We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rainy day entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harlequinns Leisure

Harlequinns Leisure
Stucley Road, Bude EX23 8AR, England
01288 355 366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 23 Activities in Bude
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Childrens soft play area open all year round apart from 2 days every few months for deep cleaning and maintenance.10 Tenpin Bowling lanes open to ALL ages and open every day. ONLY CLOSED CHRISTMAS DAY! 6 Levels of soft play reaching up to the roof for children up to 12 years old, 8 metre drop slide (open at specific times please check first) all children must be accompanied by a responsible adult.TENPIN BOWLING BOOKING IN ADVANCE IS ESSENTIAL DURING HOLIDAYS.Opening times vary.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“rainy day entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

went bowling when the weather was awful, good fun, helpful staff, £20 for a family of four is about average price, extra games are £13
no hassle and no waiting for lanes.
a good time was had by all.
kids soft play was packed out so im glad my two were too old for it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good for a rainy day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We only went in the soft play part, but looking in to the bowling area it looked spacious and clean.

The soft play was fine for a couple of hours for my 5 and 7 year old children on a very rainy morning on our holiday. It was pretty crowded, as were all the tables to sit and watch, but we got one eventually. The children loved it and it was so much fun that even they had exhausted themselves by the end of two hours and were quite happy to go home and rest!

You can buy food but it is fairly standard pizza/chips/burgers style fare - OK if a bit stodgy.

Parents of very young children - be aware that they can easily get out of the room unnoticed. Soon after we arrived we were standing on the slope that goes out to the exit when I saw a tiny toddler go crying past me, evidently lost. I kept an eye on her and she was able to go out of the door when some other people were going out. No sign of a mum looking for her so I had to go out and rescue her - I let the staff at the desk know and they took charge of her and eventually found the oblivious mum who was just sitting reading! The toddler should never have been on the play structure anyway as it is too old (there is a perfectly good toddler area next to it), and wherever she was the mum should have been there too (she was under 18 months, I reckon)! She could easily have toddled out into the car park unnoticed. This is of course not the fault of the venue but of bad parenting! Probably an issue at every soft play round the country!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude and dirty. What a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We had been looking forward to this all day... On arival at 4pm we found a staff member smoking outside the front entrance. Not a great look for a kids activity center. At reception i was asked to sign in the book, the red biro that was there to use was broken, which i pointed out, and the receptionist simply shrugged and looked at me as if i was mad and didnt replace it, just simply told me the cost.
Inside i found the tables covered in used mugs and cups, and the floor was littered with old odd bits of food. My son almost ate an old sausage end from the floor but luckly im a watchfull parent and it didnt happen. The lighting was poor and some areas of the larger frame were in darkness and there was adults hiding in there kissing etc.. Bizzare for a childrens activity center with no staff to be seen! The large slide area advertised on pictures etc is really for plus 5 kids. The only area for little ones (1-2 yrs) is a tiny closed off area which simply is not worth the £5 entry fee.
The toilets were dirty and had no soap to wash your hands.
We will not be returning, and if i could offer Harlequinns any advice, get your staff some training on cutomer service and housekeeping.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fun day for our group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our local Riding for the Disabled Group recently spent a wonderful afternoon here.The group included many of our disabled riders as well as carers,friends,volunteers and families.We were all made very welcome. The staff were very attentive and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.The younger riders enjoyed the play area and some of the games. I have had only positive comments for all who attended and we shall be hopefully organising another trip to Harlequinns in the future.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth to go to kill a couple of hours on a rainy day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Had the whole place to ourselves based on we went on a Monday afternoon during school hours. Had game of ten pen bowling. Was not allowed to buy a bottle of coke so had to buy one at the bar which more expensive. The soft play area was ok but one of the slides were sectioned off but my daughter (9) still thought it was great. Only problem was there was a smell coming from the toilets and it did smell a bit of wee or wet nappies around the seating/eating area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlequinns Leisure also viewed

 

Been to Harlequinns Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harlequinns Leisure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.