We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Filly Inn

The Filly Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brockenhurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Filly Inn
Save
You added The Filly Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lymington Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I eat her over 20 years ago, been for late lunch today and it was fab, service the front of house staff all excellent.
Abit pricey for lunch I thoughtcrime £11.95, but after having local sourced vegetables and meat I couldn't grumble to be honest. Would go back to morning to sample more of the menu

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    16
    7
    16
See reviews for
34
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped off here for a spot of lunch, Sat 05th Oct ... there were 6 of us on our way down through the New Forest so never been here before.... it was really very good ! The whole place was clean and tidy, the menu was extensive, the service was quick and attentive .... the food ? We all had the various sandwiches and it was 5*, really, it was lovely pub grub and so without any doubt I would recommend The Filly !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is one I would highly recommend to anyone, the food & service was superb. The staff very friendly and helpful.
The pub and rooms are kept very clean and tidy, and we where made very welcome.
The location was ideal for walkers & cyclists and only a short trip form Brockenhurst and Lymington.

Room Tip: room 3 has on suite, was over the back away from the road but the road was quite over night anyway,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we have just had a short stay at the filly wish we were there for longer but we will be back, it was just lovely everthing from staff to food and accomadation . thank you all. we stayed in room 2 faceing the front which had a lovely view of open forest road was a bit noisey but did,nt bother us. our steak meal in the evening was just great.

Room Tip: room 2 lovely veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely feel to it as soon as you walk in. Staff friendly and helpful. Dogs and children no problem at all. Food great. Only improvement would be if they had kiddy cutlery! Will def be back during future new forest holidays!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights and as the title says, it was just ok. We had originally booked two rooms and had to cancel one but on checking in there was confusion as to what refund we had received. We were then asked to pay the balance then and there. Never had this happen before so overall not the best start to our stay. It was agreed, however, that we could pay after the evening meal. We were able to use the car park while we went off for the day and they were very accommodating in allowing us to leave some clothes so they didn't get damp in the car.

The bedroom was fine with a large en suite but the toilet seat didn't want to keep still and there was nowhere to put all our toiletries, just one small shelf. The bathroom could easily accommodate a storage unit. The milk supplied in the little cartons was whole milk, would have been nice to have some semi or even skimmed. The room was noisy, we could hear coughing from next door and constant music from the downstairs areas. The bed was comfortable.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant and apart from the high cost of the draft cider, the food was very good.

Breakfast was between 8.30 and 9 am. The only cereal selection was Dorset museli and although very good quality if you like it, I do not. No other cereal was available and I was offered croissants or yogurt as an alternative which I declined. However on our second morning there were other cereals available. Would have been nice to have yogurt and fresh fruit available as standard. No toast offered apart from which came with the cooked breakfast.

The wifi was very intermittent but understand a better signal may have been obtained downstairs but we didn't try.

There were a few cobwebs round the inside windows and the outside window sills needed a good clean but that could just be me being fussy!!

We wouldn't stay again. However we would dine there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

5 of us ( and our dog) booked for Sunday lunch. We were given a great table in a corner where we could tuck our dog away. The staff were very friendly when we arrived. The roast dinner was really good and would have deserved 5 star rating but.......we then ordered deserts! One of our party ordered a strawberry frangipan tart. She was told that it was served with cream and she asked if she could have ice cream instead of cream. The waiter told her that she could only have ice cream if we paid for a separate portion of ice cream. This seemed ridiculous and would have made the cost of the desert almost as much as a main course. It seemed a shame and so petty that cream could not simply be swapped for a small scoop of ice cream and unfortunately it was a negative end to our meal.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire L, Owner at The Filly Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the experience in most part. I thank you also for highlighting the problem with the dessert as this is an issue that has raised its head before but not dealt with properly by ourselves.
We have a small charge for upgrades to meals in some part but some have not yet been put onto our new till system. The adding of extra ice cream is one of these and so the waiter has given you the price of a single scoop dessert which would greatly increase the cost. I will get this updated asap so that you will no longer get a shock when you ask for a little extra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Filly Inn

Address: Lymington Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Hotel Class:4 star — The Filly Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Filly Hotel Brockenhurst
The Filly Inn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Filly Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.