We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poppies Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Nice comfortable room. Lovely welcome, pleasant relaxing ambiance in the bar and would recommend it to friend if they were visiting this area and I'd happily return. Breakfast excellent .Sadly I did not try the evening meal as I had a large lunch elsewhere before we booked in

Room Tip: Remember to visit the Kremlin falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here 6 th and 7th hotel have two babies and the owners and all staff could not do enough for us poppy our eldest daughter 18 months even helped with a checkout! Would recommend to everybody looking to stay in this beautiful village :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great food in the restaurant of this hotel, much of it is sourced locally. Very good selection of dishes. Rooms very clean and well equipped with shampoo, hairdryer, iron, kettle etc. Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are quieter and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I had the early bird menu on a weeknight. It's excellent value - around £18 for 3 courses - and good quality. We enjoyed a drink in the bar while we perused the menu and we were then taken to our table. Susan - the owner - understood that we only had an hour to have our three courses and was receptive to any requests we had.

The food was excellent and Poppies deserves to do well, particularly with this menu available. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were walking the Rob Roy Way and stayed and ate at Callander's Poppies Hotel.
The room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent as was the dram with which we rounded off our meal. We'd unhesitatingly recommend this excellent hotel, restaurant and bar.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were here for our mothers 65th birthday. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night and the food was impeccable. I had the mussels and chicken breast. The carrots were cooked in honey and had a lovely sweet taste. Best carrots I have ever had. The mussels and chicken were cooked to perfection. The wines were lovely. The breakfast was delicious. The owners made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Will definitely be back. The hotel was clean and will recommend to others.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I wanted somewhere nice to stay that wasn't too far from home for a wee weekend to celebrate out wedding anniversary.
Lucked out and chose this wee gem. Spotless, comfortable room with lovely touches. The dinner menu was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious and the other half really enjoyed the extensive whiskey selection, I think he could have stayed in the bar all night!!
Would absolutely recommend and hope to stay again if we are in the area again.
Fantastic value and excellent service, made to feel very welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.