We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnighter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waverley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Waverley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   88 - 94 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great overnighter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Not wanting to spend my time travelling hours, we decided on a 45 min drive to Callanadar, what a delight to find The Waverley and the team, great rooms and really friendly staff, nothing was to much trouble and just had a very relaxed weekend.

Room Tip: We had room 5 and had a fantastic night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
15
40
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We frequented The Waverley Hotel when we stayed in Callendar in July.

The staff were friendly and efficient. Great ales on tap, nice food and free wi-fi :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killcare, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

13 of my family stayed in The Waverley Hotel, Callander in September 2011, while some of us did the hill climb of Ben Ledi which is nearby, the staff were great, the accommodation clean and modern.
The pub food was lovely and catered for all tastes young and old, also with a fantastic selection of beers from the bar, and the location couldn't have been any better, right in the centre of town which has some great shopping for those not going on the hill climb. Our ages ranged from 10 years to 83 years! and everyone was completely happy with every aspect of our stay in The Waverley!

Room Tip: all rooms were spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

we went to the waverley last year for an evening meal and managed to be entertained by the band on that night = most enjoyable evening - we went back this year and to our delight the same happened - great choice of meals - pleasant efficient staff - and once again the band had everyone rocking - enjoyed every minute of it - thanks

Room Tip: did not stay here but the place was full so thats a good sign
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very good for our needs, we only needed a room for an overnight as we were attending a wedding reception in Callander, it was nothing fancy, but comfortable and clean with nice friendly staff and a hearty breakfast to send you on your way.

Room Tip: One thing to be aware of is that the hotel does not have it's own car park so if visiting Callan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

A friendly bunch of staff, was shown to our room which was quiet (at the back), clean and comfortable. Enjoyed 2 meals in the evenings which were tasy and plentiful - these were served in the bar which had a pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was served in a small dining room and was everything we required. (A small complaint) -the black pudding and haggis were swimming in grease which was a shame as everything else was great. we would go back had it been completely accessible in the room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Comfortable clean room - fantastic shower- staff very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 88 - 94 Main Street, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Callander, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.