We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly impressive for a small cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Life Cafe and Bistro

River Life Cafe and Bistro
Pethricks Mill | Unit 1, Bude, England
+44 1288 355994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 restaurants in Bude
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bude, Cornwall
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly impressive for a small cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From first impressions, we expected this to be a fairly standard indie cafe and indeed the usual range of coffees are teas are on offer, plus a short but tasty sounding menu. The daytime range of breakfasts, jacket potatoes, burgers and so on didn't immediately grab our attention -- but when the food arrived we had a real WOW moment. Excellent presentation, creative ingredients and absolutely delicious flavours.
My choice was the 'toastie', and rarely has such an excellent meal been so under-sold! Sliced toasted walnut bread, interwoven with peppers and wild mushrooms, with a scrummy mustard seed cream sauce. Perhaps the world's most superior toastie!
Well worth the wait for it to be freshly prepared in the kitchen. Love the sign which explains that don't even possess a microwave: that's the spirit!
Good value, too. A quick lunch for two was £16.
We'll be going back, for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    200
    36
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Such a good find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here for the first tome today and loved it. Can't wait to return to try the evening menu. Excellent welcoming service and fab value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went with a party of 20 friends last Saturday to celebrate my husband's 65th Birthday. The service and food were both perfect even though it couldn't have been easy dealing with a large party! (We had pre-ordered) Between us I think we had everything on the menu and everyone without exception was delighted. The scallops especially seemed to go down very well. One of our party who had sirloin steak remarked how tender it was and that he had had many tougher fillet steaks in the past!

The Bistro itself was warm and welcoming, the drink prices are reasonable and it all made for a wonderful evening. We will definetly be returning soon ourselves and recommending to others.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining in a contemporary setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We found the River Life restaurant whilst staying in Bude over New Year and it was good enough to warrant a return for a second visit! Service was friendly and attentive without being ott. Had the prawn starter one night which was really delicious, and my husband had scallops which were also perfectly cooked. Tried one dessert ...the raspberry creme brulee which was also delicious.
The cod was huge and well cooked but could have done with a touch more seasoning perhaps. I would recommend the chicken, but my other half was not over impressed with the belly pork crackling which was a bit a bit gelatinous and soft instead of crispy as you would expect.
However these are really minor quibbles and overall the experience was very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Water wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Who needs to be a carnivore, when there's something called River Bank Toastie on offer at this fab little Bude eaterie? It was breakfast, lunch and tea rolled into one - protein, carbs, fibre and a little bit of lovely fattiness...and all exceeding tasty and beautifully presented. What could have turned out as just a plate of cheese on toast is a five-star meal here. Masterchef, eat yer heart out. So. Cornish cheese, walnut bread, yellow peppers, wild mushrooms from Liskeard (they sound like they've got attitude, but did let themselves melt in the mouth), a soft, runny poached egg on top, and a gorgeous golden sauce with wholegrain mustard. My sister raved about the crabcakes with chilli sauce and a nicely dressed, multi-leaf salad, while the juniors were kept quiet with a giant jacket potato packed with cheese and bacon bits, and a plain and simple bacon bap. With tea and juice, the bill came to £27 for four of us. What's more, and what's really important, the welcome is just how it should be - friendly - and the service impeccably polite and obliging from our two young waiters. Nice decor - though the giant flowers on the wallpaper look a bit like some French hotel from the 1970s - and a relaxed and undemanding "ambience". Plenty of parking space for customers, too. Just one more thing, as Columbo would say: wouldn't it be nice to dine while looking over the waters of Bude canal/river, instead of at a modern housing estate? Be a bit of a job to shift the kitchen now though, I guess. River Life is DEFINITELY a place we can take visitors to with absolute confidence. Just must get the authorities to link up Bude with Holsworthy and the Tarka Trail for us cyclists now!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Life Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to River Life Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Life Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.