We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% - July 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent and in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Been at Strathyre about seven times in all, and over the years there have been many improvements which have made things more middle class by the year.
The road in can be a hassle, as sometimes the potholes have been many and my car's poor suspension has taken a real pounding. The upside is that there ain't many passers-by at the best of times.
If you don't like to be surrounded by kids, avoid the school hols. It doesn't bother me, but it can be noisy if the weather is good and there's children just trying to play (I did it years back!!!)
Been in most of the cabins and not had any real complaints. Plain for some people, but I like the feel and at certain times of the year the four day deals are cheap as chips. For not much, you can spend 4 days in a hot tub with a glass in your hand surrounded by stars.
Walks from the cabin can be strenuous (up, up and up) or flat towards Strathyre or Callander. Every time I have walked to Strathyre nought has been open, even when I have checked things out a day before.
Good idea is to walk to Strathyre and time it for a bus to Callandar, then walk back from there stopping at the put 2/3 of the way back. Give plenty of time for the bus, which is erratic, and rund about twice a DAY (honest).
Bring lots of food and drink, as prices locally can be steep. There's a Tesco but prices can be higher than the norm.
The heating in the cabins can be a pain, and after many years I have not got a clue how to work it. They should run a degree course in this, if you ask me.
Beds are comfy, showers are decent, and there's loads of room for your things in general. Watch you don't leave the curtains open or you might get an early morning shock when your neighbours stroll past.
Never been anywhere with so many robins in winter, and there's deer aplenty, if you get up early and walk towards Strathyre.
The Loch is right on the edge of the site, and is truly spectacular. Good to have a cabin with the view if you can, but far from essential. In fact, the cabins at the back (up the hill) are actually quieter in my experience.
All in all, a decently priced break apart from peak season, where I don't think it is such good value for cash.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    83
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
85
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the standard cabin (without a hot tub) for the week. We found the cabin to be a good base as we planned to be out and about every day (regardless of the weather).
The road down to reception and the cabins is horrendous, it’s a wonder we didn’t lose the car down some of the pot holes, they were that big! Our cabin was right at the very back of the site, which was nice as it was out of the way, but again the road up to our cabin definitely needed the pot holes filling in.
The cabin was clean and tidy. Although whoever had stayed here before us had been smoking inside the cabin and it did leave a nasty smell, which the cleaners I’m sure had done their best to get rid of. Like others before have mentioned I think the cabins could do with a lick of paint and a bit of TLC at some point, just to spruce them up a bit.

My husband has a bike, but I needed to hire one. The staff sorted me out quickly and it was only £28 for the week (£18 for the day) so really good value for money and it was a decent bike.
The staff were very polite and friendly, they couldn’t do enough for us.
We did arrange to go canoeing but there was only the two of us down to do the activity, so they couldn’t offer it to us as there wasn’t enough interest. However, the staff did recommend another place for us to do some activities and they were more than helpful at providing us with enough details. With this in mind, I would definitely recommend the ‘Go Country’ based at Loch Ard, which is a perfect setting to carry out any outdoor activities.

Overall we found the cabin fine; we only wanted to use it as a base, so to be honest we weren’t in the cabin that often.
But I would recommend that the roads are dealt with as I can only imagine them getting even worse with the winter weather upon us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed in Cabin 4 (Silver Birch 3 Bedroom, Pet Friendly), cabin was perfect for a relaxing week, hot tub provided that much needed end of day wind down after some lovely walks with our labrador, who loved swimming in the loch.
Plenty of easy walks or more strenuous paths if required.
All the staff were very helpful, pizza freshly cooked was excellent and delivery a nice touch.
The mile long drive from the main road was very pot holed, but worth it for the scenery, peace and quiet.

The local Lade Inn does excellent food and drink, about a 2 mile walk along the river, it is also dog friendly!

Argaty Red Kites well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was near the parking area and closest to Reception but this did not cause any disturbance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Ok. Filthy cooker, food items lying around from previous people, cigarette ends, beer bottle caps, broken blinds, dirty scratched floors, dreadful seating, health and safety risks throughout. It could all be yours for over £600 at forest holiday cabins in Strathyre!! Ask for cabin 2 as it has all of this plus more including filthy curtains with the added effect of walls that are coverd in marks. They have the cheak to ask us to take out additional insurance to cover for damages!! Oh also we paid additional for cabin 2 for its private location which infact wasn't private at all.....oh did I mention this is their top quality cabin 'deluxe' I believe is the word they use to describe it in their false advertising campaign. I have lovely snaps to prove just how memorable this experiamced could be for you and your loved ones. Wish you were here.... Not!!! The only saving grace in this torrid experiance was the manager who came back with good customer recovery.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed for our anniversary in a silver Birch cabin and what can I say?! it was perfect! We weren't overlooked, the staff at reception were full of tips for places to visit and things to see & do, They advised best places to eat and made it great. Cabin was clean and comfortable, Not too close to the loch so no mozzy /midge problems to interrupt our stay (1 bite between us over 3 nights and lots of walking with no repellants!)Hot tub was a fantastic treat, maintained daily, Lots of lovely walks around the area we aren't hikers but loved it (Two 24 year olds!) Very romantic setting and will certainly be back in the future and plan to visit other cabins elsewhere also, Will probably even take the dog as so many dog friendly pubs about.
Great location to see the sights nearby, we drove out and about as well as a couple of walks and loved every minute. Only issue was we found a few dead wasps as a nest behind one of the other cabins had been treated so a few strayed in as we did leave a window open the entire stay and usually had the big sliding doors open. Never bothered by any other bugs or living wasps though.

Room Tip: We had a silver birch (cabin 14) and nobody overlooked us, seemed one of the more private where we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We (2 adults 2 kids) stayed in cabin 24 for 4 nights and had a fine time. Even though it rained 30% of the time, there was plenty to do, especially if you like nature, walking, cycling, canoeing, loch fishing, etc. The accommodation was fine although our lodge could do with a refresh. It was certainty not as bad as other reviewers have mentioned. But we would agree with others' views that the potholes in the road running up to the cabins are in dire need of repair. The staff were helpful.

Tips: take midge repellent.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here in May for 2 nights. Was very peaceful and relaxing. Have nothing bad to say about the cabin. Was lovely and clean. Only bad thing was the road leading up to the cabins. It badly needs sorted. Staff were very friendly

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland

Address: Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Callander
Also Known As:
Strathyre Forest Cabins Hotel Strathyre
Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland Callander

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Forest Holidays Strathyre, Scotland to your Saves list