We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely three days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Camp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Roman Camp Hotel to your Saves list
Roman Camp Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely three days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed at Roman Camps for three nights and enjoyed every minute. Tired of corporate chains we decided to go for something different, and had heard good reviews.

Everything was different, the bedrooms are all individual and perhaps slightly oldfashioned, but have character, and importantly, the plumbing and heating are up to date.There was complimentary fruit and sherry in our room.

All public rooms are delightful, with soft sofas, inviting fires and a lovely conservatory, completely in character with the house.

The chef is top notch & the food was amazing, I would be prepared to stay again just for the food! Not to mention the friendly and helpful staff

An added bonus were the beautiful grounds where you can stroll among rhodedendrons & through bluebell woods down to the clear river Teith .It is very peaceful.

Alltogether, a lovely experience and one we hope to repeat.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    39
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
107
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

I know this is a little belated - 1yr 4months- but I just wanted to say what a wonderful wedding we had at Roman Camp on 5 September 2006.
We had a very small wedding - the two of us and two witnesses - and we were looking for something very intimate.
We knew when we first visited that this was the venue for us. It had old world charm and a cosy atmosphere.
The staff were so helpful and friendly and we were looked after both leading up to the wedding and on the day.
The rooms may not be to everyone's taste if you're looking for something modern, but we picked the room we wanted and couldn't fault it. (The sherry is too tempting but helped calm my nerves).
We were married in the library in front of the open fire. The meal was superb and we had exclusive use of the library in the evening where we could relax with a drink and listen to music by the roaring fire.
The only down side was the weather - it rained all day so we couldn't make use of the lovely gardens - but the rooms inside make such a lovely setting.
Attached are a few photos of the day.

  • Liked — Old world charm
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed here in suite as part of a gift kindly given to us by friends. It was much anticipated as we had heard good things about it. At £285 per room for DBB we expected it to be very good.

The building and public rooms are full of old world charm and there was roaring fires almost around every corner. The staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly. We were staying in a suite with a seperate sitting room. We would choose character over pristine minimalism every time, but there were bits about the room that was just plain tired/ tacky. The newly fitted bathroom had sealant missing all along the bath, the 'fancy' tap barely reached the wash hand basin and the shower head was faulty/ loose.

We asked that we could have dinner at 8 o'clock and went down early at 7.30 to have pre- dinner drinks/ canapes and to soak up the atmosphere of the lovely Drawing Room. With G and T in hand I perused the wine list, only to be interupted at 7.43 by a waitress coming and lifting our drinks and telling us that dinner was ready. I swallowed the last of my canape and stated that we would like to finish our drinks. The limited English that the waitress had mumbled something about 'no worry I carry through'. Which missed the point completely.

The Dining Room perhaps lacks a bit atmosphere but was still very relaxing, and the service was very attentive. The food was good if a little fussy for my taste, as I believe we sampled most forms of fish/ meat and vegatation during the 6 courses. We felt that we were being rushed over dinner and twice insisted a 10 minute break between courses. Breakfast was just average not enhanced by paper napkins.

The setting and ambience of this place are terrific, and I would say opverall the service was good. Including wine, one evening cost approx. £340, therefore the attention to detail and standards in certain areas need to be increased greatly. At present levels it does not equate to good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We spent 2 nights here last December and had a tremendous time-we thought it was one of the nicest hotels we had stayed in. We had an upgraded room as we had a midweek offer and found room, comfort and food very good. Therefore when we returned this month we were hugely disappointed. Our bed was lumpy, squeaky and soft and a quick look at the mattress confirmed that it was ancient and sagging. When we mentioned this fact on departure , we were dismissed with"some of our guests choose that room in preference to any other" . An apology or an acknowledgement of our slepless night would have helped. Then we might have forgiven the forgotten wine order(brought eventually and very cold) and the comedy of errors at breakfast. Sadly we won't be returning for our anniversary as we had intended.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Very nice hotel for a function with great food and a lovely series of function rooms offered.

However the bar is woefully stocked, the staff have little or no training and the management appear not to care.

There is a distinct lack of professionalism with the organisation, fortunately the kitchen staff and building keep the business propped up.

Don't expect to be rocked by any great personal service, but sit back enjoy the views

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Everything in this guest house was perfect; the service was excellent, the dinners were fantastic, was not food but art and perfectly served (though expensive, cost 44 pound per person).
We got an upgrade and stayed in the suite "Barry". It was lovely.
Two spacious rooms and a huge bathroom. The bed would be big enough for three. The bathroom facilities were new. Every day there was a plate of fresh fruit iand whisky in the room. The lounge and the garden are very nice too. It was always perfectly quiet though right in the center of Callander.
I will definitely come back for a perfect retreat like that!

  • Liked — Perfect service
  • Disliked — wanted to stay longer
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

Had a fabulous stay at the Roman Camp, we had a beautiful room, which was clean, modern bathroom facilities, and still managed to have lots of Character.

The food was amazing, service was very attentive and relaxed at the same time.

We felt like we were in a different world, was great to get away even if just for one night, all in all a fantastic night, great memories and well worth the money.

will go back in a flash!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roman Camp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Camp Hotel

Address: off Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Camp Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roman Camp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Camp Callander
Hotel Roman Camp
Roman Camp Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Camp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.