We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poppies Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and had a great time. We received a warm welcome and the only problem we encountered (no hot water to the bath or shower) was swiftly dealt with.

We chose to have our anniversary dinner here and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I've ever had. The service was outstanding. We then retired to the bar to sample some of the extensive selection of malt whiskies.

Breakfasts were lovely and the room we had (number 1) was spacious and spotless, the views to the hills were excellent.

Even if you're not going to stay here, i would recommend you make a booking at the restaurant as you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Room 1 - Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Have just stayed at Poppies for the 3rd year running and can highly recommend it. The rooms are spotless and the superior rooms have all the little touches you would expect from a more highly rated hotel. Can't understand why it only has a 3-star rating - should be higher. The bar area and restaurant are really lovely with great foods - excellent breakfast choice too. Will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at Poppies because Callander is an excellent location for access to the Trossachs National Park, among other places in the heart of Scotland. We felt a bit put off by the staff on arrival, who could try to "fit us in" for dinner after 8:00 even though we had not asked to dine and who seemed a bit indifferent to us. Our room was ok, but the bathroom - smallest in memory - had a shower that did not work correctly. The breakfast was fine, and, although we did not have occasion to use the bar, the ambiance and whiskey selection were inviting. We might stay there again given the opportunity, but would probably request an upgraded room. The staff upon our departure were very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on TA.
This proved to be a great small hotel.
We had an excellent upgraded room with some classy touches the likes of which we weren’t expecting.
The restaurant and its food were first class as were the staff that worked there.
The bar had a selection of whiskey to die for!
We had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

stayed for 2 nights found the room very good, brilliant shower,.good selection for
breakfast.had dinner on one night which was very good.Amazing selection of malt whiskies.
An excellent base to visit the Trossachs and nearby Stirling Castle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in April for one night birthday treat. Beautiful big house with garden at fromt which you can sit out in.Hotel location perfect,clean big room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Nice little resteraunt area and bar.I would say from what i seen from the outside in callander this defo looked the nicest hotel and was a very nice surprise. Defo recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They gave us the room next to the reception and stairs and we were afraid we would have very troubled sleep because of people coming and going, but it was very quiet all night. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, very good scrambled eggs and bacon and even our favorite cereals (which you normally don't find anywhere). The shower was disappointing: no door but a way too long plastic sheet which blocked the drain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.