We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Life Cafe and Bistro

River Life Cafe and Bistro
Pethricks Mill | Unit 1, Bude EX23 8TF, England
+44 1288 355994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 81 Restaurants in Bude
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a relaxing Lunchtime or evening with family and friends at River life new seafood bar open Tuesday to Sunday lunch eating great local seafood
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

thought we give the river life a try this week and we wasnt dissappointed, we been meaning to go here for some time now and managed to get in for sunday dinner, best book its very popular.we was greeted by the owner who took our coats to the cloak room for us and showed us to our table. we chose roast pork and the roast lamb, service was excellent and our food arrived quickly. both meals were delicous and we polished our plates clean. the owner and staff were taking there time to talk to all the customers ensuring everything was good.will defently go back and try the fish dishes next time. thanks to all and see you soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    46
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, Devon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband took me for a surprise dinner. We had a lovely meal,good menu choices - the king prawns in chilli are lovely, prices very reasonable , didn't have dessert but they looked good. Wine not overpriced either. But due to size of restaurant the tables are very close together, so not really ideal for a romantic evening.Staff very attentive and professional. One complaint we had ( cold dauphinoise potatoes) was dealt with quickly and rectified and my glass of wine was deducted to recompense.

Would recommend and return :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stopped off here after heading towards Bude and loading the TA app. Excellent choice of food. Although the location of the place is a little out of place, it makes up for this in what it provides. Decent food with attentive service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bude cornwall
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average average average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Average is a good word. I really dont know why this has the title of number one in Bude? What can I say? It was a squash, too bright, lacked atmosphere and I was charged full price for a tiny piece of salmon on about 6 green beans and NOTHING else. Terrible location too...who wants to sit looking at houses, a grubby car park and an industrial estate?

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive for a small cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From first impressions, we expected this to be a fairly standard indie cafe and indeed the usual range of coffees are teas are on offer, plus a short but tasty sounding menu. The daytime range of breakfasts, jacket potatoes, burgers and so on didn't immediately grab our attention -- but when the food arrived we had a real WOW moment. Excellent presentation, creative ingredients and absolutely delicious flavours.
My choice was the 'toastie', and rarely has such an excellent meal been so under-sold! Sliced toasted walnut bread, interwoven with peppers and wild mushrooms, with a scrummy mustard seed cream sauce. Perhaps the world's most superior toastie!
Well worth the wait for it to be freshly prepared in the kitchen. Love the sign which explains that don't even possess a microwave: that's the spirit!
Good value, too. A quick lunch for two was £16.
We'll be going back, for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Life Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to River Life Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Life Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.