We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown Hotel - Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
13 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 35 Restaurants in Callander
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“The Crown Hotel - Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The food and the service were very good! I would defiantly recommend coming here, as it is very welcoming and the staff were lovely!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We chose the crown hotel for lunch as it looked lovely from the outside and the menu seemed nice. however we really wish we had chosen somewhere else! the first bad point was the diet coke, which tasted vile! If u want a diet coke ask for a can not draft. Then lunch was served - before even tasting we were not impressed. The nachos were terrible, cheap cheese, burnt round edge and 2 tiny pots of sauce. kids meal of chicken strips and chips was equally poor. the chicken was bland and the batter was too thick, my daughter wouldn't eat it or the chips. finally my partner had the bbq chicken which looked cheap and processed. all round a bad experience!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We are disappointed to hear that you and your family did not enjoy your food.

As of today we have removed the Nacho's from the menu, however I can assure you the Cheese we use is not cheap, it like as much of our produce as possible is made in Scotland and supplied by our local dairy. All of our meat products and chicken is supplied by our local award winning butcher, and I am advised that we are supplied with scottish boneless fillets, not processed in any way and certainly not cheap. We pride ourselves in serving good quality locally sourced home cooked food and would greatly appreciate it on your next visit to Callander you come in and introduce yourself and we will be happy to replace your meal with something more acceptable.

Best Regards

Ishbel Dowie
Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We visited the crown when we stayed in callender in April.We were greeted with a welcome as soon as we entered the pub.The owner showed us to our table and was very pleasant.The menu was typical pub grub but there was something for everyone.the food was served quickly and hot from happy staff.The entertainment that night was a singer who was okay but VERY loud.The bar narrows out which I think was acting as a funnel for the sound.The owner came around offering everyone pizza.On our leaving the owner saw us out and wished us a goodnight and safe journey.This bar is more modern compared to most of callender.If you are looking for a sociable pub meal then I would recommend this pub.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, Owner at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit, It is a real boost to staff moral when we get a good review, please call in and say hello next time you are in Callander.

Best Regards

Ishbel Dowie
Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I visited with my husband and two young children and had a lovely time. The staff were all very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. Extensive menu of pub grub and very much something for everyone including my picky eight year old!

We had a lovely meal which was home cooked to order and served with lovely salad. Would thoroughly reccomend for a relaxed family occassion.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.