatcher

The Snakecatcher
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
+44 1590 622348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 52 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Poor Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ordered 2 Sunday lunches today. Arrived Luke warm and veg's were raw. Cold plates wouldn't have helped. Even after returning the food for reheating it still came back luke warm. Our perception is that the priority was to the stoneplate meals rather than Sunday lunch. Resented paying £35 for 2 * cold Sunday lunches.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    154
    54
    25
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hot Stonesssszzz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A lovely village pub with friendly staff, good atmosphere and great food.

We had to try the steak on the hot stones and were not disappointed. It's great to see the food cook inf front of you, keeps it piping hot too.

Food presentation was excellent as was quality.

If you are a steak lover this is highly recommended, although if you have vegetarians in your party it may be off putting to them as the steak comes out virtually raw.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good service. Very average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went here for lunch today. Arrived at 12.30 and hadn't booked. We took the last free table.

Service was quick and helpful. We both had sirloin steak at £18 a go. Not worth the money. Steak was cheap, fatty and full of gristle. Under cooked ( asked for medium and served very rare)

Food was barely hot and generally a forgettable experience. We have been meaning to go there since we moved near by last year, there are much better places locally, won't be hurrying back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pub where the locals are still eating - always a good sign!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Elements of the menu rise to 'gastro pub' status - all the specials (esp, the cod) were outstanding, these stand alongside great pub classics, fish and chips, steaks and fish pie all of which were delicious.
Service friendly and welcoming, locals along side tourists and a pub where a pint is still OK to have without eating. If we had stayed longer it would have got a second visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Lunch time pit stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Lovely friendly staff and great food and beer, thanks. We are looking forward to coming back and trying the hot stone dining. We popped in at around 2pm and there was a lovely roaring fire and busy, friendly atmosphere. If we didn't have to get to our next destination we would have definitely spent longer there. A stones throw from the station, I would consider popping up for lunch on the train!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snakecatcher also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 
Sway, Brockenhurst
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Snakecatcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Snakecatcher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.