We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Camp Hotel to your Saves list
Roman Camp Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Stunning Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is one of the most charming hotels we have ever stayed in. Beautifully furnished, lovely gardens and pathways. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only wish we were staying more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    39
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
107
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just back from celebrating our son and beautiful daughter in law's wedding and I can't praise Roman Camp and their staff enough. From start to finish everything was perfect, from the rooms, the staff, the meal and the general relaxed feeling in the place. They say that they want you to feel at home and we did. The log fires were a bonus as it was a bit chilly outside where some of the photos were being taken in the beautiful grounds and guests wanted a quick heat when they came back inside. I would definitely recommend this as a perfect wedding venue.

Room Tip: All rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We treated ourselves to an Easter meal at the Roman Camp on Easter Sunday - something we have been promising ourselves we would do for a few years. The setting was beautiful and the quality of the food lived up to its fine reputation. The whole experience was however completely spoiled by a gentleman, I assumed to be the manager or owner, loudly berating his attentive and pleasant staff full glare of the busy dining room.

The whole thing was unpleasant to witness and was quite reminiscent of an episode of Fawlty Towers. I felt for the young server being bawled at, and whatever he may or may not have done, the effect of this public outburst was much more upsetting on me. It ruined the experience for me to be honest, and I wouldn't be in a rush to return to a place where this treatment of staff is deemed acceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormit
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want to get away from queues of traffic, roaring lorries, hustle and bustle, this is the place. Go back 400 years to tranquillity, extensive grounds plenty seats, and only the river making a noise. The room very comfortable, always warm and cosy, the en suite faultless. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the food, breakfast, diner and the cream tea, wonderful! We shall return.

Room Tip: As far as we could see they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have enjoyed dinner and afternoon tea in the Roman Camp on previous visits but had never stayed over until this weekend. We stayed in the "South" superior room and were not disappointed in any way. The room was large, well furnished and suitably traditional so to meet the historic values of the hotel. Oh and the Jacuzzi was fab as was the small decanter of whisky left out with the compliments of the hotel.

Staff were friendly and helpful as always and the quality of the food was first class.

Although not the cheapest place you will stay in it is worth spending that wee bit extra to enjoy the luxury and relaxation this hotel offers. Nothing to add other than a lovely hotel where you feel spoilt from the moment you arrive and sit in front of one of their many open coal fires.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Celebrated my mum's 90th with afternoon tea and lots of champagne, in the library, in front of a log fire. Callum was a perfect host - so congenial and all our needs were so well catered for - making it a family day to remember. I stayed in the Bear's Den room which has a huge bed, gr8 jacuzzi bath, fresh fruit and the list goes on........ There is a beautiful view of the garden with a door opening out on to it. Breakfast was served by Fiona and was fantastic - a large choice of food which was cooked to perfection by one of the chefs. I highly recommend this hotel - as a country retreat - it has such a peaceful and friendly
atmosphere, an attentive staff and it's situation by the river is idyllic. My family and I will definitely be returning.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed there for valentines weekend . We splashed out and stayed in "Barrie" suite. From start to finish it was wonderful. We didn't have dinner in hotel as we had other plans but the breakfast were lovely and fresh.
Can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Address: off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Camp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Camp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.