We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pot and Barrel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Pot and Barrel to your Saves list
The Pot and Barrel
Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 50 Bude B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned after 3 nights at the pot and barrel,
3 mins walk to the pub, 4mins to the beach, 10mins to the town, but you would have to drive a million miles to find a better view from the lounge when eating one of Chris's finest breakfast. Loved the candle effect lights when returning at night. Just had to order some.
John@JuliaEmery

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Proprietor at The Pot and Barrel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I can only apologize that you didn't sleep as well as you'd expected to and have taken steps to make improvments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had three nights at the Pot & Barrel in the Gold room and I must say its one of the best if not the best b&b we have stayed in. A big thank you to Chris our host he made us feel so at home and what great food we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Proprietor at The Pot and Barrel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to get reviews and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying in the Gold Room with the balcony and stunning views over the coast and countryside. It was immaculately clean and well appointed with nice touches such as robes, slippers and toiletries. The choice and quality of breakfast rivalled many top hotels and Chris, the host, made us most welcome - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the Gold Room with the balcony for the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Proprietor at The Pot and Barrel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I was delighted to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay (and breakfasts) whilst here. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June. The Pot and Barrel is a small B & B almost on the beach at Crooklets beach, Bude. The owner, Chris, made us feel very welcome to his home. On arrival we were given a pair of slippers each (new!) to wear during our stay. Chris then took us up to our chosen room which was upstairs with a balcony. Everything was spotlessly clean and furnished in a modern style .Doors opened out onto the balcony where we had an amazing view.
We enjoyed sitting in the small sun room, very relaxing.
Breakfast was excellent...served in the pleasant lounge. We have already recommended it to several friends, and we are looking forward to visiting again. 10 /10

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, we had the top room with balcony, but I'm sure the other one would be just as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Proprietor at The Pot and Barrel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Many thanks for your review and am delighted you so enjoyed your stay you have recommended it to friends and that you yourselves will return. I look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We've just come back from a three night stop with Chris at his small B&B on Crooklets Beach in Bude and have to say it was a lovely experience.
The B&B has two rooms, one with a balcony, one with a whirlpool bath. There is also a shared conservatory overlooking the bay - see photos - and a TV/breakfast room which is available in the evenings.
The breakfasts were maybe the best breakfasts anywhere. Chris only ever has two lots of guests and prepares what you want from his list, but is not at all imposing. I am a gluten free vegetarian which is a bit of a poser at the best of times, but Chris made me eggs, beans and mushrooms one day, and greek yoghurt with fresh fruit (four types!) the next. Lashings of fresh orange-juice and tea or coffee too, see the photo.
So, for the money, the very relaxed atmosphere, and the view, and the overall homeliness, we could not really have had more. Thank you very much for our relaxed and mellow weekend Chris !
Bude itself is great too, great walks, seaside, surf if you want, save the Bude Ocean Pool etc etc. Bude town is perhaps 15 minutes walk round the coastal path.
Peter and Caroline
Berkhamsted

Room Tip: We were, I think the 'Green Room' which has the whirlpool bath. The other one has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Proprietor at The Pot and Barrel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
As the first review on Trip Advisor for the Pot and Barrel, thank you for your positive comments about both my B&B and Bude itself and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to North Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pot and Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pot and Barrel

Address: Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be beside the seaside in a luxurious Edwardian B&B. Panoramic views with 30 miles of dramatic coastline, genuine hospitality and delicious breakfasts ensure you’ll feel ‘at home’, comfortable and relaxed. Private parking, open all year,wifi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pot and Barrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pot And Barrel Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pot and Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.