We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place with passionate owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scottish Real Ale Shop

Scottish Real Ale Shop
The Lade Inn | Kilmahog, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HD, Scotland
01877330152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Attractions in Callander
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique place in Callander situated in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park selling over 130 different Scottish Beers by over 30 micro breweries from the Shetlands to the Borders. The largest selection of Scottish Real Ales under one roof.Our passion for Real Ale has long been established at the Lade Inn with our own exclusive house ales, but we wanted to take it one step further and become the central hub for all Scottish Bottled Ales. To make this dream a reality, we converted our old Microbrewery and the Scottish Real Ale Shop opened its doors for the first time in December 2006. We are a one stop shop for Scottish beer, Real Ale Festivals and brewing information; a place where you can purchase that elusive bottle from the Hebrides or that delicious blonde from Islay. We hold a Beer Festival every year and have tastings throughout the summer weekends so you can try before you buy!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent place with passionate owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A real delight to find this place with so many Sottish beers that it was tough to make a choice.

The owners really had a passion for what they were doing - sourcing the numerous ales must be a difficult job and the coverage is brilliant. You only have to be careful you can get them all in the car!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We'd gone for lunch in the Lade Inn next door and had been determined to buy some beer from this shop. It is a fantastic place to stock up on Scotland's finest real ales and the service was tremendously friendly. We intended to buy a few and ended up buying about a dozen bottles, non of which we could take back on our flight back south. We'll just have to trust my parents and hope they don't get drunk.

Well worth going in and equally well worth going to the Lade Inn next door to try out their real ale too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and amazing ales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great service and selection of ales all of which were delivered promptly and were very much appreciated by the receiver. Quality throughout.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
2 reviews
“Real Ale Drinker's Aladins Cave !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The shop is handily placed next to the Pub where you can sample the LADE INN own brew.
I didn't know this shop existed until we arrived at the pub for lunch but what a delight ! Even my wife was impressed by the huge selection of ales and she hardly drinks.
Hadn't tried any of these ales before but bought a mixed case - so impressed I'm now a member and ordering cases for home delivery in North Wales. The Heather Ale is especially good.
These make a perfect blokey xmas pressie.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“outstanding selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

As someone who likes to try beers from as many brewers as possible the shop justified our decision to take a short break in the Trossachs to incorporate our visit .
All but one of the five rare beers I hoped to buy were available

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scottish Real Ale Shop also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Scottish Real Ale Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottish Real Ale Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.