We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lade Inn

The Lade Inn
Route A821 off A84, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HD, Scotland
+44 1877 330152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Callander
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Family owned pub/restaurant offering local fresh produce in the beautiful surroundings of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park. Disabled accessible and family/dog friendly.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We have returned to the Lade Inn many times now and have never been dissapointed once! The food is always brilliant, is served quickly and always in generous portions offering great value for money. The staff are very attentive and always make sure your meal is just right for you. I've also notice over time the menu changes offering slightly different selections from time to time whilst retaining old favourites which I like! They are dog friendly in the bar area which is nice also. Will be back many more times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We work very hard to provide a good experience at The Lade and I am happy that you appreciate this and keep coming back. We do indeed change our menu twice a year and the favourite's must stay on otherwise our Customer's would complain as we are known for certain dishes. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    109
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lade inn evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The menu offered potatoes and not chips! what a wonderful change! My husband had the beef and ale pie and was not disappointed with its melt in the mouth beef. My chicken dish was crispy and tasty. The raspberry pudding a local speciality is very sweet and very large for one portion be warned! Relaxed atmosphere and a beer garden to sit in, weather permitting, the only down side was the old fashion scottish music in the background.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankiechelsea, Owner at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your excellent review, however can I correct your comment on the "old fashioned" Scottish Music. We are a traditional Scottish Pub, we are proud of our countries music and the music we play is recordings of our live bands, who play in the Lade Inn every weekend. So far from being dated, you can come along and experience the musicians playing live every weekend and I can sure you they are very lively and entertaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eat, drink and be very full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, it's a quaint little white cottage type of building in a lovely little setting just down the road from a tourist-trap woolen mill, but don't let that put you off.

This place serves great food and heaps of it and it can all be washed down with locally brewed beer.

My fave is the Haggis, Neeps and Tatties. OK, so that does sound a bit touristy, but it is fantastic. My wife had the children's portion of battered chicken goujons and struggled to finish them. The adult serving is absolutely massive, ideal for filling up after a day's hill-walking. They taste great too, made from fresh chicken breast.

Anyway, if you are on the A84 and near Callander then stop here and eat, drink and be very full.

And pay a visit to the Real Ale Shop and stock up on some great tasting beers and ciders.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of The Lade Inn. I am delighted to hear that you had a great visit to our restaurant and real ale shop. We are a family run restaurant and we try very hard to provide good hearty home cooked food served by friendly staff in a welcoming environment. We do like to provide the choice of normal and half size portions as we are aware that not everyone can manage a full portion such as children and over 60's. I hope that you will come back to dine with us on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun, welcoming atmosphere in Callander”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I were recommended to visit this pub just outside of Callander. We did so and enjoyed a nice meal by a courteous staff. (My wife and I both had the steak and ale pie, and it was rather delicious.)

The second part of the evening was the Ceilidh featuring Baran, a two-man ensemble. They had the room (which was packed) singing along, playing percussion instruments, and all were entertained (except the woman behind the bar - must have been an off-night for the poor thing). There was one gentleman, a Welshman, who told a joke or two and sang some lovely traditional songs as well. Baran know how to work a room and keep things moving. I had planned on staying about 20-30 minutes, and we ended up staying two hours. This night may have been one of the highlights of our trip to Scotland.

So, if you're in the area, a trip to the Lade Inn is highly recommended. If Baran is in the house, all the better, but you're sure to enjoy a nice night of food and drink regardless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, NH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped in here for a nice bowl of soup, and for our friends to stock up on the specialty local beers. You may not stop here unless you knew about it as it is tucked away off A84 in Callander. Service was very pleasant and quite friendly. Soup was good and hot accompanied with fresh rolls.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiger2812, Manager at The Lade Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello there and thank you very much for your recent review of your trip to The Lade Inn and Scottish Ale shop. I am very happy to hear that you and your friend's enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Callander.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lade Inn also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Lade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lade Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.