We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Poppies Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Can Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on TA.
This proved to be a great small hotel.
We had an excellent upgraded room with some classy touches the likes of which we weren’t expecting.
The restaurant and its food were first class as were the staff that worked there.
The bar had a selection of whiskey to die for!
We had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
108
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

stayed for 2 nights found the room very good, brilliant shower,.good selection for
breakfast.had dinner on one night which was very good.Amazing selection of malt whiskies.
An excellent base to visit the Trossachs and nearby Stirling Castle

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed in April for one night birthday treat. Beautiful big house with garden at fromt which you can sit out in.Hotel location perfect,clean big room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Nice little resteraunt area and bar.I would say from what i seen from the outside in callander this defo looked the nicest hotel and was a very nice surprise. Defo recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They gave us the room next to the reception and stairs and we were afraid we would have very troubled sleep because of people coming and going, but it was very quiet all night. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, very good scrambled eggs and bacon and even our favorite cereals (which you normally don't find anywhere). The shower was disappointing: no door but a way too long plastic sheet which blocked the drain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Poppies hotel for 2 nights. Room was spacious (No.2) with its own sitting area. Clean tidy and very comfortable bed. Hotel has lovely dining area and breakfast was great with good selection.
Great location for visiting the surrounding areas and the Trossachs. Callander is a town I have visited many times and its has charm and character.
Hotel is ideal for passing through or for weekend break and the managers and staff were attentive and polilte.

Room Tip: We stayed on top floor (No.2) and room was very spacious with sitting area and two settees. Decent d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Superior room is spacious with good seating area, pleasant view, excellent bathroom and more accessible electric sockets than even a 'techie' would desire.

Quality and quantity of food served was perfect for us.

Any questions/requests are dealt with speedily and efficiently by staff. Just ask.

Disabilities are catered for with respect rather than making one feel a nuisance by asking for help.

Very much a case of 'when will we stay here again' rather than 'would we...'.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just got back from a 6 night break staying at Poppies Hotel Callander -This hotel is very well run we were more than happy with our room and the bathroom appeared to be brand new. It is very clean and the breakfasts are really good with plenty of choice. We had dinner here two evenings and the food is very good and good value for money. Everyone works very hard and the service you receive in the dining room is excellent. John and Sue are very welcoming and although we are not whiskey drinkers we have it on good authority there is a very good selection here indeed! This is an ideal place to stay for a visit to the Trossachs with Stirling,Edinburgh and Loch Katrine on your doorstep.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poppies Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Poppies Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Poppies Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Hotel And Restaurant
Poppies Hotel Callander
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppies Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.