We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable evening...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
+44 1877 330040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Callander
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a lovely meal and enjoyable evening at The Crown. The place had a nice ambience with friendly staff. The meal was freshly cooked and at a reasonable price. We will return if we stay in Callander again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    42
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I had the steak pie and it was one of the finest I have ever eaten plentiful and tasty beer was good cask ales and the service was very friendly

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Visited The Crown Hotel today with my husband and 10 month old baby.

Plenty of room around the tables for the buggy, asked for a high chair which was supplied. Unfortunately the high chairs are fabric as opposed to hard plastic and they where quite dirty as these ones are difficult to clean I find.

Ordered food at the bar, we both ordered macaroni cheese.

We had to wait 25 minutes for our food to arrive, we where not to bothered but we heard other diners asking how much longer they would have to wait.

Staff pleasant when they brought out the food.

Macaroni cheese was lovely.

We would return for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownowner, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear nic2609,

Firstly, I am pleased that you enjoyed your food and that you showed a huge degree of patience waiting on your food. I can only apologise for the condition of the high chair, they do need replacing and I have ordered two new wooden ones this morning. I can only apologise for the delay in getting your food out, we seem to be victims of our own success and Sunday was a exceedingly busy day. We should however make patrons aware of possible delays and let them decide whether they wish to wait or not.
Please come in again and let us prove that we do listen to constructive criticism.

Best regards

Bill Mcnaught
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you're visiting Callander be sure to go to the Crown Hotel for food and drink. Quality of the food is excellent and selection of drinks is great including 2 real ales.
The owner is very attentive and looks after his guests well.
A fine place for great food,drink and vocal entertainment.
You'll not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

With a warm welcome from the owners and a good choice of beers and food. Live entertainment with Mac A Din on The Sunday evening was fab.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.