We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bude Holiday Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bude
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bude Holiday Resort
Save
You added Bude Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Maer Lane, Bude EX23 9EE, England (Formerly Bude Holiday Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Outdoor Swimming Pool!
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Bude Holiday Resort with the deal from the sun holidays and couldn't have asked for a better deal! We didn't upgrade so had a basic caravan .. However this was well equipped with fridge, toaster and kettle etc! The caravan was heated throughout and but we did take a small heater just incase! This wasn't needed! People have commented about the mattress in previous reviews- the mattress seemed new and was very comfy and the duvet was very snug too! We personally didn't visit any of the onsite amenities but there was entertainment onsite each evening and the restaurant seemed busy too (which is nice to see)! We did visit the local beach near the site (about a 15minute walk away) and this was lovely .. And some nice coastal walks to explore to! Whilst visiting Bude we did venture out and explore the local area! Some nice places to consider seeing are, Padstow, Boscastle, Launceston and Port Isaac! Beautiful countryside and lovely scenery! Would definitely visit again! Thank you for a comfortable place to stay!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    105
    30
    14
    4
See reviews for
128
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The caravan was spotless. Well equipped and central to everywhere we wanted to go. We stayed here early in the season so I cant rate the outdoor pool as it didnt open for another two weeks but the onsite cafe, take away shop and bar were all in full swing and well stocked.

The amusements were a big hit with the kids and the entertainment...... that is worthy of a review in its own right - you would pay great money for this alone.

The Entertainment Staff - Matt, Jordy and Sophie - are fabulous. Very professional, yet make the night so much fun. Matt has a fantastic voice when singing, Sophie is amazing with the kids and Jordy is a pretty good hand at most things.

This was my first weekend out of the house after having a month or so of chemotherapy and so I was looking forwards to a weekend out of he house and away from hospital. I really enjoyed this venue, I will be booking again.

Room Tip: The caravans are fantastic value. If you want the free wifi (available in the bar and shop) get a va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Couldn't fault it, even though the weather wasn't the best we had a brilliant time. Very impressed with all the facilities and staff, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. A special mention though to the entertainment team #Sophie, #Matt and #Jordie, they made our kids' holiday that extra bit special, best entertainment we've had at a holiday park. Will definitely come again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have had a fantastic holiday at Bude Holiday Resort. The weather has been quite iffy but the staff at the holiday park have made our stay amazing and my two daughters absolutely adore them. I would like to name #Sophie, #Jordie and #Matt as the superstars of our holiday and would like to give them a huge thank you. They have definitely made us want to return ASAP!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived Good Friday and stayed a week. I've stayed at this site a dozen or more times over the last 25 years but this is the first time we've hired a static caravan, we've normally used the campsite (which apart from not enough showers is excellent). We hired a budget caravan this time and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was and very clean too. There were even Easter Eggs on the table which was a lovely touch. The bedroom end of the caravan was very cold at bed time so if going in April/May again I would take extra blankets. The location of the site for people who like to walk is brilliant, from the site up to the headland, turn left for a stroll along the coast to town or turn right to visit to other beaches. The reception staff were very friendly, the restaurant served really good food and the entertainment staff were really friendly and happy too. My only complaint would be that the prices in the club were way too much. Many of the campers on the site and people staying in the caravans weren't going there. Years ago we'd go there most nights and spend a couple of hours there but it is just too expensive to go there for more than a round or two now if you go with family. Speaking with others confirmed people were going out in the evening into town or staying in their caravans. We did go there however a few times but it was a strange atmosphere as there were only about 15-20 others which made it difficult for the entertainments team who did their best. Years ago you'd have a job to get a seat in the club house at Easter so it was strange. We had a brilliant week in Bude and walked everywhere, only taking the car out once. We were lucky with the weather. We booked the caravan in January so had a brilliant deal and would love to do it again next year.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After book our mini holiday with Sun holidays to this campsite we not not expecting to much......However we were very surprised when we got there.

We arrived earlier than our booking in time and just asked if we could book in and we were told our caravan was ready.


From the outside the caravan looked small and slightly worn but on opening the door we were pleasantly surprised.

It was very clean and tidy and just right for our weekend base.

Very cold at night in the caravan no heaters in the bedrooms. Take extra blankets, full kitchen set up kettle toaster microwave fridge etc.

We went to the club house on the first evening and along with the other 20 or so visitors and the entertainment staff we had a great night of bingo and dancing.

Our 2nd night was just as quiet but the entertainment staff still put on a great show for the 10 or so guests.

Our 3 night we were the only ones in the club houses and the entertainment staff left early (9pm) and at 9.30 we were told the bar was closing.

As adult we didn't mind too much but sorted end our holiday on a low note.

I guess it was to early in the season for the whole site to be up and running ??

This site is worth a visit just made not to early in the year.

Keep working hard and making the visitors smiling.

Places to visit why your based at this site , Boscastle, Padstow and bude town centre.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, we had a great weekend with our friends and we enjoyed ourselves by cycling, crabbing, visiting Bude etc.

The resort itself was pretty basic, the swimming pool was outdoor and wasn't open, though it would've been freezing! Reception was only open 9-6pm each day which wasn't always helpful. The resort was very quiet and the entertainment was pretty average. Bingo was £1 but 2 short games that lasted all of 5 minutes each. The bar wasn't that cheap and we had hoped for some lower prices, rather than £10 for a bottle of awful wine and £4 for bottles of rattler.

The entertainment staff were friendly, but if I'm honest, Sophie was really annoying! Jordy was a little star in the show and quite sweet and not in your face. The other guy was great too. The show was far too long! An hour?! Really? The singing, dancing and story wasn't even that great! We felt like leaving but due to there barely being anyone there, we felt obliged to stay!

Our caravan was good though the TV was tiny and there were barely any pans to use. The shower was hot, dining table was great, sofas were comfy but the springs in our bed didn't make for a very good sleep each night. A DVD player might have been a good idea for rainy days, like we had. Just a thought. We also had no phone signal whatsoever which is great if you want to escape from reality for a few days but we needed to touch base with our mortgage adviser and estate agent a couple of times which was a little tricky!

I'm not sure if we'd come back but not because we hated it, just because we didn't love it and like to visit different places each holiday. We rarely go to the same place twice. I do think people might be bored here but it could change when it is in peak season.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bude Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bude Holiday Resort

Address: Maer Lane, Bude EX23 9EE, England (Formerly Bude Holiday Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Bude
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north Cornwall coast Bude Holiday Resort is only a short walk from the centre of Bude the many local facilities and miles of beautiful beaches. Bude is now recognised as one of Cornwall's loveliest holiday resorts. The first breath taking glimpse of the miles of golden sandy beaches and magnificent coastline will be a sight to remember long after your holiday is over. The Bude area offers a good range of leisure activities, historical sites, walks, water sports, pleasure parks and many other attractions, it really has something to suit all ages. We are pleased to announce that our 2015 holidays have just got even better, with the introduction of our BRAND NEW "Elite Plus", 2 & 3 bedroom holiday caravans. These new caravans are fully equipped to the very latest standard with double glazing and central heating in all rooms. Our "Classic" 2 bedroom 28' x 10' & 3 bedroom 34' x 10' caravans are equipped to a high standard providing everything you need during your stay. The lounge area has gas fire heating & includes a flat screen TV with Freeview channels & DVD player. The second or third bedrooms have warm air fan heating and there is a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom & shower as well as the additional benefit of a double sofa bed in the lounge area. For those who decide not to upgrade, you will be automatically provided with our two or three bedroom "Value" level caravan, equipped to provide you with everything you need during your stay. The caravan size will depend on the number of people in your party. The lounge area has gas fire heating & TV with Freeview channels. There is a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom & shower as well as the additional benefit of a sofa bed in the lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bude Holiday Park Hotel Bude
Bude Holiday Resort Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bude Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.