We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice meal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crags Hotel Restaurant

Crags Hotel Restaurant
101 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
01877 330257
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Callander
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a meal here when we were staying in Callander for a night. We both had the curry and a bottle of wine, we both enjoyed it very much. The service was good, the waitress was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Service/ Meal was TERRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went for our meal on the 3rd June and was left waiting about 35 minutes for our starter. Then we had a further 20 minutes to wait for our main course to which the macaroni was very dry and the fishcakes were overdone. We also had ordered a side order of chips to which i had to ask for again and they didn't bring them until i had finished my main course. At the end of the meal i was asked if i enjoyed the meal to which i replied no but got no further response. I was very disappointed after being told that this place was very highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Disappointed on my latest visit to the Crags for dinner. Limited choice but quality was ok Not nearly as good on my previous visit

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

A couple of kiwis passing through and by chance noticed Cargs sign. What a delightful find. A really lovely place, quiet room, well appionted, the most comfortable bed ever, great staff, fantastic food and just great to find a place that is welcoming and at a price that is obviously not about profit before people.

Would definitely recommend Crags, for a bed, a meal or just a quiet drink in the bar.

Thank you folks, can't wait to come back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Never judge a book by its cover! The food here is superb. great quality and very tasty. Delicious fried potatoes. Our waitress was helpful and friendly. Well priced meals and all five of us left feeling content and full.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crags Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Crags Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crags Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.