We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location, Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Penarvor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hotel Penarvor to your Saves list
The Hotel Penarvor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bude
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Location, Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A well positioned hotel for views over the bay, excellent walks and beach holiday for families.
The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming , the room was spotless, albeit on the top floor and a bit of a climb, not suitable for those with mobility probs. The breakfasts were great, with plenty of options.
Would have liked to have seen the bar open in the afternoon, to enjoy a drink whilst in the sea facing garden.
The beach was yards away and only a 15 minutes walk over the cliff top to Bude.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have lovely sea views. When booking bear in mind the top floor rooms are up 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I were at Bude for the Jazz Festival and stayed at the Hotel Penarvor. It is a family-run hotel, warm, friendly and comfortable. The food was absolutely delicious with an imaginative and varied menu. We really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it

Raymond Wood, Sherborne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely hotel a minute (literally a minute!) walk to the crooklets beach, which our little children loved. The hotel is spotlessly clean, fresh bedding and towels every day as you would expect. Staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a lovely room with a sea view, enough room to fit our travel cot, we can't fault anything. We can definitely recommend this place for a family holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at the Penarvor with a friend in July of this year. I can't say enough about this small, friendly, family run hotel, the staff are lovely and the rooms spotlessly clean. But the main thing for me is the excellent food, we went for the dinner bed and breakfast option and the evening meals are superb. If you don't stay for dinner you're missing a treat. The time is quite early, 7pm, but this gives you ample time afterwards to wander out into Bude or further afield . these are the best evening meals I am sure you could find in any hotel, and I really mean that.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The excellent Hotel Penarvor is in a wonderful location overlooking Crooklets beach. Bude is a 10 /15 minute walk either directly down the road or by walking along the coastal path. There is ample car parking available in the residents only car park in front of the hotel.
My husband and I spent a very enjoyable week at the hotel and honestly couldn't find any fault with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms were spotless, I don't think we've stayed anywhere cleaner. Our room was serviced daily with fresh towels.
We would certainly highly recommend this hotel to family and friends and hope to return again in the future.

Alison M

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely relaxing hotel in close proximity to Crooklets beach. The hotel is family run and is spotlessly clean throughout. Room was spacious and airy. Friendly and welcoming staff and excellent breakfasts. Fantastic location - parked in front of hotel and didn't move car for days. Town centre 5 minutes away, beaches. cafes and cliff top walks on the doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Hotel Penarvor has a wonderful position on the edge of the bay. The accommodation was immaculate, spacious and comfortable, and the food excellent. The service was also extremely good - quick, efficient and friendly. We hope to go again and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 15 (twin-bedded) has a bath, which is always a bonus to us, and has a sea view (but it is on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Penarvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Penarvor

Address: Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Penarvor 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Penarvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penarvor Hotel Bude
The Hotel Penarvor Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Penarvor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.