We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend it you must go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brig o' Turk Tearoom

Brig o' Turk Tearoom
Glen Finglas Road | Brig o' Turk, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HT, Scotland
+44 1877 376283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend it you must go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

As previous reports have said do not be fooled but the exterior, inside you will find it warm and welcoming. The food was excellent so good we have booked another night there. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much, would recommend you make a reservation first but put it on your list for places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    38
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

So good, we went twice...first for lunch (pulled pork on brioche, yummy!) and then dinner a day later (we both had the goulash, also yummy).

The place from the outside looks like a scout hut but it is very homely within; even the table-cloth appears hand-sewn. But is the food and service that stand out. We hope to do the breakfast before we go home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in an unusual setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Had dinner on 31st May and enjoyed it so much we went back on 1st June. Although from the outside it looks like an old shack this hides it true character. The food is excellent and the gentleman who served us was friendly, interesting to talk to, and efficient. We would certainly recommend going there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT - DON'T BE PUT OF BY EXTERIOR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Yes, it may look like a wooden village hall but this is really Dr. Who's Tardis! A lovely warm welcome...nice girls giving attentive service...friendly Hungarian owner who goes the extra mile. I mean we asked for a strong mid-morning coffee and were given a) a double shot expresso plus b) a wonderful scone fresh from the oven with home-made jam - nicely laid out on a wooden platter! A friendly part of the world - a warm welcome - a lovely menu and all at reasonable prices. Games, books and toys also dotted around to pass away the time... Yes, this is an absolute must when you're in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Dropped in for lunch with 4 adults plus a 4-year old and a 16-month old toddler! Service was excellent, timely and with good humour! 3 of us tried the fish chowder and 1 the beef burger; we were all very impressed. The 4-year old and toddler cleared their plates!
I would certainly recommend both family groups and couples to try this restaurant :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brig o' Turk Tearoom also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Brig o' Turk Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brig o' Turk Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.