We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairway House Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairway House Guest House to your Saves list
Fairway House Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Downs View, Bude EX23 8RF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 50 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Sussex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Truly the best guest house we've ever stayed in. We were made to feel so welcome and the whole place just has a lovely feel. Fantastic room overlooking the golf course with an extremely well fitted en suite, both a great size. Very comfy bed and a whole host of extras, even the hospitality tray was exceptional. Breakfast superb. Mike & Karen, the owners, definitely go the extra mile, can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
132
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit this year to Fairway House, and in our opinion the best Guest House we have ever stayed in. Karen and Mike can't do enough for their guests, nothing is too much trouble,whether you want breakfast early or you arrive late, they help you in anyway they can. The breakfasts are superb, such a selection and extremely well cooked (thanks to Mike). The rooms are very nicely decorated and are spotless, and the location of Fairway is close to the beach and the town, so don't need to use the car to get around Bude. Have already booked for next year and can't wait.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, and have stayed in most of them. Just slightly cooler in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and found it to be an enjoyable experience. The welcome was friendly and the breakfast room had a good friendly relaxed atmosphere (breakfast was good too, with lots of options for those who don't think they can manage a full cooked English breakfast).

Our room was on the top floor and had a nice view of the golf course. The B&B itself was just far enough out of the main town to be peaceful and quiet without feeling isolated. We could walk into the town and get to the beaches easily. Parking was on the road and was not a problem, we managed to get a space really close by.

The room we had did get a bit warm as the sun was out, but we didn't find it uncomfortably hot and by the time it was time to go to bed it had cooled down. We had our own private bathroom (not en-suite) and I was a bit unsure how this would work but it was all fine. There is a lock on the door and the top-floor isn't busy if you needed to pop across the corridor at night in your pajamas. The bathroom looked recently renovated and was really big, the shower worked well and some thought had gone into what to provide in the rooms.

We enjoyed our stay here and I would recommend this to family and friends.

Room Tip: The room we had at the front & top of the building got a bit hot in the sun but cooled down at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one weeks holiday and we had a great time. We stayed in the St Andrews room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. It gave us a large king size double bed and a wonderful en suite shower and toilet. The view of the Bude golf course was excellent. Karen and Mike , our hosts could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were fantastic and offered a wide choice from full English to continental - the apple and pork sausage was very tasty. Karen and Mike provided lots of information on the surrounding area-places to eat and things to do. We would unreservedly recommend this guesthouse for short or long stays it provided excellent quality and great value for money.Try it for yourself-the place was busy with few vacancies and this speaks volumes for how this establishment is regarded.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontefract
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We returned to Fairway guest house for our 3rd visit this year and once again received a wonderful welcome from Karen and Mike
Nothing is too much trouble for them and once again we were very well looked after and the room that we had looks out over the golf course through the big bay window
As ever the rooms are very clean and bright
We would highly recommend anyone visiting Bude to stay at Fairway as they will have a really good experience

lyn and mick yorkshire

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Looks like the number of 5* just speaks for itself, but as I just wrote a bad review of a BnB next door I went too after being unable to secure a room there, I just wanted to add mine.

So just in a word, that is the first BnB I ever went too, found it late, after a motorbike day-trip ended in a WE trip. We were lucky, had we fallen next door, we wouldn’t have tried a BnB again (I don’t know why we always presumed a BnB only could be a cheap, un-confortable place where owners do it for the money and are not pleasant).

That place is completely the opposite. Rooms are tidier and cleaner than any home every will be, the owners and daughter are extremely nice, caring without being annoying at all.

We returned there twice, always for single nights. It’s always great. And actually other guests are more pleasant than in other places too, maybe being well cared for gives a better mood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is an excellent combination of high quality rooms and facilities and being made to feel very welcome. Karen and Mike were helpful with local advice and nothing seemed to be any trouble. They take a genuine pride in the establishment and the care of guests. The breakfast was superb. As a walker along the SW coastpath I have stayed in many B&B's but few anywhere near as good as this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairway House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway House Guest House

Address: 8, Downs View, Bude EX23 8RF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairway House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairway House is a 4 Gold Star B&B in Bude on the stunning North Cornwall coast. Established now for over 12 years and providing an exceptional level of hospitality, guests can relax in superbly appointed ensuite accommodation. Rooms are tastefully decorated and individually furnished showing great attention to detail.Great rooms, comfy beds, large fluffy towels, fresh flowers and a delicious breakfast!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairway House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway House Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairway House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.