We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Straid House

Straid House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callander
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Straid House
Save
You added Straid House to your Saves list
Cambusmore, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 35 Callander B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at Straid! Sarah was very friendly and welcoming and there was no awkwardness that sometimes you get at B&Bs where you feel you are intruding on the owner's home. Our bedroom was perfectly charming and my friend and I even sought decorating tips from Sarah. There is a lovely sitting room for guest where you can bring wine to drink in front of an open fire with TV or magazines as you prefer. Breakfast was fabulous and completely delicious. It is a bit out of Callander but with the sittingroom on offer you could still eat in town and if you want a small tipple, drink here later on. If I am ever able to return to Callander I would deffinetely stay here for the warmth of the welcome, the stylish surroundings and the fabulous food.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We have just returned from Straid House where we were greeted like old friends, I can't reccomend it highly enough. The beds are so comfortable it's difficult to get up in the morning, however the breakfast makes it worthwhile.The owners will go out of their way to help you make the most of your visit to Callander. If you are travelling any where in the area don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I did a self driving tour of Scotland this summer -staying at bed and breakfasts throughout the country. The Straid House was a little disappointing in that even though we had a very nice breakfast and our room was clean, the beds were hard as rocks -there was traffic noise from the nearby hwy -and there really wasn't a welcoming feeling when we were there. We had a new bathroom, however there was no way one could safely step out of the shower / bathtub unit onto the bathroom floor without risking serious injury. They really need to place a non-slip surface down on the base of the bathtub, or else spend the money for a hand grip to be installed on the wall. My partner wouldn't even risk taking a shower -it seriously is that dangerous. The television didn't work and the furnishings are looking very tired. Bottom line -bed and breakfasts are in abundance in Scotland ...you can find better value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Straid House for 3 nights after our wedding in June. I had mentioned to Sarah the owner when booking the reason for our trip and we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly on our arrival which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden. The location was fantastic, Sarah gave us the information for a local cab firm but Callender town centre was a pleasant walk away through some woods.
Every day we were asked what we would like for breakfast and everything we sampled was delicious. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless.
In short a fantastic b and b and a lovely and helpful owner.
Thankyou

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

We where in Scotland for my wifes birthday and stayed 2 nights in Callander. Wasn't sure where to stay as some places are too small, some to close to town centres and some Hotels are too expensive!
Straid House was a great location to Callander (1.5 miles approx) and the Trossachs.
Set on it's own ground with plenty of room around with good parking, only the sheep in the surrounding fields looking on! The room was as good as any 5 star hotel i have stayed in but what 'made it' was the warm family atmosphere from Daniel, Sarah and of course John and Logan who shared their toys with our son Angus. They go way beyond what would be the minimum for a B&B, i strongly reccomend you give their place a visit. We look forward to returning and feel we have made new friends with Daniel and Sarah. Thank you. James, Linda and Angus.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Well I can not say enough good things about the Straid House. I got married at the Harbour Cafe down by Loch Venachar last week and stayed here the night before the wedding.

The rooms are perfect, lovely clean, brand new bathrooms, top of the range furniture, beautiful shutters on the windows, every single thing in the B&B is of a very high standard and that includes the owners. Lovely friendly people who can not do enoough to make your stay enjoyable.

Really did not want to leave, the owners work so hard keeping this B&B the best in the area and I will definitely be back

Thanks for everything!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inversnaid
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Spent 2 nights here while on a art workshop. The room was beautifully furnished, with tea/coffee making facilities, TV and ensuite shower room. The double bed was very comfortable. The full cooked breakfast was a bit too much for me on the first morning, but it was well cooked and tasty. On the second morning I had the 'continental' option which was yummy - a selection of meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt and cereal.
The house itself is a bit outside Callander on the road to Doune, very handy for travelling north to Crainlarich, east to Stirling, Perth and Edinburgh. All in all a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Straid House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straid House

Address: Cambusmore, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Callander
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Straid House Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Straid House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.