We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grosvenor Guest House

The Grosvenor Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grosvenor Guest House to your Saves list
The Grosvenor Guest House
10 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 50 Bude B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel boasts an excellent view over Summerleaze Beach, only a couple of minutes from the town centre. Helen and Will are very welcoming hosts serving and excellent breakfast. The room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel (Room1) which didnt have much of a view. This wasnt a problem as we spend very little time in the room, the ensuite was freshly tiled and painted but the suite was a little dated. There is a bar in the lounge area with competitive prices and also a bar billiards table which we havent seen for some time. Bude is a very small town with most activities based around the beach and beautiful walks, there is however a small farmers market on fridays. The tourist information centre is very handy for bus timetables, places of interest etc. We caught a bus to Tintagel which was very reasonable at £6 return allowing us to take in all the sights along the way. There are plenty of tea rooms, pubs and bakeries in Tintagel and the Pengenna Pasties are to die for although you may have to share one, they are huge. All in all we had a lovely relxing couple of days in Bude and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

just arrived home from our stay , lovely room very clean and tidy ,lovely breakfast,great hosts will, helen & megs (the family pet),good location for everything,would recommend for anybody to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a night on a trip through Cornwall. The owners were so friendly suggesting a place to eat and having a chat over a pint in the bar on the premises, the facilities were excellent, clean and tidy. breakfast was delicious! Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

While I'm not one to prefer Bed and Breakfasts, my family and I did enjoy our stay at this hotel. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed in and offered help by one of the owners, who then immediately guided us to our room, giving us a quick tour of it. The reception area was quite small, but decorated well, with two sofas and an array of decorations. The owners' dog, Megan, a sociable canine, is often here. Both owners, Will and Helen, were very friendly, and sociable.

Our rooms were spacious, fitting three beds (two singles, one double bed), a small, wall mounted television, as well as a large wardrobe and other necessities, including a kettle and hospitality tray. While the television worked well, it was difficult to rotate it to allow the two single beds (that were opposite the double bed) to have a view of it, but this is a minimal problem. Two windows gave us both a view of the Sainsbury's car park, and a great view of Bude town, including the beautiful cliffs and beach (as well the fair that happened to be there at the time as well!) The en-suite bathrooms were clean, providing us with hand and body wash, although it was missing a lock. Overall, the rooms were cozy, and comfortable.
The location is a large bonus: Exit the house, turn left, and you're already in the town, which boasts a mass of shops, including pharmacies, restaurants, clothing, and more. Right behind the hotel was a Sainsbury's, and this could be reached by taking a path next to the hotel, which took you straight to the car park. The beach was also a one minute walk away, with easy access.
Breakfast started at 8:30 until 9:30, with a choice of cereals or a cooked breakfast, with tea and optional toast. The food arrived quickly, and was very nice. Opposite the breakfast room was a leisure room, with a bar, television and pool/snooker table. The hotel was kept noticeably well; rooms were clean and well maintained

Overall, we had a great stay at this B&B. Rooms were pleasant, food was nice, the location was great, and the staff were very friendly and sociable. If you are looking for a place to stay in Bude, I would recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The top rooms are quite far up (four flights of stairs), but you will definitely get the best view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grosvenor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Guest House

Address: 10 Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grosvenor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor Guest House Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grosvenor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.