We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great anniversary weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hebasca

Save Saved
You added Hebasca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hebasca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Downs View, Bude EX23 8RE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Bude
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great anniversary weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

love this hotel, looks small, but when you get inside, it's huge! We stayed here in June for our anniversary. The staff were amazing, my husband also booked a beauty spa treatment at penleaze salon recommended by Faye one of the staff members...the rooms were immaculate and cosy..only negative was the cooked breakfast portions, a little small. But overall a great hotel, will definitely be coming back again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear zaraali05,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you chose Hebasca to stay for your anniversary weekend. We are pleased that you found our rooms ‘immaculate’ we do work hard to ensure that our rooms and public areas are spotless. I will pass on your feedback regarding portion sizes to the chefs – thank you. We look forward to welcoming your back soon.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    42
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
136
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night at Hebasca and were greeted by friendly reception staff who showed us to our room, helped with bags and gave us an idea of what was on in town that night plus a helpful running route tip! The room was very modern, clean and comfortable so we were really happy with that. Unfortunately we decided it eat at the restaurant on site which led to slight disappointment. The barman was fantastic and very friendly and couldn't help us enough and as we had booked a table to eat we decided to grab a drink, sit outside and then head for dinner when we had booked. As the weather was lovely my husband went inside to ask if we could read the menus outside and have another drink, the waitress seemed a bit confused by this and then told my husband she would bring the menus out and take drinks orders (despite him being right next to the bar!) this would have been fine and helpful if the drinks had then not taken 15 minutes to arrive by which time we were ready to order and come inside. We were then left at our table for another 10 minutes before we could order! I ordered mushrooms with garlic and herb however when they arrived they were wild mushrooms, being pregnant I asked what sort of mushrooms they were and I was told assortment if wild, when I pushed further nobody seemed to have the answer so I joked oh don't worry I will just eat the bread, this was taken seriously and nothing further was done! The rest of the food was great ( once I had the right side order given to me) and tasted fantastic, it did prove difficult to get any waiting staff members attention though. Breakfast the next day was OK but nothing to write home about which is a shame as the website really highlights that this place has fantastic food. The hotel is still in soft opening stage so I would go back and give another chance as maybe it's just teething problems and some staff training that needs ironing out.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Hanna F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hebasca. We are delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We do pride ourselves in being able to go the ‘extra mile’ for our guests. We are disappointed to hear about your experience at the restaurant. Although we are able to accommodate outdoor dinning, it is not something that our guests usually choose (due to the changing weather). Therefore, when you were seated outside, our waitress found herself occupied by our other guests and unintentionally overlooked your table. For this we apologize and can assure you that we have implemented a strategy to ensure that this does not happen again – thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us. However apologise that you did not make your dietary requirements known to a waitress when placing your order. We do strive to be accommodating, and if known, our chefs would have been able to provide you with assurance of the ingredients, or even prepared you something different.

We appreciate your acknowledgement that we are in a soft opening stage so we value all feedback given to us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Last minute weekend break in June, & we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in Room 302, lovely spacious quiet room & great ammenities. We had a nice evening meal in the Grill restaurant, & the breakfast was very satisfying, with a number of choices. The service was very good, the staff, friendly & helpful, which gave off a relaxed atmosphere. The bar manager Rudy, had very good knowledge when it came to cocktails & made one of the best Mojitos we have had. Would recommend for a weekend break.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear LashingsofGinger

Thank you for your review of Hebasca. We are delighted that you found your room spacious and enjoyed its amenities. I will pass on your feedback to our staff – we do pride ourselves on being able to offer great, friendly and helpful service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Truly fantastic stay. Lovely accommodation which was all clean, new and rather funky. The staff were very nice, in particular Fay, who I spoke with a lot before our visit she was very friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble, an asset to the hotel. The food was very nice, breakfast, you couldn't fault, there was lots to choose from. Main meals again lovely but could do with a bit more choice for vegetarians (Me) but my husband was extremely happy with the choices, (Meat eater!) Nice location, just a gentle stroll to Bude, which has a lovely array of shops, boutiques, cafes etc and is very pretty. So nice we have already re-booked for next year. Would highly recommend. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Annabell1979

Thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to welcome you and your husband to Hebasca and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your message to Faye. We are very proud of our friendly and attentive staff – thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely fresh clean modern hotel. a wonderfully comfortable bed. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. We had only booked for 1 night but then stayed for another one. Excellent meal in the Grill room in the evening and a fab breakfast of eggs benedict in the morning. Would highly recommend to anyone and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Sueeatsout,

Thank you for your review of Hebasca. We are delighted that you found your room so comfortable and that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant. Thank you for passing on your recommendation! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From start to finish our visit was amazing. The service there was something we had never received before, everything we asked for was bought to our room within minutes, a staff member helped us fix our car, they even allowed us to eat in the restaurant last minute although they were full as it was a Saturday night as we went into town for dinner but had a bad experience there! The cocktail bar was very good and the staff knew every cocktail even if they weren't on the list. We had friendly chats with most of the staff members and they all made us feel so welcome. It wasn't as close to the beach as I thought but it is still only a 5 minute walk there and also into town takes less than 5 minutes. Would definitely recommend as a long weekend away as a couple.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Luisamarchant

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hebasca. We are delighted that you found the service that we provided so special – we do pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests (even fixing cars when we can!). We hope to welcome you back to Hebasca in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 2nd stay at the hebesca and it was as good as the first....we stayed with friends in rooms 301 & 302.......both very nice spacious rooms...301 has a nice balcony area with a nice view......the rooms are very clean and tidy with i pod dock and flat screen TV...the staff are superb..very helpful and friendly.......
Food in the restaurant was excellent...there was a jazz singer in the bar, which was quite nice...
Overall a great experience.... Highly recommend.....

Room Tip: 301...302......not tried the playroom!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebasca G, General Manager at Hebasca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear mrtommo101,

Thank you for your recent review of Hebasca. We were delighted to welcome you back on your second visit to us. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the food to our chefs. We are pleased that you enjoyed the entertainment we had on that evening. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

The Hebasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hebasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hebasca

Address: Downs View, Bude EX23 8RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hebasca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished for 2013, Hebasca is a playful yet elegant hotel with a killer cocktail bar, feisty grill restaurant, sundeck and free WiFi throughout.Slap bang in the heart of Bude, you’ll be just a stone’s throw from the beach and a short walk from the town centre, where Bude’s best shops, sights and eateries await. Free parking available.Our super-luxe bedrooms feature sleek bathrooms with powerful drench showers, hand-crafted furniture, super-comfy duck-down duvets and fashionable furnishings. Cloud and coffee-coloured walls are punctuated with jewel-bright splashes of colour and slate trimmings. When you awake from your deep slumber, breakfast is served until 10:30am. Tuck into a Stateside Breakfast - plain or blueberry pancakes drizzled with maple syrup and topped with crispy bacon, scrambled eggs and bacon on French toast, or a classic cooked breakfast. Lip-smacking fresh fruit, pastries and croissants are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hebasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hebasca Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hebasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.