We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bank Restaurant

The Old Bank Restaurant
5 Main St, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8DU, Scotland
01877 330 651
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Callander
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dundee, Scotland, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice for afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stopped off here for a cuppa and a cake while in Callander for the day. It was warm and welcoming with a real log fire. The service was friendly and we didn't have to wait long. The menu had a good variety from snacks and cakes, to afternoon tea, high tea and meals. Although we didn't eat, the food that was coming from the kitchen looked good. We paid under £8 for 2 hot drinks and 2 cream cakes which I thought was reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had the days special which was roast beef, veg and roast potatoes... Came with 1 roast potato and one boiled. Had better beef . Very friendly & quick service and real coal fire which was nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We chose to eat here last week when we were in Callander as we had a lovely meal there the last time we visited the town. My husband had the daily special which was lasagne and it was not very good. My daughter and I shared the seafood platter which sounded lovely when reading the menu. However, the platter was not as described on the menu - no mackerel, herring or prawn tempura. Instead of those items we had prawn and veg wontons and a sort of vegetable spring roll, and garlic bread. We had expected mainly fresh fish from the description, but we had a lot of what appeared to be a mixed pack of party food. It was very disappointing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Came here for lunch with a friend .. good service , had chilly for lunch it was fantastic , lovely place to dine will return ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cangothere
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Have been here a few times now whenever we are in Callander, find the food is always good, freshly cooked, and the staff friendly. Lovely log fire and it is usually quite busy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bank Restaurant also viewed

Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Old Bank Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bank Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.