We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Camp Hotel to your Saves list
Roman Camp Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had booked for Afternoon Tea for 3pm which was very good when it eventually arrived 45 minutes later, very disappointed by the 3 members of staff that we saw, not very friendly or welcoming, Waiter that served us never spoke only to ask if we wanted water with our tea, in fact after food was brought had to wait another 5/10 minutes for tea!!! Would suggest that they visit Waverley & Crown Hotel to see how their staff treat customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    39
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
107
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I should preface this review by saying that I delight in visiting to Roman Camp, as does all my extended family, and it truly is a place for a treat, by far the best in the surrounding area.

There were, however, just a few little things that needed tightening from my last visit. 3 stars reflects the leveraging against the price of the set course, but not the overall ambiance and class of the place.

My first qualm was with staff. They were a group of young looking females, led by a strutting man that was somewhere between a sommelier and a head waiter. Whilst youth is a charming thing in service, I felt these young ladies were poorly trained. Selecting two of them; one referred to our party as 'youse' repeatedly, and was close to being abrupt in her manner, just not quite as polished as I would hope. A second one, was delightful, but had a slight language problem, and could not understand much of our drinks order. I would recommend a little better training, and some experience. All round; a little slack.

We were repeatedly left waiting for drinks (I requested a glass of water three times before it finally came... with the coffee), Guinness was ordered and not received, and we were asked (not so sweetly) to order our deserts at the start of the meal, which I feel is a bit unnecessary. The head waiter also seemed a bit unobliging to carry out more menial tasks.

The food was of a good standard; the starter of terrine was rich and flavorsome, though somehow a bit dry. The Sunday roast beef was also very good, but the Yorkshire puddings were very cold. The deserts lacked flavor finesse, though looked very striking.

Roman camps still oozes appeal, with it's old heritage, quaint seating areas, well finished touches and reputation for quality; we'll definitely be returning. . . It would be a shame to let it down with complacent food and inexperienced staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great old country house with excellent location by river. Rooms very old world, clean and comfy. Breakfast great although service average, think though maybe just our waitress.
Visited the crown pub for a great nite of scotish folk music also tobe recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting for a wedding, lovely gardens and right beside the river. Food was incredible - some of the nicest we have ever been served at a wedding! Staff were attentive however they all seemed to be French and sometimes struggled to understand the Glasgow accents! Drinks were VERY expensive, over £4 for a pint of Tennents. Guests that were staying at the hotel all said the rooms were clean & comfy

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place, loved everything about this hotel, the location was peaceful and beautiful. Fabulous grounds, with a river running along the bottom of the garden. Very romantic secluded location. The rooms were very nice the beds were huge and my personal favourite a spa bath which i loved. The fire place room was cosy and snug nice to cuddle up and have a glass of wine. Breakfast wasnt the best but they awards for their evening meals, but we cant comment because we ate out, but overal it was brillant, this hotel has set a high a standard for future places we stay at. Expensive but definatly worth it

Room Tip: We stayed in the sun dial room which looked on to a small garden and had a 7ft bed and a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in this hotel in the Starr Suite. The hotel is idyllic and really setup well. First thing to note is the food, which is fantastic! The chef here is world class and can make any food into something excellent. House is setup like something out of Agatha Christie: a sitting room, library, bar and conservatory, many with cheery fires in the fireplaces. The rooms are comfortable and ours had a sitting room as well. Grounds are incredible with manicured gardens, a mazelike garden area, a beautiful sitting area on the edge of a river and the beginning of some hiking trails. Callander is criss-crossed with many hiking trails leading to other towns, into the mountains, along rivers - it's incredible. The hotel itself is right in town but when you turn into the driveway its actually two blocks behind the Main Street and has a quiet beauty and charm. Hotel is very close to many of the natural beauty of the Trossachs and Lock Lomond national park. This part has apparently inspired many artists and writers for many years.

We loved it and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our daughter's wedding reception at the Roman Camp was simply magical, completely perfect. From booking to checkout the hotel could not possibly have been more helpful. Organised, efficient, caring, obliging, there are simply not enough complimentary words in my vocabulary to adequately describe my satisfaction with this wonderful event.

On arrival at the hotel, we were welcomed with drinks and canape, each of which flowed throughout the usual photographic coming and going. Ushered in to dinner, the dining room was a delight to see. Our meal was quite simply a triumph, with each course exceeding expectation. An efficient turnaround transformed dining room into a fantastic ceilidh venue, where we dance into the wee small hours.

After a brief nap in a palacial bedroom, breakfast was once again a perfect example of service and culinary perfection. Finally, the checkout process was slick and painless.

Huge thanks to Marion, Eric, Shona and every single member of your excellent staff for providing our families with a wonderful celebration which we'll remember forever.

Room Tip: All are perfect, you cannot miss, select with complete confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Address: off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Camp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Camp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.