We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have just spent far too long in the bath .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach at Bude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Beach at Bude to your Saves list
The Beach at Bude
Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Bude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I have just spent far too long in the bath .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I watched a hawk hovering over the sand dunes and surfers testing their skills against the waves that crashed over the breakwater, their crests gilded by the setting sun - all this from my bath!

This must be one of the best situated baths in Europe and it belongs to Room 11 of The Beach at Bude. I first reviewed this hotel over a year ago, shortly after it first opened and commented: "We'll definitely be back" - and so we have been, many times. I stay at The Beach as often as I can find an excuse to pass through or near to Bude. The welcome is warm and friendly and always with a smile and the location is splendid, looking out to sea over Summerleaze beach and up to the Compass Point tower on the headland opposite.

The decor is clean, fresh and modern, taking its inspiration from the seaside setting. Every room has something special and even the basic ones (at the back so no view), are blissfully quiet and very comfortable. Although Room 11's bath warrants special mention, all the bathrooms are luxurious, with big, walk-in showers, rain-dance style shower heads and Molten Brown toiletries. The rooms themselves boast flat screen TVs, free wi-fi and large, comfortable beds with duvets to snuggle under when the weather outside is just too English. They even have a small fridge with complimentary water and a jug of fresh milk to have in your tea or coffee (real luxury compared with those nasty little plastic pots of unidentifiable white liquid which are provided in less considerate establishments).

Breakfast offers a good choice of cooked and continental dishes, including a variety of soft fruits and berries, yoghurts, pastries, delicious bacon and perfectly poached free-range eggs (and I am very fussy about my poached eggs!).

As others have noted the hotel does not yet have a bar or serve evening meals, but with LAB two minutes up the road and Bude centre just a few minutes stroll away this is not really an issue. It will be great if their licence application is granted though.

This is the best hotel in Bude, hands down, no contest.

Room Tip: First floor at the front is pretty much perfect (have I mentioned the bath in room 11?), but i have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    49
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
153
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Decided to stay at The Beach at Bude for a week and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The staff were all very welcoming and attentive to our needs. Breakfast was excellent with a range of cooked and continental options. The B&B has good views over the Summerleaze Beach and it is within walking distance from Bude town centre. We stayed in room 16, which was very spacious with two separate seating areas, super-king size bed and a fabulous bathroom with a lovely walking shower and bath.

Room Tip: Room 16 is the best. Great view, spacious and with a bathroom to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West,England
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed sept '12 for three nights.
A modern, well planned out, well run hotel.
Probably a bit more than other places in the area, but worth the extra . . my wife loved it. . .
Great location and views.
Very comfortable room, with top bathroom and other facilities . . .
Breakfast varied and plentiful.
Best of all was the Buck Rogers lift

Room Tip: get one high up to experience the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic B&B! This is one of the best places we have stayed in recently with an outstanding well appointed room that had an amazing view over the ocean with a magical sunset. The staff were very pleasant and could not do enough to ensure our stay was memorable. Their recommendation for dinner of 'Life is a Beach' was fabulous and we had one of the best meals we have had while traveling Europe the last 6 weeks. I could not recommend this wonderful place more highly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Best B&B, we've stayed in, so far this year. Excellent standards, very well appointed, very nicely designed and excellent bathrooms and added to that, very friendly staff. Highly recommended. As the property is situated looking out over the beach at Bude, its has got everything going for it.

Room Tip: room 6 was lovely, room 16 even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on so many occasions I've lost count, yet on every visit I'm greeted with the same warm welcome and staff that would do anything to please you.

The rooms are fresh, clean & immaculate and the bathrooms are the cleanest I've ever seen in a hotel. The views are a little better from upstairs, although the ground floor room is just huge.

The breakfast is good, well cooked and quick. I've often suggested to Sara and the staff that serving evening meals would be a real positive, especially after a long day soaking up the fresh air and you want to crash out, although with some of the finest restaurants around I can understand why it would be difficult to compete.

The hotel is perfectly positioned for both beaches and a short stroll into the village.

In summary, a really lovely hotel, with amazingly friendly staff, good food and a great location exactly what you'd expect from a top end city hotel but with the friendliness of a family run B&B.

Thank you for yet another great holiday, will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose the Beach at Bude based on the reviews and photos on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. We booked directly with the hotel and chose a first floor room with a view overlooking the bay (room 11). As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by a friendly and helpful member of staff who showed us to our room. The room was beautifully decorated and well appointed, with a bathroom to die for! Everything was very clean, fresh and tidy, and we even had fresh milk (daily) in the room for our tea.

The reason why we've scored this B&B 4 stars.. while the standard of our room was extremely high we felt that breakfast could be improved upon. Although there was plenty of choice from fresh fruit, cereals, porridge and cooked breakfast, the overall quality did not quite hit the mark for us.

We did notice that permission has been requested for a licence to serve alcohol - we think that this would be a positive enhancement for the B&B because we found that the number of places to enjoy a relaxing drink in Bude is quite limited.

Room Tip: first floor with a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach at Bude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach at Bude

Address: Summerleaze Crescent, Bude EX23 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Challenging the stereotype of British seaside hotels, the Beach at Bude is a luxury boutique hotel offering stylish accommodation in a stunning setting. We have calming, clean, clutter-free rooms that are light, bright and simple. We have 16 superbly appointed bedrooms, most of which have spectacular views over Summerleaze Beach and the Atlantic. The same views are enjoyed from our dining room and terrace. We also have:- a surfboard/bicycle store- Wi-Fi internet access throughout- Lift to all floors - Car parking for 11 cars. All our bedrooms are decorated in a traditional seaside style, and have cooling limed oak furniture, Vi-Spring beds and Lloyd Loom chairs. All have- flat screen TV- Blu-Ray player - Wi-Fi- iPod docking station - direct-dial telephone - hairdryer - minifridge (containing complimentary milk and mineral water) - hospitality tray - Orla Keily toiletries- safe for your valuables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Beach at Bude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach At Bude Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach at Bude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.