We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dreadnought Hotel to your Saves list
Dreadnought Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a wonderful old hotel that has so much character!! Unfortunately as is the case with so many older hotels, the money hasnt been spent over the years to maintain its grandeur, and therefore it is now in need of a serious overhall!!
For all the faults with the general need of decoration this hotel was generally clean, yes it could have been cleaner, but generally the room and bathroom were clean, so I wasnt bothered.
Like the title of my review says, you get what you pay for. Do not go there with Champagne taste and shandy budget!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    93
    87
    81
    114
See reviews for
51
199
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed for one night and to be honest I am glad as I don't think I could have stayed for any longer. We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was ok then but I would not rush back now. We got 5 free drinks each so that was ok but I thought there would be some entertainment on as it was saturday night but no. The food was a bit below average to say the least and when I said to the waitress at breakfast I would just have fried egg and bacon I thought I might have got more than one egg and one rasher of bacon but no. All in all, OK I suppose for one night but we wont be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Taking a one night break whilst touring Scotland the Hotel looked good in pictures and the Clansmen historical slant.
Big mistake, should have taken more notice of star rating and less of the special offer reduction from £110 to £60 DBB.
Don't be fooled, its seriously tired in structure and staff, other than those of E. European origin who still retain a natural ability to provide acceptable service despite the gloom surrounding.

Doubt any self respecting Clansman has stayed there for decades, had he done so, he would probably have taken a claymore to the surly, ultra disinterested reception bloke.

Carpeting threadbare, tacky hardboard patch up panelling and partitioning almost throughout.
One antiquated lift that could scare the less than brave witless.
Corridors that went on for ever, up and down flights of stairs.Not good news for anyone even slightly disabled.
Bedroom with plain un hung walls resembling a garden shed, a mattress that should have been dumped a century ago and not even a shower hose within the bathroom.
All in all, giving great foreboding over what may jump off and on, to be carried home as a memento
Given the price the food was acceptable, with E.European serving staff efficient and attentive.

Now we know what a doss house is.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked the hotel for one night and stayed on the 25th of sept, I read the reviews before going and was unsure of the place. On arrival the reception is fine but when we went to our room we seen just how basic it was. The chairs in the room were ripped and you could see the foam on seats, we also had no shower in the room and the bath was small. The room was clean apart from a coffee stain on the carpet. The big downfall was the bed for us, the bedding was clean but the mattress was awful we slept at the sides of bed and meet in the middle, so had a poor sleep. The food was lovely and couldnt fault and staff were lovely.

I dont think I would go back but for £50 DBB for 2 i think you cant complain as you are paying for what you get a 1* hotel. We did have a room on the front which was big and had a amazing view of the river and hills

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishaw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We booked the Dreadnought Hotel up on the internet on the Sunday morning and drove up a couple of hours later. At £50 for dinner bed and breakfast it seemed a bargain and i suppose it was.
Having been in the hotel a few years ago we kind of new what to expect but we thought maybe the hotel has been renovated,but no I don't think it has had much done to it for a long time.
We parked in the dodgy car park which is hidden away behind the hotel and only holds 10 or so cars at a push. Access is by a very narrow pot holed road ( more like a path so beware entering ) . The hotel looks shabby from the rear and needs a lot of TLC.
Our room was clean and spacious although it obviously hadn't been decorated for many years. The shower wouldn't hang up but there were decent toiletries.
Dinner and breakfast were ok and that is why I would give it pass marks but only just as it really needs a lot of money spent on it .

Room Tip: higher floors will get you away from the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed for one night at the end of a coach tour. After the reviews here I was expecting the place to be a joke. I'm pleased to say that it wasn't.

Admittedly, the general décor inside looked a bit tired. Otherwise the only real disappointment was that our bathroom did not have a shower. But the room was clean, comfortable and plenty big enough. We liked the location - convenient for walking round the town. The service from staff was good.

I understand that it's a one-star hotel, and I'm sure it has the potential to be better. It's not high luxury, but it was entirely adequate for our purposes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The room was awful, there was wallpaper hanging off the wall in several places. The "en-suite" was more like a cupboard, with the sink being in the bedroom! The mattress was very lumpy, the noise was terrible, this was from the smokers being outside our window, the smell permeated the room. The carpet was dirty looking, I daren't walk in my bare feet. You had to run the hot tap for ages in the morning before the water heated up! We had dinner on the first night, it was very poor, we think it may have been frozen foods. The service was very good and the staff were lovely. The breakfast was nice. We cetainly won't be returning to this hotel. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callander
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
7.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreadnought Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.