We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampsons Farm

Sampsons Farm
Preston, Newton Abbot TQ12 3PP, England
+44 1626 354913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 102 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Really good food and service. Highly recommend for special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    5
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best find ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is our third visit to Sampsons. The farmhouse restaurant is very good. Lovely selection of well cooked meals using good local produce in very tranquil setting. The accommodation is just perfect, lovely warm comfortable rooms with amazing views. We like the chickens and ducks which are very entertaining to watch. Nigel and his staff are just the best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

dont forget when you are at sampsons and want to venture out go to jacks patch garden centre on the teignmouth road sit upstairs for great views good coffee and nice snack food

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Birthday to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

we were a noisy party of 14, the staff joined in with the banter, even the two chefs at the end of the evening. We had pre chosen our meals due to the size of the party, but all the food was as good or better than expected. We left at nearly midnight but were not chased out.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent food, not really child-friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Took the family here for lunch. Friendly and helpful staff. Food was simply wonderful. Wife and I both had the River Teign mussels in cider and cream sauce. We both couldn't stop smiling as we ate the food - it was just the best ever (and we lived in Brussels - the best city for mussels - for 5 years)!

Biggest problem with the place was that it really isn't set up for young kids. There was no baby-changing table or facilities and no child menu available. Real drawback for a farm restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampsons Farm also viewed

 

Been to Sampsons Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampsons Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.