We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreadnought Hotel to your Saves list
Dreadnought Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Lytham St Annes
1 review
“Love the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel with Easybreak so I'm basing this on value for money for our deal. The staff were very pleasant and eager to please. The food was good and hot and the tables were set with spotless, crisply laundered cloths. The bar and coffee bar were very comfortable. Our room was in need of TLC and the bed was inconveniently placed but the panoramic view from the bay window was lovely. The towels were new, white and not skimped at all. The hotel has obviously been a magnificent building in the past, as the stained glass windows and wood paneling show, but it has definitely faded and I wonder whether the intention is to bring it up to scratch or not. It definitely has potential but needs re-furbishment.

Room Tip: I only have experience of a room with a bay window but that helped to make up for some shortfalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    89
    79
    75
    99
See reviews for
44
178
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just got back from a three night break with Easy Breaks in Callander. This is an old hotel with need of some refurbishment. The room was clean and sufficiently large for our stay but the double bed had one side against the wall which made getting in and out a little more difficult than usual. That said the staff were welcoming and looked out for the needs of guests and worked hard. The dining room was large and airy. The staff ensured that the cloths were clean at the end of each meal as they relaid the tables for the next meal. The food was good with four choices each evening and served on hot plates which is always welcome. This is classed as a 2* hotel and as such we obtained good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I took my mother to Callander for her 80th Birthday - the rooms were okay but desperately need a bit of TLC. The food was terrible. Meal on first night was hardly edible - we didn't bother on the second night and went over the road to the Chinese Restaurant - fabulous. The breakfasts were very poor with not a lot of choice - the chef needs a lesson on how to cook eggs - raw on the inside - not very pleasant - just had toast on second morning!!! Would not recommend this at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are just back from our first & last visit to this hotel. On the first night we had to dine in a room upstairs as there was a function in restaurant. Room was very dated with cobwebs on ceiling. Hubby ordered pate which should have been served with toast. They forgot the toast & he eventually got it at least 10 minutes later ( I think they had to nip next door to Tesco to buy the bread !) We both had the chicken with black pudding which was hard, dry & frankly awful. Dessert for me was cranachan which actually resembled pink angel delight with grit ! Hubby had very undercooked apple crumble. Breakfast on both mornings was acceptable but the toast was undercooked & had fingermarks embedded in it ! We left the hotel at 9 30am on the Saturday morning & returned at 5pm to find a bin liner attached to the outside of our bedroom door containing a couple of coffee sachets milk & a toilet roll !!! We entered our room to find the bed hadnt been made,toilet not cleaned & bin not emptied. Dinner on second night was an improvement on first night & the Michael Buble tribute act was good. On the plus side tha bar area was lovely with friendly staff & very reasonable drink prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we arrived at the Dreadnought, there was no one to be seen at reception. When some one did finally show up, they were friendly enough. They gave us directions to our room and I was a little worried about what we were going to find because of the bad reviews on here. I should have been. The walls and doors in the room were filthy, wallpaper was peeling off the walls and it was freezing cold. I can't complain about the cleanliness of the bed sheets or toilet because they were spotless.The furniture was clearly decades old and really did need replacing. Everywhere you looked on the second floor corridors, of the hotel was pretty horrible. Heaters hanging off the walls, more peeling wallpaper and dirty. I asked at reception if I could move rooms and they were more than happy to do that. The second room was less grubby but pretty grim as well! I feel a bit cheated as clearly, some rooms have been renovated and some hadn't. The bar area and open fire was beautiful (and barman was great) so it was hard to believe you were in the same hotel when you got back upstairs. Breakfast was average as were waiting staff.I stay in cheap hotels all over the place and am definitely not a fussy customer. This is the worst one I have ever stayed at. I couldn't rank it terrible because of it's good points but I would never come back.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We found the staff very pleasant, efficient and hard working. Our room was fitted with new furniture (had to break door seal of wardrobe to use it).

Food very well prepared and good choice on menu.

Staff did everything perfectly to please our group and we had a lovely time making new friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

thankyou very much for an enjoyable weekend . food good room immaculate , and a special mention for di , nothing was a problem , went out of her way to help us , great asset to your team. haste ye back !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreadnought Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.