We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe and deli - really nice cream tea with beautiful home made jam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deli Ecosse

Deli Ecosse
Ancaster Square | FK17, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Callander
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: post code fk17 8bl next door to the rob roy centre callander scotland
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little cafe and deli - really nice cream tea with beautiful home made jam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped in Callander on the way home from a trip to West Highlands. Decided to go for a walk and check out nice places to have tea and scones. Some nice looking places but settled on this one - we were not disappointed. Cream tea was well presented. Home made jam delicious.
Bought some jam (not the one we had with the scones) and some eggs to take home - both very nice.

Friendly staff and good service.
Well stocked deli shelves and noticed a nice selection of cheeses in the refrigerated counter.
Seemed to be popular with young families - we didn't have kids with us on this occasion but we would be happy to drop by again with them (or without).
Also noticed one elderly gentleman in the deli in the place and I formed the impression that it is probably popular with locals.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great cheese scone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Popped in for excellent cappuccino and a very fresh and yummy cheese scone on Saturday. Callander v busy and were able to sit outside in sunshine. Lovely atmosphere. Helpful smiling staff and a huge and interesting range of deli products to buy. Really liked this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to just relax! Amazing cappuccino.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

While in Callander yesterday I was looking for somewhere to sit and grab something to eat and a coffee and read the paper. Stumbled upon this wee gem by accident but so glad I did! Firstly it's a beautiful interior and I loved that it stocks a huge variety of deli produce. Staff are really friendly & it was busy when I was in which is always a good sign! I had a morning roll with sausage/black pudding which was cooked fresh - fillings were hot & very well prepared not like some greasy rolls I've had in other places! Their cappuccino is amaziNg! So much so I had two! Very relaxed atmosphere and I especially liked that they had radio 2 playing softly in the background. Will definitely be back. Cheers for a relaxing morning escape! 5 stars well deserved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lucky Vegan in Callander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

During my week in Callander I found Deli Ecosse to be an opportunity for small vegan snacks and smoothies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best coffee in Callander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Callander, and it's great having so many wonderful eateries and coffee shops within walking distance. The coffee here is the best by far, and I really like their homemade soups and sandwiches. You cannot beat a lazy afternoon with a coffee, cake and a seat by the wood burning stove (on a cold winters day).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Ecosse also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Deli Ecosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deli Ecosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.