We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Penarvor

Save Saved
You added The Hotel Penarvor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Penarvor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Bude
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just returned from Hotel Penarvor and our first experience of Conwall.
My friend and I always have "Reds and Greens"at the end to review our holiday.
They are:Greens.....
Fabulous food.
Stuning viewsand location.
Lovely very clean rooms also very good service from the moment we arrived.
The great strenghth of his hotel is family teamwork and an "extra mile attitude".
We had an excellent stay and will return.We cannot wait for next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on the May Bank holiday weekend Friday 4th - Monday 7th May 2012. I have been a regular visitor to Bude all my life and wanted to stay where I could wake up in the morning and see and hear the sea at Crooklets beach. I could not fault the Penarvor. We stayed in a twin room on the ground floor but still with a sea view. The room was spotless and well equipped. Furniture is basic pine but fits the clean décor very well. Lots of drawers and hanging space for clothes and belongings. The bathroom was refreshingly large with fresh towels every day. Beds were very comfortable and bed linen so clean and fresh I felt I was the first to use them. Hot water was plentiful and the radiator easily adjustable if you need warmth - or not. The breakfast was lovely every morning, more than enough to set you up for the day. Service was superb and fast with very attentive friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The beach is literally a few paces walk away and you can hear the sea from your room with a slightly open window. Although we did not eat there of an evening I heard from other guests that the dinners were of a very high quality and very generous portions! Some reviews here have said the hotel is a little dated - I disagree. If you are looking for that non carpeted modern, shiny contemporary look you will not find it here but it is beautifully clean and well kept and above all comfortable. I will definitely stay here again - hopefully next summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for just the one night earlier this month. Nice friendly welcome, room was clean and of a reasonable size, and i have to agree with other posters, the views are pretty good. Had a drink at the bar, and the breakfast was enjoyable. No real complaints but its worth mentioning that the room we had(14) was a little tricky for me, being over 6 foot, regarding the ceiling, and i also felt the whole feel was maybe a little dated, but i would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Room we had second floor had a good view of the beach/sea etc. but slopping ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The staff were excellent and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Rooms were very clean and lovely views of the Sea! The best location I have ever stayed in. Breakfast was very nice and the Sunday roast we had was the best i've had for a long time. 2 Star, its more like 3 or 4. Thanks for a great time everyone at Hotel Penarvor.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

A proper holiday hotel.

Most of the reviews have got this spot on and the one that mentions the dated decor is right - but we are not talking about a West End hotel here - this is a great family hotel. Maybe some of the infrastructure is a bit dated, but the whole hotel is spotlessly clean and I would stay here again in the blink of an eye.

The room had everything I needed and the view was the best I have ever seen from any place I have stayed while walking the South West Coast Path. On a clear day the headlands stretch out all the way to Tintagel around 20 miles away.

Breakfast was good quality, hot and quickly served. Did I already mention the view?

Another good benefit is the plentiful free parking directly in front of the hotel.

The town centre is about 15 mins walk across the headland - a pleasure when the weather is fine.

All in all, a hotel I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have just spent a week on holiday in Bude, and were lucky enough to stay at The Hotel Penarvor. How lucky was that. This hotel is absolutely superb in every way. First of all, when you arrive, you cannot help but notice and admire the superb location that this hotel sits in. Wow! You haven't even got out of the car, and the views are stunning. Car parking is brilliant. We was met by hotel owner Kim, and her Dad. We had arrived earlier than expected, but our room was ready for us, and we were shown it immediately. No problems. No fuss. Our room overlooked the bay, and gave us even more stunning views! I suggest book early to get the best rooms! The hotel is very clean, and our room was immaculate. Kim and her family and staff, are very approachable, and do everything with a smile on their faces. The breakfasts are superb, cooked to perfection, and delivered effortlessly, and efficiently. This hotel does do a three course evening meal, at a cost, which you advise of your choice after breakfast. We never tried this option, as we like to try other food outlets when we are on holiday, (that's what we do), but the response from other guests were very complimenary of this option. If you fancy some mouth watering conversation, have an evening drink in the well stocked bar, and have a chat with Laurie, some one who is very much....."salt of the earth!". What did we do? Well, you can walk as far as you like in either directions along the cliff tops. If you go north, it is a very rugged walk. If you go south, it is more sedate. Did you know that Bude had a canal? No! Nor did we. It gives you another fascinating walk! To visit Boscastle, Tintagel, Padstow, Newquay and beyond, is within easy reach from this "base". If you fancy a bit of retail therapy on a less kind weather day, then go to Atlantic Village, just 45 mnutes away north on the A39. Pop to Bideford whilst you are in the area, or Clovelly, or Hartland Point! Don't forget, this is a superb surfing area.Finally we have to say, that we were unable to fault this hotel / accomodation / staff / food in any way. When we decide that the time is right to visit Bude again, We will stay at The Hotel Penarvor again!

Kevin and Jean. Horley

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have just returned from this lovely, family run hotel. The location of Hotel Penarvor is stunning - probably the best in Bude, and we had a very large and airy room with ensuite, overlooking the sea.
Food and service is excellent - nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel was busy, always a good sign. Book early for one of the rooms with the best views!
Thanks to all for another excellent stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel Penarvor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Penarvor

Address: Crooklets Beach, Bude EX23 8NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Bude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Penarvor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Hotel Penarvor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penarvor Hotel Bude
The Hotel Penarvor Bude, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Penarvor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.